We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 77 Colombo B&Bs / inns

The Havelock Place Bungalow

Save Saved
You added The Havelock Place Bungalow to your Saves list
6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
The Havelock Place Bungalow
Ranked #13 of 77 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    63
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
39
89
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (193)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you like glitzy marble clad shiny international hotels then the Haverlock may not be the place for you. But - you if you want Authentic, sophisticated Colombo, a touch of colonial but no slavish pastiche - this could be the place for you. Oh and also the food is just wonderful. I really am hesitant to write this review... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Havelock place is a really great 'mid-range' option for Colombo. It's a charming guesthouse with clean and comfortable rooms. As the previous reviews it feels like a little oasis and the pool was lovely to swim in. The breakfast was lovely but you can probably do better to eat out for dinner. The location is a little random but we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We stayed in Havelock Place Bungalow for 1 night on our way back from Kandy, before we left to Hikkaduwa. The booking experience was v.nice, especially with Vanessa, who was accommodative about our changes in the plans. She gave excellent suggestions on travel options to Kandy by Expo Rail. Apart from that, the property itself is charming, with a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I had hoped I would not have to write this review but Havelock insisted in taking US $326 to honor their no refund policy. In February, my wife and I planned a trip to Sri Lanka and we booked 2 nights at Havelock upon arrival into Columbo. While transiting through Bangkok, my wife's insulin pump failed and we ended up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms very comfortable. The food is ambitious and the menu looks fantastic but the quality doesn't live up to the expectations (mediocre quality of ingredients and poor result). For this reason, it's absolutely overpriced for the quality it delivers, at the same price you can have great food in Colombo (they should either hire... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy the meal and I am surprised as we have many people coming from out to our restaurant.We regret that as a matter of policy we do not offer the next days breakfast on the previous day to guests who arrive way before the check in time (which is made known to guests when... More

London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at some larger hotels in Colombo city, this small home from home was far more pleasant and better value. A little off the beaten track but tuk tuk taxis are everywhere. Colonial style and grand rooms with friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed here on the front and back end of our Sri Lankan adventure. The family owners and staff were gracious, attentive and helpful without overly fawning on you. They arranged a fantastic driver to take 6 us to Galle on the South Coast at price of 9000 rupees (£45). The place has the charm and decor of what was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Just loved it here. It's all about the atmosphere. Call me Ernestine Hemingway and let me move in and write my novel. The room I had was generously sized. There was a desk area and a separate sitting area also a private courtyard. Just remember to bring the correct power adaptor and a power strip. The Wifi worked brilliantly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

An oasis, literally, from the hectic pace of the Colombo streets. Rooms are quiet and cool; we had an outdoor bathroom with a view straight into the crown of a palm tree! All meals are taken in a shaded courtyard in the front garden - food quality is excellent and setting a suitable accompaniment. Pool is just big enough to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for a total of 3 nights at Havelock Place. It is an oasis amongst the busyness of Colombo, a home away from home, not a hotel. We dined here on one occasion and the food was fantastic, whether you go for the Sri Lankan or 'western' fare. Same goes for breakfast. Wished we could have stayed longer. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Havelock Place Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (28)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay