We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colombo City Hotel

3.0 of 5 33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colombo City Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colombo City Hotel
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    38
    57
    36
    47
See reviews for
17
54
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (195)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights 10/01/15 to 13/01/15. There was a choice of room: at the front with city view, or a quieter room at the back with no view. Opted for the latter - the view wasn't important. Comfortable bed, and ample storage space. It's also easy to roll a suitcase to this hotel from Colombo Fort station as long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking time off to write a review of our property. We are extremely grateful for your comments. It is normal practice to open the minibar on request, but as you say this was not done after your request. We will certainly look into this and offer our sincere apology. Should you decide to... More 

Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a pleasant stay. The hotel is well located, very close to a few more expensive hotels, and Galle sea front which was a nice place for a walk. The room was fine - no view but the restaurant and bar on the top floor had a good view and it was nice to sit out. Dinner included in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. According to our experience, guests only write if they had a bad experience on their visit and many do not bother to write if they were satisfied. We are extremely grateful to you for having done that, and look forward to welcoming you back on your... More 

New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Superb Location, neat & tidy rooms and bathrooms, i have visited this hotel 4 times. good value for money. they have a new breakfast spread from 2015 on-wards. and don't miss the Bollywood songs in open air restaurant in the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. According to our experience, guests only write if they had a bad experience on their visit and many do not bother to write if they were satisfied. We are extremely grateful to you for having done that, and look forward to welcoming you back on your... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
79 hotel reviews
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is really for convenience and location. Nothing wrong in my way, you get what you pay for. We arrived after midnight and were greeted by name, rooms were functional and bathrooms were better than expected. Breakfast was ok, not spectacular, but again very reasonably priced. My three star rating is to be seen not as critique but more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. According to our experience, guests only write if they had a bad experience on their visit and many do not bother to write if they were satisfied. We are extremely grateful to you for having done that, and look forward to welcoming you back on your... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Poor ventilation and damp air- this was compounded by the intense banging on the wall and screaching within the facility. An attempt to eat the breakfast was toxic since the food to the 5th restaurant is transportedin the same elevator used by guests. Somebody got to do something seriously!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the time taken to write this review. However we wish to bring to your notice that the 5th floor restaurant has its own main kitchen on the 5th floor itself and FOOD IS NOT TRANSPORTED IN THE LIFT USED BY THE GUESTS. Regarding your complaint of banging on the wall and screeching within the facility has... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

The Colombo City Hotel is well located and the staff possess excellent customer service skills. The location of the hotel is very central and everything was fairly close or a short tuk tuk ride away. The hotel room is actually quite nice and clean but it's nothing fancy. The hotel is affordable and it was definitely worth what we paid.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. According to our experience, guests only write if they had a bad experience on their visit and many do not bother to write if they were satisfied. We are extremely grateful to you for having done that are look forward to welcoming you back on your... More 

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two days, rooms were good in size, well furnished, neat and clean with a balcony facing WTC. It has a rooftop restaurant, which has amazing view of Galle face and live music, singer played hindi song for us, that was so delightful. Buffet breakfast is average. Beach is just 10 mins away from this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feed back. We the management team really appreciate the time taken by you to write a review. We would be glad to welcome you to the hotel on your next visit with special discounts. Best Regards More 

Kochi (Cochin), India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

i was on my journey from muscat to kochi as a transit passenger...people are so friendly...i felt the real srilankan hospitality from this hotel...food awesome....clean and tidy.worth for the cash paid

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your valuable time to write a review of our hotel. Greatly Appreciated. Management & Staff More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014 via mobile

Got a cheap room not over looking the ocean but that made it cheaper so I didn't mind. Rooms have aircon, TV, an electronic safe and neat bathrooms. Staff were very pleasant and eager to help (they even scared of my taxi driver who was trying to make me pay more then we agreed because of traffic). Are dinner at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, General Manager at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and comments. We greatly appreciate you having taken your valuable time to write a review. We have many guests who are happy and satisfied by the hotel services and staff but they simply do not write any reviews, specially when they have no complaints. It is the few disgruntled guests, who take special... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

If you can look past the cockroaches and the constant banging, even the fact that the staff knock on your door at 11pm for no reason. The rooms are ok. The food actually caused me to spend an hour in the bathroom vomiting. Then on checkout the manager a horrible rude man doubled the price of the rooms. Which lead... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager c, Manager at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Please don`t be mislead by this review, This Guest from UK volunteer workers checked in to the Hotel on 31st October 2014, they booked the Hotel by phone from Sri Lanka on 28th October 2014 and we offered US $ 96 per night for a double Room as per their requirement. At the time of check in they requested a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Colombo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo City Hotel

Address: 33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Colombo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay