We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sumengen Hotel

#222 of 1,005 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Mimar Mehmet Aga Caddesi Amiral Tafdil Sokak No.9, Istanbul 34100, Turkey
Hotel amenities
Sumengen Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #222 of 1,005 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
zamboangadon Seattle
Add Photo Write a Review

501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    236
    201
    49
    9
    6
See reviews for
128
196
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (501)
  • Mar-May only
    (126)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (130)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (141)
All months
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Room was very nice, quiet,clean. This is a quiet, small hotel in a quite busy part of Istanbul. Nice roof top deck for wonderful views of the Bosphorus. Great location directly by Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque. Great breakfasts (and a breakfast deck also). I would happily recommend this to others

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed at the hotel for five day. breakfast fantastic, room massive (superior, twin share), clean and well maintained. staff service exceptional. pleased with location close to tourist spots, all in walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff very helpful - 5 stars ! Location A1 Management missing, need to address these issues: - Gulls on breakfast terrace: some people feed them, some make them go away. The gulls are confused and so are the staff and guests. A sign saying DO NOT FEED THE GULLS would solve everyone's problems and the gulls would go somewhere else.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gurgaon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

i think the gentleman name kerem erdem and kayra yanik are the 2 people working in this beautiful hotel located very well . they made our holiday very nice and very informative wanting to help at every thing we ask. then mr kerem erdem also go out of his way to ask if need anything or wanted to help us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Vancouver
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Great location for taking in the major sites in the Sultanahmet area. Staff very friendly and the breakfast was superb. Our room was on the ground floor and was a little bit noisy, due to inconsiderate guests, however turning on the heater/air conditioner solved the noise problem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We stayed in Sümengen for three nights and had a great stay. We went to Istanbul for sightseeing so we didn't stay in the Hotel a lot. The breakfast ist okay and it is nice to sit outside but the pictures look nicer then in reality. The room was very clean and the stuff was great and very helpful!! At... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

We stayed in this hotel before and after a Rick Steves tour for a total of 9 days... Great location with excellent service by the staff. The breakfast was good with a good variety of choices, only complaint would be the eggs which was cold. The neighborhood was busy with an excellent choice of restaurants, no problems at night and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

Sumengen Hotel is an Excellent Hotel a few blocks from the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, and Topkapi Palace. We had the Bosphorus View room with Jacuzzi; the view is fantastic and you can see from the Prince Islands up past the bridge to Asia. The room is very large and the Jacuzzi was wonderful after walking most of the day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

It was extremely affordable and comfortable. Friendly staff. the location was so great that we had to walk just five minutes and we'd have Blue mosque and Hagia Sophia right in front of us. Highly recommended. View from the breakfast restaurant is great. Wifi was absolutely horrible though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sumengen Hotel. The hotel was centrally located, just minutes from all the attractions in Old Town Istanbul. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly: recommending restaurants, answering questions and arranging travel to the airport. We enjoyed the breakfast in a very pleasant breakfast room and enjoyed snacks and tea in the lobby after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ibrahim G, General Manager at Sumengen Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at our hotel. I am happy to be acknowledged that you had a very good stay with us and you appreciate your experience. I have also shared your very kind comments with my staff in order to make all our colleagues... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

176 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (158)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay