We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Masaya Intercultural Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Carrera 2 # 12-48 | La Candelaria, Bogota, Colombia
Special Deal
Save on Event tickets
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Masaya Intercultural Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    246
    85
    31
    13
    4
See reviews for
10
105
98
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (379)
  • Mar-May only
    (107)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (103)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Masaya Hostel is located in the historic center of Bogota, a vibrant neighborhood. It is a colonial house that has kept the identity of the neighborhood. All cultural activities, services and the calm that reigns in this place allows me to say that the offer exceeds all other hostels I have been before. Thank you to all the team of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicolas P, Responsable commercial at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review ! Always a pleasure to see our guests satisfied with our services ! Feel free to comeback anytime ! You will get a 10% discount on your second in one of our hostels (reservation at masaya-experience.com or at the reception). We are waiting for you ! Greetings from Masaya Bogota More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at masaya on our last day in colombia. It was more than wonderful. As they did not have the kind of room available that we booked, they decided to do somthing amazing. They gave us the best room incl breakfast !! It was like we won a price! We loved everything about the place: great location next to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicolas P, Responsable commercial at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review ! It is always nice to know our guests are enjoying their stay in our hostel ! Greetings from Masaya Bogota More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hostel but noisy with a no-noise after 10pm policy not enforced and an onsite bar open until 1am. People smoking weed in the courtyards until late and others chatting very early (pre-7am) without concern for sleepers. Left this hostel very tired.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicolas P, Responsable commercial at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your review ! We are sorry for what happened. We have a receptionist working at night, in charge of keeping the place quite for our guests. Furthermore, we communicate that any kind of drug is prohibited in the hostel. After 10 PM the music is less loud at the Bar and the lights are off. Greetings... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked a room at Masaya Intercultural Hostel on booking.com. When we arrived at the hostel at around 10:30pm after a 15 hour trip from Brazil, we were told by the receptionist that the hostel was full and no room available. When I showed the receptionist the confirmation email received by booking.com, she just shrugged her shoulders and repeated that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicolas P, Responsable commercial at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review

Hello David ! Thank you for your review. We are really sorry about what happened. We had some problems in June with the CT between our system and the one of Booking.com. This problem is already solved, if you are staying more time in Colombia or you want to go back to that beautiful country, you can contact Pauline via... More 

Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015

I chose Masaya because it offers cultural activities as well as upscale hostel conditions in a great location. It's a bit more expensive than a typical hostel, but well worth it. Masaya is a beautifully restored colonial building, great amenities, and a staff that is willing to help with all of your needs. The shared bathroom with showers offered a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicolas P, Responsable commercial at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Tasha ! Greetings from Masaya Bogota More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Only stayed for one night. Stayed in a private with ensuite, very nice. the neighbourhood surrounding the hostel at night seemed a little dodgey as we arrived during the night! During the day however was a different vibe people everywhere. Wifi was excellent, breakfast was good and the coffee was awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicolas P, Responsable commercial at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for our review Lachlan ! Greetings from Masaya Bogota More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

I had a decent stay for one night in the Masaya hostel. I really enjoyed the location and easy access to the plaza and proximity to the Museum del Oro and other attractions. However, the atmosphere wasn't as sociable as I thought it would be considering its size and number of tourists. The place was clean and it look generally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicolas P, Responsable commercial at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Alexandra, thank you for your review ! It is important for us to know our guests opinions. Greetings from Masaya Bogota More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2015

The place is pretty but if you are looking for party and making new friends, then you might be in the wrong place. This is more like a hotel (Chill). Location is excellent! You are close to everything in La Candelaria. They offer special rates for tours with other travel agencies. Food and drinks are a little more expensive but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicolas P, Responsable commercial at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Eric ! Thank you for your review, it is important for us to know the feedbacks from our guests ! We are glad you enjoyed our patio, it is true that we try to keep our place peaceful for our guests, as Bogotá is an urban jungle. Then we organize everyday a cultural event to let people know each... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

I stayed in a 4-bed dorm in Masaya for about a week and really enjoyed my stay there. The entire hostel is exceptionally clean, modern and well furnished. The beds are really comfortable and the showers are nice and hot. It is located in the historic town centre, where all the tourist attractions are (about a 5 minute walk from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Nadine, Thanks for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Masaya Bogota. Have you been to Masaya Santa Marta? Get 10% off on your stay (on www.masaya-experience.com)! Follow us on Facebook to continue your local experience : "Masaya Hostels". More 

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Several complaints about this place. To start its price is higher than most hostels nearby and they do not offer free breakfast, beds are not very comfortable, though showers are good in the morning. Mainly though, for a hostel, staff is what matters and we were treated very rudely by one of the staff, I think Mario was his name.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nicolas P, Gérant at Masaya Intercultural Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Jake, Thanks for your review. We are very surprised about your comment. I have communicated your comment to the staff and to the manager because what you describe is nothing like Masaya. Check in should be at 3PM, maybe you entered late because of exceptional maintenance and we're sorry about it. About the bad experience with the receptionist, it's... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Deco
#25 of 245 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
La Candelaria
The Orchids Hotel
The Orchids Hotel
#7 of 245 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 55 reviews
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#10 of 168 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12:12 Hostels
#3 of 168 in Bogota
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
La Candelaria
Explora Hostels
Explora Hostels
#27 of 168 in Bogota
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
La Candelaria
Destino Nomada - DnHostel Bogota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay