We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Papua Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Mary Street, Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Offers & Announcements
Best Available Rate
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Grand Papua Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Split-Dalmatia County, Croatia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

surprisingly good hotel and food. good location, nice view. area is best in the city, however the security is questionable. they provide free shuttle service to the airport. only up to 11:15hrs. Rooms are not that expensive decorated. toilet is just enough.it is nice to have small kitchen in rooms.

Helpful?
Thank Pero G
Kristine L, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review

To Pero G Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and for highlighting we have a complimentary Airport transfer service for our guests. We meet all international and domestic flights making it easy and secure for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great harbour and beach views, super friendly and courteous staff and decent meal options. Bar/restaurant specialty drinks not the greatest, and staff could do with a refresher on which rooms come with meal options, however overall a pleasant stay

Helpful?
Thank r0sem22
Kristine L, Executive Assistant Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review

To rOsem22 Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and polite, and will certainly revisit our training programmes regarding room packages and meal inclusions. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Papua Hotel... More 

Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

There is no doubt that PNG is hot right now as a destination for oil and gas investment. That is leading to a growing number of international businesses deciding to make the trip to Port Moresby to try and grab a piece of the action. For anyone heading to POM I would highly recommend the Grand Papua. It is ideally... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandellhay
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandellhay, Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Grand Papua hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay especially our location and facilities, your feedback have been shared with all employees. Once again thank you for you compliments and we hope to welcome you back to Grand Papua hotel in the... More 

Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Firstly, I work as the Head of HR in a well-known Hotel here in Port Moresby. I attended a Cocktail Function hosted by the NCDC and the World Bank for the Urban Youth Employment Project on the 8th December 2015; and was appalled by the manner of service from the F&B Staff (Banquets). I was at a table with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank HRM_LHL
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HRM_LHL. It is most disappointing to read how you felt you were treated whilst attending a very special event at the Grand Papua Hotel. It is a huge concern and I will address these shortcomings personally. Our employees are very proud Papua New Guineans and they must undertake numeorus "In Your Customers Shoes Training" which is part of our... More 

Level Contributor
1,003 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

I stayed here last week. Easy and quick check in and out. Lobby is small but stylish, and it extends to a back terrace with (very modest sized) pool and hot tub. Bar/pub off the lobby. Good gym on top floor. Bfast included-- either on top floor (with great views day and night) or on ground floor restaurant. Free wifi.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jenabaindelhi
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jenabaindelhi Thank you for providing feedback following your recent stay at the Gand Papua hotel. It is great to hear you had a great experience and be assured I will address concerns you have highlighted also. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Papua hotel. Our Christms Wishes and the very best in 2016. Alex... More 

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

I was met at the door by two well groomed / professional staff who assisted me with luggage. The staff on Reception were all friendly and 1st class and the check-in smooth. (They had contacted me by email in advance to confirm the reservation and check if I needed to be picked up from the airport). I had made my... More 

Helpful?
Thank Midtown303
CoralSeaHotels, Group Sales & Marketing Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Midtown303, Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Grand Papua Hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay, your comments have been shared with our team at Grand Papua Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing, friendly, efficient and professional service. Your comments regarding the air conditioning are noted and we... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

The Grand Papua is a very smart hotel, primarily aimed at the business traveller in PNG. The rooms are spacious and clean. The only real problem I had was it was quite stuffy and I struggled to get the right temperature. The bed was quite hard and while I normally don't like hard beds this one was actually still quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gary S
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gary S The staff and I are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We will address your concerns very soon about the air conditioning and humidity in rooms in our "Wet Season Plan" at the start of Dec? Gary S our concierge desk offers information for the beautiful "Nature Park", early morning hills walk... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015

One of the newest and best appointed hotels in Papua New Guinea with excellent rooms and high quality bar and silver service restaurant. Located on a hilltop position with ocean views. The executive club was pleasant but limited selection and very short happy hour. Service was exceptional for PNG

Helpful?
Thank John P
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John P Thank you for your compliments following your recent stay at the Grand Papua hotel. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. Although our Executive Lounge services and benefits are well received we will take on board your feedback in view of where we could improve further? Again thank you and we look forward... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2015

The stay was comfortable. Everything worked as expected and the staff were very welcoming and accommodating. In all there is only one complaint, the base level wifi internet was not particularly useful and if anything appeared designed to pushing you into paying for the more expensive plan. In all though a pleasant stay and great staff!

Helpful?
Thank dbtraveller25
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dbtraveller Thank you for your feedback I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff during your recent stay Dbtraveller I will certainly revisit your concerns and seek to make necessary changes where possible? Thank you and a Merry Christmas Alex Wilson and the Grand Papua hotel team More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times over the past two years, and disappointed this time. The standards have dropped, rooms seem small, room service expensive and other amenities are struggling to stay current. Being in port moresby, you can't exactly wander out for dinner, but there are no affordable dining options at all. Limited room service and restaurant menu.

Helpful?
Thank njsmjs
Alex W, General Manager at Grand Papua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear njsmjs We value our guest feedback highly and I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your recent stay with us. We are in the process of launching our new ala carte menu and themed buffets which will offer a greater range of options. Njsmjs we will continue to improve and implement further changes following your great feedback Thank you and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Moresby hotels
4.9 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 14 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Port Moresby
#6 of 14 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
Crowne Plaza Port Moresby
#10 of 14 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ela Beach Hotel
Ela Beach Hotel
#7 of 14 in Port Moresby
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
5.3 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
Gateway Hotel & Apartments
#8 of 14 in Port Moresby
3.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
Holiday Inn Express Port Moresby
#4 of 14 in Port Moresby
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay