We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Oriental Hotel

2, York Street, Colombo 1, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Grand Oriental Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Colombo
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
SendilKumar Chennai (Madras), India
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    82
    121
    48
    42
See reviews for
44
99
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (312)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (127)
All months
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Old hotel with well maintained and it is in the heart of Colombo. Rooms are big and neat. Very limited Indian food they serve. We got a room with harbor view. We stayed for a day and had a good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
27 hotel reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel situated in the heart of Colombo Fort by the Colombo harbour is one of the very old hotels semi managed by the local government. The hotel is very old fashioned and needs a lot of upgrade. The staff is very friendly and nice and the food is ok. There used to be a big parking issue due to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our hotel during the stay in Colombo. The hotel is colonial style and it's old, but was charming and the staff were friendly and nice. The breakfast was very good complemented with the wonderful view of the harbor get you in a good mood!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guj
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

GBO, the Grand oriental Hotel, will take you back in to mid 1800 , a traditional hotel with all modern facilities , best part is , its restaurant facing harbor, neat . clean place to stay . good breakfast, middle in the town of Colombo, friendly staff, with hi speed wifi which is rare in such hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our tour operator arranged accommodation in Grand Orinetal on last day of our Srilankan trip- on April 16th.Hotel was an old military barrack converted to a 3 star level hotel.Hotel is known as GOH. Room is neat.No coffee maker and ironing board in the room ,but they provided after a call.Hotel is in the heart of the city,safe place- near... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I thought this place was going to be expensive. We took the lift to the fourth floor restaurant just for the view over the harbour. The luncheon buffet was on. Ok it was one of the more expensive meals we had in Sri Lanka at £8 a head. yes, about 10 euros. Definitely the best food experience in Sri Lanka... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gurgaon, India
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

I was there from 11th March 2015 for a week. I could feel that there is lack of security & services. Some body has stolen my money from my room. I kept it in my laptop bag. When I complain to management, the reply was,,, you have to take care of your valuables. No locker available in the room. So... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oshantha W, Front Office Manager at Grand Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay and experience with us. However we wish to inform the management position. We refer to your comment that you have lost money from your lap top. During your stay you did not complain, only at the time of your departure/check out you mentioned one week... More 

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Pune, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

This is an old Dame of the Colombo hotel world that last had a facelift sometime in the 80's judging by the colorful bathroom furniture. The Hotel seem to be right on the docks and it is but also at the end of the CBD of Colombo so there is a nice walking tour you can do from here. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Stayed here one night to be near the train station in the morning (Room 335). Wasn't worth the convenience... Room smelled of old cigarette smoke, lots of black mould on the shower head and cubicle and a large pane of glass above the door that let in bright light from the corridor illuminating our room all night. The Hotel itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We popped in for a drink on the roof-top bar/balcony as it has a good view over the harbour. We had a nice lime soda and the balcony to ourselves - it was a lovely little break from all the walking around hot Colombo.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay