We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colombo City Hotel

33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colombo City Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Colombo City Hotel
Review This Hotel

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    61
    36
    48
See reviews for
19
58
44
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (206)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We phoned ahead to book this hotel. We took the train from Jaffna and arrived around 5pm. When we arrived the desk clerk told us the price we given over the phone was wrong and it actually was much higher. He called me a liar when I told him the price we were quoted and he asked for the name... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food here is not so tasty or value for money , the chairs are horrible . But the roof top is simple awesome. From 5:30 till sundown one of the best scenic restaurants in the area . Not too crowdy too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Amila, Thank you for your review. Having gone through your comments about the food not been up to standard, we could have had a inquiry to your complaint, if we had specific dates of your visit, as the complain of food is very minimal from the majority of our guests. However we have taken serious note of your... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked another hotel but they transferred us to this property owing to some maintenance issues.Nice location near to fort railway station as well as Galle sea face. Small clean basic rooms. Lift is there. Dutch hospital is adjacent building. Ease of access. nice room balcony and air con. Will stay here again and recommend others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Astha, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review of the hotel. We the management team takes special care and notice to look after our guest comforts and to ensure that our guests have value for their money spent at the hotel and in Sri Lanka in particular. We appreciate our guest comments and... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I didnt stay in this lovely hotel but went here specially for ferien lanka tours they are based here and i wanted to book a 12 day tour. Our friends told us about this company. Because sri lanka is beautifull country and i wanted to see alot. We got a driver named nilan he was tthe perfect driver for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Jessica, Thank you for your comment. We would have loved to host you at our hotel. Please visit us on your next stay and we assure of a very comfortable & memorable stay with us at a very affordable rate when compared to most other hotels in the vicinity. Ferrian Lanka, who are our travel desk operators, has... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,359 reviews 1,359 reviews
326 hotel reviews
3,039 helpful votes 3,039 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In theory I should have been able to give this hotel 4/5 due to its large rooms, three star tariff through www.asiatravel.com and interesting design with a lightwell beaming down to the third floor where wifi access was available, though slow at times. The balcony rooms also have a pleasant outlook across to the 1997 built World Trade Centre while... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. According to our experience, guests only write if they had a bad experience on their visit and many do not bother to write if they were satisfied. We are extremely grateful to you for having done that, and look forward to welcoming you back on your... More 

Thane, India
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I stayed there for 2 days, Feb 17-18. The room was clean fully equipped with Mini bar, Tea maker, TV and Wi-Fi. Food was also tasty. Location being near beach was a big attraction. Recommend to stay. Pande Mumbai

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Pande, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review of the hotel. We the management team takes special care and notice to look after our guest comforts and to ensure that our guests have value for their money spent at the hotel and in Sri Lanka in particular. We appreciate our guest comments... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015 via mobile

I spent less here than the other hotels I stayed & I had a good service for the money I spent but the hotel location is a very busy place & it will be more good if you all build up the standards. Any ways Thank you for your service guys.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write a review of the hotel. We the management team takes special care and notice to look after our guest comforts and to ensure that our guests have value for their money spent at the hotel and in Sri Lanka in particular. We appreciate our guest comments and... More 

Oeiras, Portugal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

It is a pleasant place to stay. The only disappointment is you to pay for internet... Some improvement must be made in side the rooms. They are clean but old. Even TV signal was not working very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking time off to write a review of our property. We are extremely grateful for your comments. Should you decide to come back we would be delighted to offer you our lowest rates and a VIP welcome. If so please email us directly to offer you a discounted rate & services. With our... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Stayed for 2 nights 10/01/15 to 13/01/15. There was a choice of room: at the front with city view, or a quieter room at the back with no view. Opted for the latter - the view wasn't important. Comfortable bed, and ample storage space. It's also easy to roll a suitcase to this hotel from Colombo Fort station as long... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking time off to write a review of our property. We are extremely grateful for your comments. It is normal practice to open the minibar on request, but as you say this was not done after your request. We will certainly look into this and offer our sincere apology. Should you decide to... More 

Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

Had a pleasant stay. The hotel is well located, very close to a few more expensive hotels, and Galle sea front which was a nice place for a walk. The room was fine - no view but the restaurant and bar on the top floor had a good view and it was nice to sit out. Dinner included in our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager c, Owner at Colombo City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. According to our experience, guests only write if they had a bad experience on their visit and many do not bother to write if they were satisfied. We are extremely grateful to you for having done that, and look forward to welcoming you back on your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question