We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
263/6 Galle Road | Kollupitiya, Colombo 03, Colombo Colombo 03, Sri Lanka
Special Rate
Book direct 4 best prices
Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    68
    49
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
69
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (143)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (23)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

My friend and I stayed at Colombo Haven at the end of April, and it was a wonderful place!! The owners are lovely and welcoming people, and the Sri Lankan breakfast here was the best we had during our month-long trip!! Our room was really clean, comfortable and spacious, with a little terrace as well! The owners arranged a taxi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

I stayed at Colombo Haven May 20- May 29 and I can not say enough great things about it and about its hosts John and Shyamali! John and Shyamali were so welcoming when I first arrived having never been to Colombo or even to SL for that matter. They instantly made me feel at home and so comfortable. Their enthusiasm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Loved every minute of my stay at Colombo Haven. I spent nearly all of my stay in Sri Lanka here, making only day trips to as far as I could go so that I could come back to my extremely comfortable room at the top of the stairs - the Margossa - and my very helpful and gracious hosts, John... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Franz08, First of all, thank you so very much for staying with us for all your days in Sri Lanka. Also, for a very detailed and heartfelt review about your experience with us. We greatly appreciate both. Hospitality is truly our heritage and I am so glad that my manager John and his wife showed that to you in... More 

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

We stayed at Colombo haven from the beginning of January until the middle of March, while working as volunteers in Colombo. Since we have stayed at the haven for almost three months we have got a good picture of how the place is. We would like to start of with the good things: - nice big room with a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Sofie, Though very disappointed to hear some of your complaints, we still appreciate guests providing us reviews. If there is any truth to any of your complaints, we will look into it. Below is my feedback on some of your complaints for the benefit of Trip Advisor guests. I would be sending you a personal email as well. I... More 

Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

We stayed at Colombo haven only 1 night, we are afraid didn't have enough time to spend but we had a great time there. John was very helpful about places and where to go for all we wanted to do and gave us ideas for our short time in CMB. The room was clean, very comfortable bed. we didn't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us and also for your kind review. Glad to hear that you had a good stay and look forward to coming back and staying with us again. It was our pleasure hosting you and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again as well. See you again soon.... Blessings, Jonathan (owner) More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I must begin by thanking John and his family, all of whom work at Colombo Haven! You were all fantastic and made our stay so special and easy. Me and my girlfriend have travelled extensively and have never experienced such hospitality and generosity as we did from all of you!!! We stayed at Colombo Haven twice, at the beginning and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Greg, Thank you so very much for such a fantastic raving and detailed review of our place and our services. My manager John and wife and the others who work here are very happy to have been able to serve you to this extend and get such an appreciation from you. It was definitely our pleasure hosting you and... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Extremely friendly and welcoming staff. Very comfortable bed and spacious room. We didn't have a hot water but you don't really need it in hot Colombo. The best breakfast that we had in Sri Lanka! Thank you for your hospitality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Dominika, Thanks for staying with us and also for your kind review. Sorry to hear that you didn't have hot water. We believe we did have enough during your stay, but since we use solar hot water tanks backed up with electric heaters, and the tank is on the roof, sometimes it takes a bit of time to come... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We arrived at the Colombo haven slightly ragged after a 6 hour journey round the island, but the welcome from the manager, John, instantly made us feel relaxed and at home. The room was clean and quite big, although the view wasn't great - just a building site next door. There's some nice unusual touches, like a radio in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us as well as your detailed review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (especially our breakfast:)! )and that my manager John and team were very helpful during your stay. We are also very happy that you would be coming back and staying with us. We greatly look... More 

San Diego
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

stayed for two nights at the Colombo Haven when we first got to Colombo. The place is well located and seems clean. We stayed in the upstairs room which has a fun "disco shower". john's wife prepared the best breakfast in Sri Lanka. John is very knowledgeable about where to go and what to do in Sri Lanka and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your review . Though very disappointed to hear about the misunderstandings with your transport pricing, we appreciate your time and effort to provide us a balanced review. First of all, as the owner of the B&B, I am happy about your experience with your stay at the Haven, but no comfort that your overall experience wasn't... More 

Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The couple that looks after the establishment are the sweetest and upgraded the room when the rooftop floor was available. There was construction work going on all the time right behind the hotel and it was very noisy right from the morning. John, however, made sure they stopped by 10 or 11 at night. But that should be over by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jon_kr, Owner at Colombo Haven Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Dear Guest bhondagaji, Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review about your stay with us. As you rightly pointed out, the construction you were talking about when you stayed with us last year is all done and is definitely much quieter now. We appreciate you staying with us and also recommending and willing to come back to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.5 mi away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#12 of 39 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#11 of 39 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#5 of 39 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.8 mi away
The Ocean Colombo
The Ocean Colombo
#17 of 39 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities