We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avicenna Hotel

#370 of 1,021 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. D:31-33, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Avicenna Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

882 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    268
    383
    138
    47
    46
See reviews for
135
412
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (882)
  • Mar-May only
    (273)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (222)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (199)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (188)
All months
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have stayed in this hotel for 5 days during July/August 2015. First impression, the staff was rude. He was telling us something while checking in after the journey from the airport in the hot weather and I was not really listening. I then asked for the password for the WIFI and he kind of shouted, I have just told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony , Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review about our hotel. We deeply apologize for the inconveniences you have faced during your stay. Sometimes the ACs may not perfom well because of the too much load but we do creat solutions immediately in such a cases when informed. We will definately consider your... More 

yorkshire
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked this hotel as a lot of people do through BA holidays .Got a great deal but when I cannot sleep on holiday that tends to negate everything else. The double bed in the room was only a standard double 4ft 6inches,so not a lot of room to move about,especially when the room is sweltering. The bathroom was very small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anniefield, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review about our hotel.We apologize for the inconveniences you have faced here and we will definately consider your advices. Kindest Regards More 

Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed her 6 nights and really enjoyed my time here the location is ideal and the staff are great ,breakfast is as you would except in a Turkish open buffet ..I strongly recommend you try the rooftop restaurant the waiter Ali is very friendly man who will go out of his way to accommodate you a real credit to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Avicenna H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mohsin b, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about our hotel. I am glad that in general you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Avicenna! King Regards, Guest Relations Department More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were surprised at our stay - after reading all the wonderful reviews we were expecting to really enjoy this hotel. Our room was dirty - they didn't clean the toilet after the last guest checked out, and there was mold in the shower. We were frequently unable to get a wifi signal in our room. Breakfast was mediocre -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel part of the British Airways deals and did it do what it said on the box. I did try to email the hotel beforehand and they never responded, which caused an issue when we arrived, as we were given a double bed. The gentleman at reception did say we could change the next morning if we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Avicenna H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Huda C, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review about our hotel. We hope that in general we could meet your needs. We apologize for the inconveniences you have faced here and we will definately consider your advices. Best Regards, Guest Relations Department More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We could not believe how cure and great this hotel was when we got there. This was part of the BA Holiday Sale so we did not expect 'real' 4*. The location is amazing, with not even 5 min walk to the Blue Mosque and old city atractions. The place itself is very adorable, beautifully decorated and the breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Avicenna H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BeataGabriela, Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about our hotel and your stay with us in May. We are glad to hear that you have had a nice stay. Please note that we will be very happy to host you again at Avicenna! King Regards, Guest Relations Department More 

West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located by all the key tourist attractions, rooms are a little small but comfortable enough for a good nights sleep. From the airport we were able to get the metro to Sultanahmet (had to change midway though) and the hotel is a 5 min walk away. Lots of student volunteers in blue tshirts on hand to help if needed. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1989butterfly, Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review about our hotel. I am glad that in general you had a good stay. We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the future! Best Regards, Guest Relations Department More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellently located, not far from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia, booked this hotel through a British Airways holiday and was not disappointed. Rooms spacious enough, with nice en suite and strikingly well decorated corridors which give it a very elegant feel. Decent breakfast too. Only slight downside was the restaurant - food was excellent, but the lone waiter was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Allan_C_1980, Thank you very much for not forgetting to leave us a comment about your stay last February. I am glad that in general you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the future! Best Regards, Guest Relations Department More 

Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bad hygiene, aircondition didnt work, bugs in the rooms, dirty rooms, no aircondition at all in the hallways,bad wifi. The only good thing with this hotel is the really Nice hotel workers. Other than that We are not satisfied at all

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear naouaft, Thank you for taking your time to write this review about our hotel. I was really disappointed to read your comments. I just wanted to clarify few things in order to avoid misunderstanding: rooms are being cleaned daily and they are checked out by the housekeeping manager; our rooms are being medicated regularly so it is very hard... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My name is Nawaf Alghaneem and I have been here for 14 days. This hotel is good and we really like it and what my family and I like more is the two guys Umit and Ali, they really helpful guys and always try to help us and gave us a lot of information about the best places is Istanbul... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Avicenna, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Avicenna Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nawaf s, Thank you very much for your kind review about our hotel. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us. And I have shared your words of gratitude with Ali and Umit, too. We look forward to hosting you again in the future! Best Regards, Guest Relations Department More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

387 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (245)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (123)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (31)
Viewed
Standard Room (26)
Viewed
Superior Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#274 of 1,021 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#175 of 1,021 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
Sultanahmet
Albatros Premier Hotel
Albatros Premier Hotel
#480 of 1,021 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#37 of 1,021 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#489 of 1,021 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Sultanahmet
Garden House Istanbul
Garden House Istanbul
#52 of 1,021 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Sultanahmet

Neighborhood Profile
Sultanahmet
With so many unmissable attractions within a mere stroll of each other – and all set around the site of an ancient Byzantine hippodrome – Sultanahmet is an overwhelmingly popular tourist destination, and a prime location for visitors to be wowed on a truly epic scale. Beyond the wonders of the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, and more, this relatively small area of Istanbul somehow manages to retain an air of peace and calm. It offers visitors a significantly less celebrated but nonetheless pleasant network of quaint lanes and side streets, majestic panoramas of the Bosphorus, and an impressive assortment of accommodation options for all budgets and tastes.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay