We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sumengen Hotel

#217 of 987 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Mimar Mehmet Aga Caddesi Amiral Tafdil Sokak No.9, Istanbul 34100, Turkey
Hotel amenities
Sumengen Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #217 of 987 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Leonie G Vienna, Austria
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    196
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
126
190
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (490)
  • Mar-May only
    (124)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (121)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in Sümengen for three nights and had a great stay. We went to Istanbul for sightseeing so we didn't stay in the Hotel a lot. The breakfast ist okay and it is nice to sit outside but the pictures look nicer then in reality. The room was very clean and the stuff was great and very helpful!! At... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

East Hampton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel before and after a Rick Steves tour for a total of 9 days... Great location with excellent service by the staff. The breakfast was good with a good variety of choices, only complaint would be the eggs which was cold. The neighborhood was busy with an excellent choice of restaurants, no problems at night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sumengen Hotel is an Excellent Hotel a few blocks from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Topkapi Palace. We had the Bosphorus View room with Jacuzzi; the view is fantastic and you can see from the Prince Islands up past the bridge to Asia. The room is very large and the Jacuzzi was wonderful after walking most of the day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Lahore, Pakistan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was extremely affordable and comfortable. Friendly staff. the location was so great that we had to walk just five minutes and we'd have Blue mosque and Hagia Sophia right in front of us. Highly recommended. View from the breakfast restaurant is great. Wifi was absolutely horrible though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sumengen Hotel. The hotel was centrally located, just minutes from all the attractions in Old Town Istanbul. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly: recommending restaurants, answering questions and arranging travel to the airport. We enjoyed the breakfast in a very pleasant breakfast room and enjoyed snacks and tea in the lobby after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Location is fantastic - in the heart of the Historic Old Core (Sultanahmet). Very comfortable experience: hotel rooms are ample size, breakfast buffet is good and plentiful, and hotel has the basics (toiletries, hair dryer, safe). The best/pillows are sufficient, but not luxe, but you're not staying here for a luxury experience. Overall, very satisfying and easy locations for tourists... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic location, just a 10 minute walk to the metro and 5 minutes to the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The staff made all the difference. If you're looking for a local hotel that is clean and comfortable, this is for you. It's family run and i felt so welcome and safe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

So its not a 5* in fact if you are one of those who count the stars please dont visit this boutique hotel because the beauty of this hotel is in the way its so original, small & artsy. The area is extremely convenient in terms of catching a train, visiting nearby tourist attractions, the markets..everything I'll never be able... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

We recently stayed at this hotel for a week and found it to be perfectly suited for getting around Istanbul. It is a realistic 5 minute walk from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Topkapi Palace, and the Sultanhamet tram line. If you want a taxi, just stand on a nearby corner and wait a minute or two since they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Burlington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

The Sumengen Hotel is literally a 5 minute walk to the Blue Mosque. From the roof top patio at night, the views are spectacular. The Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and the lights from the Asian side of Istanbul are just spectacular! Inside, the view at breakfast is also lovely, but beware of the occasional gull who might want to share... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay