We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Port Moresby

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Waigani Drive and Wards Road, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Special Offer
Up to 30% Off.
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
328 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Was here for a conference and one of the lunches was at the Holiday Inn. Was not terribly fancy but was very tasty. Staff were very pleasant. Room was a bit warm at first but then the air conditioning kicked in. Decent conference lunch.

Helpful?
Thank TristanEF
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this review

Dear TristanEF, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback on your recent stay, it is always appreciated. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your conference meal and that you found our team to be friendly. We hope to see you again when you are next in PNG. Kind regards Scott Schaefer Hotel Manager More 

Cairns Region, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015

On the plus side, the 1-bed suite was in a 2-year old tower - excellent security, rooms and fittings (top quality brands in white goods, cooker, TV, etc). BUT to get to the suite, had to use the lifts - no Kone, Otis or Schindler here, just cheap chinese lifts which lurched while clanking chains like Tower Bridge! I chose... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this review

Dear Andrew R, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent stay. I appreciate your comments about our suites product, the feedback certainly has been excellent since we opened them in 2014. I so also note your other comments and will certainly pass them onto the relevant department head for actioning. Once again thank... More 

Cairns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

The venue is great. Pool good. Bar outside excellent. But when you consider staff are being paid $2 an hour - how a long draft beer can be charged at $10 - its ridiculous. As for stubbies. A carton of SP is around 100 kina. A 200% mark up is applied over the bar. Drink 1 or 2 and continue... More 

Helpful?
Thank jrmcairns
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this review

Dear jrmcairns, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here in Port Moresby. I am glad that you enjoyed our venue, I agree that our pool and pool bar are a great venue to enjoy a beverage or two. Just a note on our beer prices. An SP lager bottle is K10, this is roughly $4.40 AUD.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Port Moresby hotels

Level Contributor
1,003 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

We had a team dinner here last week, with everyone enjoying the ambiance of open air restaurant, near the pool. Nice buffet-- good selection overall. Very helpful servers. Overall, nice option for large groups, especially.

Helpful?
Thank jenabaindelhi
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this review

Dear Jenabaindelhi, Thank you for your kind comments. I will ensure that they are passed onto our team at Kopi Haus restaurant. I hope to see you again at the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Scott Schaefer Hotel Manager More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 18 months and the friendliness and quality of staff service has consistently been outstanding, from the room attendants to the front office to the security. They always remember your name, seem genuinely happy, and make an effort to ensure their guests' needs are satisfied. During my last stay, I lost... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kane011
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this review

Dear Kane011, Thank you for your 5 star review, it is always appreciated. I will ensure that it is shared with our team. I am so glad that you found the team to be engaging and friendly, they will be particularly happy to hear this. It is also great to hear that we located and returned you ring. I hope... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015 via mobile

I think the title pretty much sums up my gripe. I mean its alright, the rooms are clean but very badly in need of renovation, and the hotel itself is like every other Holiday in. But how on earth can you justift $400 per night with $60 internet and no breakfast included!!!

Helpful?
Thank scientist234
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this review

Dear Scientist234, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay with us. A small tip for next time, IHG Rewards Club is our free loyalty program, among other benefits it entitles members to free internet at any one of our hotels around the world. Front desk staff at any of our hotels can help you join. Kind regards,... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2015

Stayed for 3 nights recently and it is an oasis in this frontier town! Everything works well in this comprehensive furnished & equipped apartment / suite ( new wing ) that I was staying. Minor complaint: only 1 mirror in the whole apartment ( in the bathroom ) and the lights were not positioned properly so not good for shaving... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ianfung
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this review

Dear Lanfung, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you consider our hotel an oasis. I will ensure that I look into the few minor issues that you mentioned, we always appreciate feedback so thank you. I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

Was not able to check in as room was not ready, got a good explanation and provisional solution. When plan A did not work they were very quick with apologies, explanation and plan B. I felt very reassured. I consider the real test of a hotel is their response to challenges, they score highly here. I will keep you updated... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kamau W
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this review

Dear Kamau W, Thank you for updating us on your stay, I am glad we were able to overcome some initial issues to your satisfaction. Please let me know if there is anything I can assist with whilst you are here. My email address is scott.schaefer@ihg.com if you would like to contact me. Kind regards Scott Schaefer Hotel Manager More 

Fiji
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

Stayed for an on-site conference. Pro's * very good security * good pool and bar areas * great breakfasts * reliable airport transfers * happy staff Cons: * like most Port Moresby Hotels this is expensive by Asia Pacific standards * uneven service, sometimes very helpful and timely, other times quite slow. You need to be patient. * not central... More 

Helpful?
Thank De_Chook
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this review

Dear De_Chook, Thank you for your review of our hotel we always appreciate feedback from our guests. I am very pleased that you found our staff to be happy and friendly, they will enjoy receiving this feedback. Thank you also for your constructive comments. We work very hard to improve and your comments will be very helpful. I do hope... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

I have stayed at the Port Moresby Holiday Inn on many occasions over the last 8 years when I have travelled to Port Moresby to undertake consultancy and project management work. My most recent stay was for three nights. The hotel has been beautifully renovated and is very convenient to government departments especially the National Department of Health. It is... More 

Helpful?
Thank RogerSabrina
Scott S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Port Moresby, responded to this review

Dear RogerSabrina, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am very pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. They are certainly our most valuable asset and I will enjoy passing on your kind words. I am also happy that you enjoyed your meals at Kopi... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
2.1 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 14 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
3.0 mi away
Grand Papua Hotel
Grand Papua Hotel
#2 of 14 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#4 of 14 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#10 of 14 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#8 of 14 in Port Moresby
3.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#7 of 14 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay