We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 80 Colombo B&Bs / inns

The Havelock Place Bungalow

Save
You added The Havelock Place Bungalow to your Saves list
6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Havelock Place Bungalow
Ranked #15 of 80 Colombo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    64
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
40
91
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Twizel, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I loved this place! Nestled and quiet, just off a busy road it does feel like a little haven of greenery and tranquility. The decor is cool and unpretentious with a brilliant courtyard for breakfast or evening dining. Having a small number of rooms enables the whole experience to be personal and Vanessa was brilliant at recommending places to go... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

In an unassuming location, as soon as you step inside the Havelock Place Bungalow you feel far away from the hustle and bustle of the city. We only stayed 2 nights but would have happily stayed longer. The breakfast was delicious and the decor was simple and charming. There is a small pool which we sadly couldn't use as our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

My girlfriend and I recently spent 6 nights at Havelock and it's hard to say what impressed us most, we had the most wonderful time. The staff were so respectful of our privacy but still very personable and friendly. They couldn't have been more helpful, especially Vanessa who went out of her way to make things as easy as possible... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

Tastefully decorated rooms, wonderful breakfeast fresh and homemade; a nice little pool to cool down after a hot day and before having dinner in the garden restaurant. Worth every Rupie, for us - and we travel a lot - a perfect place, Wehre you feel at home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

If you like glitzy marble clad shiny international hotels then the Haverlock may not be the place for you. But - you if you want Authentic, sophisticated Colombo, a touch of colonial but no slavish pastiche - this could be the place for you. Oh and also the food is just wonderful. I really am hesitant to write this review... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Havelock place is a really great 'mid-range' option for Colombo. It's a charming guesthouse with clean and comfortable rooms. As the previous reviews it feels like a little oasis and the pool was lovely to swim in. The breakfast was lovely but you can probably do better to eat out for dinner. The location is a little random but we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We stayed in Havelock Place Bungalow for 1 night on our way back from Kandy, before we left to Hikkaduwa. The booking experience was v.nice, especially with Vanessa, who was accommodative about our changes in the plans. She gave excellent suggestions on travel options to Kandy by Expo Rail. Apart from that, the property itself is charming, with a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I had hoped I would not have to write this review but Havelock insisted in taking US $326 to honor their no refund policy. In February, my wife and I planned a trip to Sri Lanka and we booked 2 nights at Havelock upon arrival into Columbo. While transiting through Bangkok, my wife's insulin pump failed and we ended up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the rooms very comfortable. The food is ambitious and the menu looks fantastic but the quality doesn't live up to the expectations (mediocre quality of ingredients and poor result). For this reason, it's absolutely overpriced for the quality it delivers, at the same price you can have great food in Colombo (they should either hire... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
havelockplacebungalo, Owner at The Havelock Place Bungalow, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy the meal and I am surprised as we have many people coming from out to our restaurant.We regret that as a matter of policy we do not offer the next days breakfast on the previous day to guests who arrive way before the check in time (which is made known to guests when... More 

London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at some larger hotels in Colombo city, this small home from home was far more pleasant and better value. A little off the beaten track but tuk tuk taxis are everywhere. Colonial style and grand rooms with friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Havelock Place Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Havelock Place Bungalow

Address: 6, Havelock Place | Colombo 5, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Havelock Place Bungalow Hotel Colombo

76 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (28)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay