We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 76 Colombo B&Bs / inns

The Havelock Place Bungalow

Save Saved
You added The Havelock Place Bungalow to your Saves list
6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (189)
  • Photos (76)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (31)
  • Location
  • More
The Havelock Place Bungalow
Ranked #14 of 76 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    61
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
39
86
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms very comfortable. The food is ambitious and the menu looks fantastic but the quality doesn't live up to the expectations (mediocre quality of ingredients and poor result). For this reason, it's absolutely overpriced for the quality it delivers, at the same price you can have great food in Colombo (they should either hire... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy the meal and I am surprised as we have many people coming from out to our restaurant.We regret that as a matter of policy we do not offer the next days breakfast on the previous day to guests who arrive way before the check in time (which is made known to guests when... More

London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Having stayed at some larger hotels in Colombo city, this small home from home was far more pleasant and better value. A little off the beaten track but tuk tuk taxis are everywhere. Colonial style and grand rooms with friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on the front and back end of our Sri Lankan adventure. The family owners and staff were gracious, attentive and helpful without overly fawning on you. They arranged a fantastic driver to take 6 us to Galle on the South Coast at price of 9000 rupees (£45). The place has the charm and decor of what was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just loved it here. It's all about the atmosphere. Call me Ernestine Hemingway and let me move in and write my novel. The room I had was generously sized. There was a desk area and a separate sitting area also a private courtyard. Just remember to bring the correct power adaptor and a power strip. The Wifi worked brilliantly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An oasis, literally, from the hectic pace of the Colombo streets. Rooms are quiet and cool; we had an outdoor bathroom with a view straight into the crown of a palm tree! All meals are taken in a shaded courtyard in the front garden - food quality is excellent and setting a suitable accompaniment. Pool is just big enough to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for a total of 3 nights at Havelock Place. It is an oasis amongst the busyness of Colombo, a home away from home, not a hotel. We dined here on one occasion and the food was fantastic, whether you go for the Sri Lankan or 'western' fare. Same goes for breakfast. Wished we could have stayed longer. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Havelock Place Bungalow was suggested by a friend and I stayed there on a business trip recently. As with the typical high standard of Sri Lankan hospitality, the Bungalow does not disappoint at all. It is not a full service hotel and therefore, one should not expect too much in terms of room service or concierge. What you get is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for just one night in November 2013 as the hotel we initially booked was being utilised for the CHOGM. It was surprising to see this pretty little green space very close to a dusty and very busy main road. There wasn't much to see around the hotel if you fancy a walk, however, the hotel grounds are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cape Town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This charming hotel is a tranquil escape from the hubbub of Columbo city centre. The rooms are traditional and bathrooms modern and connected through wonderful courtyards and water pools. Friendly helpful staff and generous home-feel cooked breakfast complete the hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I spent four nights on a business trip in April-May 2014 in this nice old house. Rooms are simple, but very charming and clean. The small hotel in a quite garden has everything you need and more: a good restaurant, a friendly and helpful staff and a fancy pool.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Havelock Place Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Havelock Place Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (28)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Colombo with
any amenities

Amenities

Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Havelock Place Bungalow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

;