We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 Colombo accommodations

YMCA Tourist Hostel

39, Bristol Street, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
YMCA Tourist Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    5
    4
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
8
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were looking for a hotel for one night, located near the railway station. Found this hotel. I think its good for one night, we had a double room with shared bathroom for a good price. You got wifi there, theres also a restaurant with selfservice. Many officeworkers go and have their lunch there. As a tip: bring your own... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jaffna, Sri Lanka
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Budget Accommodation In Colombo, dormitory rooms are decent , bedding is good condition, however there is lot of noise coming from the main road due to late night buses and trucks.. Bathrooms not very nice, but are satisfactory. The attached restaurant is providing good meals in clean and sober environment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Pelhamj, Media Co-ordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

This person has mentioned the fact that the bathrooms are not clean but let me say that the bathrooms were recently refurbished and upgraded. We will submit a photo for your perusal. More

Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The rooms are overpriced but given that Sri Lanka is in general expensive, they aren't so bad. It is nearby Colombo Fort and definitely better than the other lodgings available near the Fort area. There are no attached bathrooms so if your room is a little on the farther side, you'll have to walk. The flooring is all wooden, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pelhamj, Media Co-ordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

We have posted about 7 pictures of the recently refurbished bathrooms. There is a concerted effort to disgrace the YMCA when the reports and comments we get are quite to the contrary. I will post some of them. Dear YMCA, such a nice place and good people working there. Good atmospher. We were happy to stay there. Best regards -Julie... More

Bangalore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We reached Colombo around 10 PM and didnt have time to find any other places to stay so we reached the YMCA to book a room. Its being refurbished but has some rooms open currently. We took a triple room which was essentially one double room with the balcony converted into another room. The converted room had no fan and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pelhamj, Media Co-ordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

The YMCA is used as a central point for anyone. When suggesting a location on the website they always refer to a place in relation to the YMCA. That's how famous it is More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean although they gave me first a room that was smelly of insecticide but they didn't make any troubles to change it (1550 rupees for a single). Shared bathrooms should be cleaned more often and thorougly but they are OK. Staff is friendly. Location is great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pelhamj, Media Coordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Of course it is a great location and it is good for more than two nights. The rooms have been refurbished and the high class rooms are akin to a star class hotel and at a much lower price. More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I arrived here with my Dutch friend late one rainy afternoon. the entrance was dark and frightened young children. the price seemed high but we agreed because there was no other choice. the dark hallways smelt of noodles and sweat as we walked its corridors. we enetered the murder scene oops i meant our bedroom. i began to weep from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pelhamj, Media Coordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

YMCA has refurbished its rooms. Come and see them now Accomodation Room A 12: One of the two family rooms upgraded to luxury star class. Luxury at the Colombo Y-Air conditioned/Fan. Luxury Bed and mattress. Special pillows and special bed sheets, pillow cases and bed cover. In addition there is a clock, Towel rack, writing table and teak wardrobe. There... More

london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

For the price I wasn't expecting marvels, but I did expect them to keep their word. Due to arriving at 5 am and having and midnight flight, all I wanted was a bed, somewhere to leave my bag during the day, and to be able to shower before catching my flight. I was assured over the phone when booking, on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Pelhamj, Media Co-ordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

The Colombo YMCA has its own rules governing those who occupy rooms. This is true of any hotel or hostel. It is rather silly for a guest to check out of his room and come later and expect to occupy the same room and have a shower. We believe sensible people with a sound mind will judge those who write... More

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Colombo YMCA is terrible. We asked the manager for dorm rooms because we thought the prices were triple the amount that was given in the Lonely planet. When he said all the dorms were booked we got a really bad double room, without bathroom or any decoration. When we said we thought it was to high en the Lonely planet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pelhamj, Media Co-ordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

It does seem that an organised group of people with ulterior motives, are bent on tarnishing the image and reputation of the YMCA by making frivolous accusations and feeding inaccurate information on Trip Advisor. As a matter of policy, the YMCA caters to everybody, both rich and poor. Where accommodation is concerned there is a wide range of rooms with... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Dirty floor and bed with matresse black and green, crawling coackroaches, smelly, absolutely horrible. Bathroom probably was never cleaned. Ah and they also asked if we were christian (????) Worst place we have ever been to, ever. Ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Massive bed bugs, high prices contrary to the lonely planets guide (2,500 - 4,000 rp), dismal service, upfront payment required, 100 rp membership fee additional, window's un-lockable, female showers viewable from men's change room. We likened it to what we thought a 50's prison cell would be although it is in a convenient location to the train station, airport bus,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to YMCA Tourist Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YMCA Tourist Hostel

Also Known As:
Ymca Tourist Hotel Colombo
Ymca Tourist Hotel
Address: 39, Bristol Street, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Colombo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 48 Specialty lodging in Colombo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YMCA Tourist Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added YMCA Tourist Hostel to your Saves list