We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel

4.0 of 5 Binbirdirek Mah. Binbirdirek Meydani Sok. No. 1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    149
    49
    16
    14
See reviews for
92
187
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (491)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (115)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (161)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (96)
All months
There are newer reviews for Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

The Hotel is Ideally Located. Just a 5 mins walk from the Blue Mosque/ Sophia Hagia/ Top Kapi Palace etc etc. GRRREAT location. The staff are friendly, but English IS a BIG problem. and water is always never there!! Tho' the Rooms can be a bit bizarre, Silver, white n Black striped walls! The breakfast food is GOOD, loads of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Isola del Gran Sasso d'Italia, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

this hotel is wonderfull..i THINK if u want to go to turkey u choose this hotel..hotel hs got wonderfull place.. and it have got perfect rooms and servíce

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pasadena
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Over all the breakfast and location were the best. But when it came to getting online this was next to impossible. It didn't help that most of the staff didn't speak English and seemed to not care whether we were able to use the Internet they so proudly said they had. There were several days you would find people littering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

This was my fourth time in the hotel and every time i have more fun that the last time. Great and wonderful view where you can see the lovely city Istanbul. I don't believe that there is any hotel can have the same view..The hotel location is couple of minutes away from the tram and all tourist places like the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

just got back from an unpleasant stay at the golden horn sultanahmet. air conditioning is basically non-existent (it kind of blows air, but nothing cool emerges); room decor is either dated or cheesy or both; rooms (and all that comes with, e.g., towels, sheets) are not particularly clean; the best time to enjoy the buffet breakfast is during yom kippur... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Tina Tamara K, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We would like to apologize for inconveniences caused. We have fixed these problems and we are working on improving the presentation and the content. We hope you will visit us again and give us an opportunity to provide you with a better service. Kind regards, Tina & Tamara More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Loved the hotel, staff were great, beautiful views (we were in room 511). Whatever you do, DO NOT VISIT THE FISH RESTURANTS. The morning manager Mr Fikret recommended we go to the YILDIZLAR, IT WAS A MISTAKE, THE FOOD WAS CRAP AND IT WAS EXPENSIVE (£102 gbp). Other than his recommendation to the fish resturant, everything else was great. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
goldenhornhotel, Director of Sales at Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Mizan , We were pleased to welcome you in our hotel.I hope you lived a memorable honeymoon here in Istanbul.. Previously we have not received complaints about this restaurant ,I'm not sure if their service is not to good we will be more carefull.We look forward to welcoming you in the same room as the future.. with my kind... More 

Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We recently stayed at the Golden Horn during a weekend getaway in Istanbul. The hotel is situated in the heart of Sultanahmet, a stone's through from the major attractions of Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque - both of which you can see from the awesome views on the rooftop terrace restaurant. The people at the hotel were very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I visited couple of hotels in sultanahmad area in Istanbul and Im sure when I say that Golden Horn is one of the best there. The view from the trace and also from my favorite Room 511 is spectacular; I can see all the highlights in sultanahmad area. The ottoman style of the hotel is beautiful; every thing there clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
goldenhornhotel, Director of Sales at Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review

We were pleased to welcome you to our hotel.As you know, our hotel has been renewed in April 2011.All rooms are furnished in the comfort of 511 :)We look forward to welcoming you in the same room as the future.. with my kind regards; Sarya Saliha HARITOGLU More 

New Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

You have to lose something to gain something !! The location of the hotel was just awesome !!! And the views from the terrace were amazing ! Those are the best pics we have and will remember turkey from those views. However, the hotel itself was quite back cos the rooms were small, room-service was quite pathetic, unprofessional staff &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Good things first - Good location, good breakfast, stunning view from the terrace Not so good - 1. NO AIR CONDITIONING IN SUMMER (May was hot in Istanbul) 2. Very noisy room especially if you leave window open to sleep at night 3. NO WI FI INTERNET connection in room, which is pretty bad in my opinion as eevn three... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
goldenhornhotel, Director of Sales at Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Our Guest ; In may 2011 Istanbul was so cold.You can check from internet ,maybe you can remember..It was between 13-18 degrees.Many of our guests wanted to beating the drums for heating at night.problems occurred from time to time on the internet in May.We had problems because of the sub-structure modification during renovation.but these problems were completely eliminated.We are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Binbirdirek Meydani Sok. No. 1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Horn Sultanahmet Istanbul
Hotel Golden Horn Sultanahmet
Hotel Style:
#88 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#139 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#206 Family Hotel in Istanbul

285 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (251)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay