We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colombo City Hotel

3.0 of 5 33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colombo City Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colombo City Hotel
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    55
    35
    48
See reviews for
16
53
42
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Got a cheap room not over looking the ocean but that made it cheaper so I didn't mind. Rooms have aircon, TV, an electronic safe and neat bathrooms. Staff were very pleasant and eager to help (they even scared of my taxi driver who was trying to make me pay more then we agreed because of traffic). Are dinner at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, General Manager at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback and comments. We greatly appreciate you having taken your valuable time to write a review. We have many guests who are happy and satisfied by the hotel services and staff but they simply do not write any reviews, specially when they have no complaints. It is the few disgruntled guests, who take special... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you can look past the cockroaches and the constant banging, even the fact that the staff knock on your door at 11pm for no reason. The rooms are ok. The food actually caused me to spend an hour in the bathroom vomiting. Then on checkout the manager a horrible rude man doubled the price of the rooms. Which lead... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager c, Manager at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Please don`t be mislead by this review, This Guest from UK volunteer workers checked in to the Hotel on 31st October 2014, they booked the Hotel by phone from Sri Lanka on 28th October 2014 and we offered US $ 96 per night for a double Room as per their requirement. At the time of check in they requested a... More

Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Good location but charged way too much for what was offered. Concierge wasn't helpful or friendly and wasn't able to communicate even where the railway station was. Room lacked soul and character - 3 beds with inadequate bedding, no toiletries provided at all, no tea, no power points, just a big empty room with not much in it. Air con... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, During the conflict period all hotels in Sri Lanka was undercutting & a price war among all hotels was witnessed,even 5 star properties were selling rooms on BB at USD 40.00 - 50.00 range. Lonely planet book advertised the rates prevailing at that time and our property was displayed at USD 35.00 Even the latest copy of Lonely... More

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel, but had a drink on their fantastic rooftop terrace. Great views, with drinks at good value for the city. Very friendly atmosphere, with locals as well as tourists. Only shame was the singer was a bit loud for us, even when sitting outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. Much appreciated. After your comment about the loud music we have taken steps to rectify this issue. Once again thank you so much for your feed back. More

Ipoh, Malaysia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
75 hotel reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights and had a very good experience. Great location, the Galle Sea Face is just 1 minute away and it is within walking distance of Pettah and Colombo Fort train station. There are plenty of good and budget restaurants, shops, money exchangers, travel agents, pharmacies etc nearby and the cafes inside the WTC across the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Manager c, Manager at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear madam, Thank you for this review on our hotel. We will consider your views on our future development. We wish you all the best and welcome you to our hotel any time. More

Ballina, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Great location but think that it needs to be upgraded, as its rooms are a bit shabby. Lovely old buiiding on exterior. But for convenience though its ok. We only stayed one night as Colombo is so hectic.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Madrid
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stayed for one night at the end of our holiday. The hotel is basically good for the location, but quite tired regarding everything else. After travelling throughout the country for five weeks we were surprised that the wifi was not free in the rooms and there was just a weak signal in two communal areas. This seemed like needless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Before I begin this review, with the exception of one person (the manager) all the staff were courteous, polite and helpful despite their working conditions. A few pointers - 1) the breakfast is minimalistic, little variety and very basic (Sri Lanka breakfasts are usually stunning) - and food is not kept at the right temperature, coffee is weak, hot milk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chengdu, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stayed here for one night. The hotel has a perfect location--in the Fort area--the biggest advantage among all the budget hotels in Colombo. Main tourist attraction, such as the Galle Face, Dutch Hospital, are near here. As to the hotel itself, the room and restaurant are both average, but ok for a short stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed one night. Great location. Aircon and hot water worked fine. Older style hotel with good service and comfortable bed. Buffet breakfast was adequate for our needs. Cold juice on arrival was appreciated after train trip back from Kandy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager c, Manager at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Colombo city hotel for you short stay in the city. We greatly appreciate your comments on our hotel. Your reviews certainly help us to improve our service level to all our valuable guests. We thank you again for the recommendations and look forward to see you soon. Wish you the very best. thank you. Best rgds More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Colombo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo City Hotel

Address: 33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Colombo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay