We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Port Moresby hotels

Shady Rest Hotel

Sec 4 Lot 7/8/9 Tauruma Road | P. O. Box 206, Gordons, Port Moresby 111, Papua New Guinea
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
  • Overview
  • Reviews (24)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
Shady Rest Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Port Moresby
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Moresby
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
3
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I traveled to Port Moresby in May 2014 for work and stayed at Shady Rest Hotel for almost a month. I stayed in one of the newer executive suites, and the room was wonderful. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was very clean. There is also a large tv and a small kitchenette, which is really convenient. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
illuzone, Owner at Shady Rest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. Our team, especially the General Manager, works very hard to make sure that the service offered and the quality of our food, the look, design of our rooms and all the amenities onsite are second to none in Port Moresby - while maintaining our inexpensive pricing that is often half of what other similar... More

Main Beach, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My 2nd stay reinforced my view of the 1st stay. Excellent! From the welcoming staff that collected us at the airport, to the wonderful & cheerful staff at check in, the kind gentlemen assisting our bags to our room, the very quick & helpful staff who catered for us and the very efficient & professional cleaners, I cant fault any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Recently stayed at Shady Rest Hotel. Considering all the other hotels in Port Moresby, this is definitely one of the good spots. The turnaround time of getting my booking acknowledge was great. Great friendly staff & service at the hotel is far above the best in town. During my stay in Port Moresby, I went to another premier hotel to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This month I stayed on two seperate occassions at Shady Rest Hotel in POM as part of a group tour from Australia. The great service started when I got fast feeback via email of my booking request. My request was ignored by all other main POM hotels I contacted (other than the Lammna) Due to price considerations of the group,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Well, Papua New Guinea "the Land of the Unexpected" is the most expensive place I have ever been and I have been to more than 100, and is also the one where you get the least for your money. The Shady Rest hotel is well in this category as for $170 per night, you get a very, very musty smelly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
SRHManagement, Owner at Shady Rest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We apologise for and appreciate your letting us know the deficiency in the room that you stayed in. We would be much obliged if you would kindly inform us of the date of stay and the number of the room you were given as well as who you approached at the front office. Our policy... More

Paris, France
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
190 hotel reviews
405 helpful votes 405 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Port Moresby hostelry infamous for having about as bad a value for cost as anywhere on the planet. $170 usd gets you an absolutely wretched experience at the Shady Rest. Be prepared when their airport pick-up fails to materialize despite e-mail confirmation. Phone from arrivals, appearance of their beat-up van gives a preview of what you're in for. Pre-payment demanded... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
illuzone, Manager at Shady Rest Hotel, responded to this review

A million thanks for your review. Thank you for posting pics illustrating that renovations are ongoing at the hotel and that our place is gated and very well secured in a city rated by the United Nations to be one of the most insecure in the whole wide world. Our patrons can rest assured we take their safety and security... More

australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was in Port Moresby last weekend and enquired for prices in lots of motels and the prices were surprising, I enquired at this motel and was told that it costed K319.00 for a premium room that i decided to purchase for 3 nights and it was really good, my wife and i really enjoyed it staying there. It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
illuzone, Owner at Shady Rest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and suggestions. We are happy to have made your stay a pleasant one. We will definitely explore the possibility of hiring a local band on some nights playing some soft nice music. The new prices are part of our 15th Anniversary Celebration special and we intend to keep them valid, and will do our best... More

Washington
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
103 hotel reviews
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Shady Rest Hotel in Port Moresby is much like a Motel 6 hotel in the United States. It offers simple rooms with the basic equipment: double bed, a writing desk and chair, a flat screen color TV, and a bathroom with a shower. Of course, being in super pricey Port Moresby, the room rate is more than four times... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
illuzone, Manager at Shady Rest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and pointing out that we are the only moderately priced hotel in Port Moresby and we have good security, room service, a nice lounge, restaurant, great pizza and great service among other things. Pricing and rates are a function of location, costs, supply and demand among other factors. Like mentioned before Port Moresby is an... More

Tokyo, Japan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here for 22 nights and unfortunately did not get any dscount for my long stay. You will recieve coffee and sugar as ration and creamer will only be given if requested. Expect few cockroaches to hand around by your bedside. TV remote cannot be located by hotel staff and despite several reminders and trying different remot I gave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
illuzone, Manager at Shady Rest Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our staff have been made aware of your concerns and experience. We are not sure who you had approached at the Hotel but the Management would have definitely considered a discount and also replaced the TV in your room. Remotes in PNG do have a way of walking away and sometimes are impossible to replace.... More

Toronto
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We were initially quite worried having chosen the only reasonably priced hotel in Port Moresby. We had read some of the reviews on here and didn't know what quite to expect. But we were pleasantly surprised. Our transfer from the airport was on time and driver was quite talkative and informative about Port Moresby and gave us some good advice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shady Rest Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shady Rest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shady Rest Hotel

Address: Sec 4 Lot 7/8/9 Tauruma Road | P. O. Box 206, Gordons, Port Moresby 111, Papua New Guinea
Phone Number:
Location: Papua New Guinea > Papua Region > Port Moresby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Shady Rest Hotel, one of Port Moresby's top hotels, is conveniently located 7 minutes from the International and Domestic airports and 5 minutes from the business district. Entertainment and other options include the Cellar Steak House featuring the best steaks in town, PNG's only authentic Indian Restaurant and the all you can eat buffets showcasing the vast talents of our chefs every Tuesday and Friday nights. The Hotel also features prepaid wi-fi access, a well-stocked wine cellar, a gaming lounge, the Tapas cocktail lounge, a big screen karaoke lounge and a beauty salon with a souvenir shop. Also onsite is Mike's Pizza Company restaurant featuring PNG's best Pizzas. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
74

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Shady Rest Hotel to your Saves list
    ;