We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swiss Hostal Martinik

Certificate of Excellence
Carrera 4 # 11-88 | La Candelaria, Bogota A00, Colombia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Swiss Hostal Martinik
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What do you want from a Backpackers? It should be cheap The staff should be helpful and friendly The location should be good, so you got all you need in walking distance Some advice like what to do while in Bogota and where to go would be nice, too A laundry service would be a good idea And well, some... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dr_Mulle
Sophie G, Owner at Swiss Hostal Martinik, responded to this review

Aren't you the sweetest, thank you so much for your review. We have a few frills, like coffee and tea all day, simple breakfast included, towels, great large kitchen, sugar and salt, great wifi ... but otherwise, we are a simple hostel. That being said, we do offer great service in a super clean hostel. My team is exceptional and... More 

South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Swiss Martinik was, admittedly, one of my least favorite hostels I stayed at in South America. It did provide all the necessities, but if comfort is what you're looking for then I recommend you look elsewhere. The beds weren't ideal and the pillows were made of brick. It had a really weird atmosphere that made me want to spend more... More 

Helpful?
Thank Will G
Sophie G, Propietario at Swiss Hostal Martinik, responded to this review

Hey there, thanks for the review. Glad you liked the location and the staff. Sorry you didn't like the rest, though. It happens, sometimes people come on an off night. I do hope you find hostels that are more for you from now on. Have a great trip. More 

Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

A start of our trip in Bogota - nice and warm welcome. Pickup arranged by the hostal owners. Double room which smelled horrible - probably because the shower / toilet wasn't used for a while. After use of both the smell disappeared. Breakfast is very basic but fits the price. Lockers and a perfect kitchen. Location is great - in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marlies H
Sophie G, Owner at Swiss Hostal Martinik, responded to this review

Hi there, thanks for your review. So sorry about the trouble, I wish you had said something, we fixed the issue after we found out about it on TripAdvisor. It was actually a pipe in the sink, but it's all fixed now. I'm glad you liked everything else though. Have a nice trip :) More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Stayed here for 5 nights, wish I could've stayed a little bit longer. The atmosphere was great, staff were very friendly and always helpful. Quiet & relaxing for the most part (definitely not a party hostel). Price is also really great, especially if you're on a tight budget. Would definitely stay here again if I come by La Candelaria again.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carlos B
Sophie G, Owner at Swiss Hostal Martinik, responded to this review

Awe, you are a real sweetheart. It was so nice having you two here. I am glad you found it relaxing, and no, we are not a party hostel. We are the type of hostel where we want you to feel like at home, but like at a bar all day. Glad you felt happy here. Sending you a hug... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015 via mobile

This was the most uncomfortable hostel we have ever stayed in. We were in a private twin room, shared bathroom. The bed and pillows were rock hard with an awful thick plastic cover over them. This was most probably for cleanliness. Myself and my partner didn't sleep at all - it was noisy which certainly didn't help. Won't stay here... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alice W
Sophie G, Owner at Swiss Hostal Martinik, responded to this review

Hi there, and thank you for your review. Yes, you are correct, there is a plastic cover on the beds as to be able to disinfect them every time we have a new guest and also to keep pests out. Cleanliness is very important. As for the noise, it is an old house and as we are aware that noise... More 

Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

We stayed there 2 night in November, which is the beginning of our trip in Colombia. The place is nice and warm. They have a dining room with a cute hammock and two computers for use. There is a TV room with really comfy sofas and a reading place. The room is simple but clean. The most impressive thing that... More 

Helpful?
Thank manny724
Sophie G, Owner at Swiss Hostal Martinik, responded to this review

Hey you two, you were an absolute pleasure to have at the hostel, I hope ou have a great trip and that you come visit us again sometime. HUGS! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2015 via mobile

Despite the initial disappointment with our check in (double room not available) the owner went out of her way to allow us (a couple) to have a discounted single room that we were happy to share instead. The staff spoke English which was a bonus for us, and the free amenities like coffee and Internet, and also the hammock, made... More 

Helpful?
Thank egold123
Sophie G, Owner at Swiss Hostal Martinik, responded to this review

Hey guys, I remember you. Yes, sorry again for the mix up, glad we were able to find a solution. Things like that happen sometimes, but I assure you, it is very rare and when it does happen, we do our best to make our guests happy. So glad you had a nice time with us. Happy travels, hugs to... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
216 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

I stayed here for 4 nights. This is the great place and many attractions are close by. It is in the heart of the city. The staff is very friendly and attentive. I really like the open and common area. It's pretty nice and comfortable. The kitchen is big and well equipped. They serve coffee throughout the day. The manager... More 

Helpful?
Thank AlienTraveller1978
Sophie G, Owner at Swiss Hostal Martinik, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again one day. Hugs and safe travels. More 

La Calera, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

Martinik was our first stop on an 18 month journey around the world, starting in Colombia. Located in the heart of La Candelaria, the location couldn't be better. If you're looking for a party hostel this is not your place. If you're looking for a quiet place to relax and recover after partying in La Candelaria, this is your place.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joshua P
Sophie G, Owner at Swiss Hostal Martinik, responded to this review

Awe, thanks so much for your review, I had a great time with you two. See you when you come back soon, so looking forward to seeing you two and hearing all about your adventures. You guys are friends to me, hope you know that. Lots of hugs from Bobby, the Martinik team and, of course, me. More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2015 via mobile

I ended up here unexpectedly because my flight was canceled. I showed up without a reservation around midnight. When I arrived the staff told me they were fully booked. Since it was late and didn't know where else to go I asked if they could check again and sure enough there was an open bed. That was extremely annoying that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joselyn G
Sophie G, Owner at Swiss Hostal Martinik, responded to this review

Hi there and thanks for your review. I am sorry you had a bad experience. This being said, we were almost completely full that night and were able to accommodate even if you showed up at midnight without a reservation. My staff always does their best and truth be told, I have a very new employee who is still learning... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bogota hotels
Hotel Casa Deco
#21 of 254 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
La Candelaria
Masaya Hostel Bogota
Masaya Hostel Bogota
#7 of 183 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Candelaria
Casa Bellavista Hostel
Casa Bellavista Hostel
#9 of 183 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
La Candelaria
Hotel Casa Galeria
Hotel Casa Galeria
#3 of 265 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Ole Mi Casa
#20 of 265 in Bogota
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay