We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clock Inn Colombo

2.5 of 5 457 Galle Road | Colombo 03, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clock Inn Colombo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clock Inn Colombo
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    70
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
38
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an average hostel. Rooms are rather small, location is ok, breakfast is basic. We changed our double-room three times since some rooms are really really moldy! Good hostels and guesthouses in Colombo seem to be quite rare, however, I'm not sure whether I would recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The dorms had air conditioning and were clean, containing bunk beds and lockers. The service was friendly. Location good, right across from the Barefoot Colombo. Breakfast was adequate and the the prices fair.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wurzburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed the last night in Clock Inn. We found it expensive (about 6000 LKS for two people) but Colombo is generally more expensive than the rest of Sri Lanka. The dorms were clean, as were the bathrooms (except that I saw a dead cockroach in one of the toilets). Nevertheless, the receptionists are very friendly and helpful and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Our dorm rooms are priced at LKR 1600 to LKR 1950 per bed. That would add up to LKR 3900 for 2 persons including breakfast.We went though your reservation records, you wanted the whole dorm room to yourself as our Private Rooms were fully booked. Even though you were 2 persons,... More

Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, very modern and clean hostel. The staff were very friendly, breakfast included was great with sausages and omelettes cooked fresh. Large chill out area with big kitchen. The hostel was cleaned constantly toilets cleaned 3-4 times a day, wifi was fast. What more could you ask for? Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your 5 Star Review! We are delighted to hear of your positive experience at Clock Inn Colombo. We hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again in the future! Happy Travels! More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived very late from the Airport and found a taxi for approx. 30€. When we got there everything was clean and nice. The Hostel had everything we needed including a nice recommendation for a restaurant. We all slept quite nicely and left the next morning. All in all we were satisfied but it was nothing outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your 4 Star Review! We are very glad to hear that you had a comfortable and positive experience at Clock Inn Colombo. We hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka and hope that you get the opportunity to visit us again soon! Happy Travels! More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No free wifi = low rating Guests are given only 100 MB of free wifi. After reaching the quota, guests must pay 200 or 400 rupees for additional Internet service. Don't use this hostel if you need the Internet to book tickets, plan your trip or get in touch with friends in the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are extremely sorry to hear of your negative experience at Clock Inn Colombo. We are aware of the issues that we are facing with the internet and its limits. We have now changed this limit and are offering 100% free internet to all of our guests. Your feedback is important... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful, and the rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Good location and nice communal area. The doors to the bedrooms didn't lock, we asked at reception and they said this is the way it is meant to be. There are big study lockers to put your stuff in and you cannot enter the corridor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The doors of the dorm rooms remain unlocked, mainly due to security reasons. We have mixed dorm rooms of 4 to 6 persons in each room and a lock would be unnecessary for a guest to go in and... More

Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Enjoyed my stay at the Clockinn during my SL visit. This place is very clean and the staff are nice. Great Breakfast as well. Wish they have two water bottles per room. Internet is not so fast inside the rooms. Location is in the middle of Colombo so liked it. Very good price for $50/night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your 5 Star Review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Clock Inn Colombo. We have been facing a few issues with the internet over the last week and we have worked to rectify it. We now offer very fast internet and it is 100% free to all of our... More

Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

First, the room is fine, with a dirty floor. The location is fine. Nothing special about either. And for $45 a night in Sri Lanka, it was barely worth it. We're usually much happier in cheaper digs and the extra money left us feeling flat. I'm writing to make sure everybody knows their "free Internet" is capped at 100MB per... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are extremely sorry to hear of your negative experience at Clock Inn Colombo. I assure you that our Private Rooms at $45 are the cheapest in this area. We do have the option of our shared Dorm Rooms that start from $10, which may have been a cheaper option. That... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Big thank you to the reception staff for helping/ putting up with my lost baggage drama - they managed to put me through to the airport several times and let me use their phone as mine has died. Location is good for site seeing and the very lovely Barefoot is across the road and gallery cafe is behind it -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hassan R, Owner at Clock Inn Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your 5 Star Review! We are absolutely delighted to hear of your positive experience at Clock Inn Colombo. It is our duty to ensure that our guests are as comfortable as possible. We are glad that our team helped you with your baggage trouble. We hope that you had a great holiday in Sri Lanka... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clock Inn Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clock Inn Colombo

Address: 457 Galle Road | Colombo 03, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clock Inn Colombo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clock Inn Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay