We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colombo City Hotel

33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colombo City Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colombo City Hotel
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    48
    62
    37
    48
See reviews for
21
60
44
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (214)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
27 hotel reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very good hotel for a business traveler or for a transit traveler to catch transport from Colombo to outstation as the hotel is very conveniently located in Colombo 1 by the road side. Easy access to the main bus stand and Colombo fort railway station. Very close to the most top class hotels and restaurants in the city. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Given the price range and the location this makes the most affordable hotel in Colombo. We arrived early and the check-in was smooth. The hotel staff was very accommodating to any of our request. The room was smaller than usual but since we did not intend to relax for too long in the room we were fine with the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Rajesh, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review of the hotel. We the management team takes special care and notice to look after our guest comforts and to ensure that our guests have value for their money spent at the hotel and in Sri Lanka in particular. We appreciate our guest comments... More 

Male
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Thank all the staff for the friendly environment. But i want make sp thank to Sahan he is outstanding.I think he deserve it.because it feel like he is the one who is taking his responsibilities. He love his work he is not working only for money. during his off hours also he is ready to help the guest. Front office... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Aesha, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review of the hotel. We the management team takes special care and notice to look after our guest comforts and to ensure that our guests have value for their money spent at the hotel and in Sri Lanka in particular. We appreciate our guest comments... More 

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

The hotel itself has its own charm though a little old but they were able to keep it tidy. Typical hotel stay with accommodating staffs and a real value for money. What I like most is the surrounding areas. Infront you'll see World Trade Center and next to the hotel is the famed Old Dutch Hospital Precincts that has shops,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Romyr, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review of the hotel. We the management team takes special care and notice to look after our guest comforts and to ensure that our guests have value for their money spent at the hotel and in Sri Lanka in particular. We appreciate our guest comments... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We arrived in the Fort area to spend a few days looking around. The hotel is situated in the Fort section, which in it's self doesn't have tons of sites. We saw the clock tower and walked over to the Pettah market and shopped there. I found we spent more time in the Galle Face Green area (which was completely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time off to write a comment. We greatly appreciate the time and effort taken by you for this. We would be glad to welcome you once again to our hotel on your next visit and offer you discounted rates as a repeat guest. The Management Team More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Nice hotel to stay at. Located in the heart of the city. Very close to the Dutch Hospital and the Galle Face Green. Close to Fort Railway station and Pettah also. Stayed for a night in a triple room. Booked it online. Staff is very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aditi, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review of the hotel. We the management team takes special care and notice to look after our guest comforts and to ensure that our guests have value for their money spent at the hotel and in Sri Lanka in particular. We appreciate our guest comments and... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

We phoned ahead to book this hotel. We took the train from Jaffna and arrived around 5pm. When we arrived the desk clerk told us the price we given over the phone was wrong and it actually was much higher. He called me a liar when I told him the price we were quoted and he asked for the name... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Tara, We refer to your guest comment and wish to apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay. From what we recall the main issue you had was that our reception staff quoting in USD which is the norm in Sri Lanka and you being Canadian Citizens had assumed that the quote was in your currency,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

The food here is not so tasty or value for money , the chairs are horrible . But the roof top is simple awesome. From 5:30 till sundown one of the best scenic restaurants in the area . Not too crowdy too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Amila, Thank you for your review. Having gone through your comments about the food not been up to standard, we could have had a inquiry to your complaint, if we had specific dates of your visit, as the complain of food is very minimal from the majority of our guests. However we have taken serious note of your... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We booked another hotel but they transferred us to this property owing to some maintenance issues.Nice location near to fort railway station as well as Galle sea face. Small clean basic rooms. Lift is there. Dutch hospital is adjacent building. Ease of access. nice room balcony and air con. Will stay here again and recommend others.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Astha, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review of the hotel. We the management team takes special care and notice to look after our guest comforts and to ensure that our guests have value for their money spent at the hotel and in Sri Lanka in particular. We appreciate our guest comments and... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

I didnt stay in this lovely hotel but went here specially for ferien lanka tours they are based here and i wanted to book a 12 day tour. Our friends told us about this company. Because sri lanka is beautifull country and i wanted to see alot. We got a driver named nilan he was tthe perfect driver for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Jessica, Thank you for your comment. We would have loved to host you at our hotel. Please visit us on your next stay and we assure of a very comfortable & memorable stay with us at a very affordable rate when compared to most other hotels in the vicinity. Ferrian Lanka, who are our travel desk operators, has... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay