We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Galle Face Hotel Colombo

Hotel website
No. 2, Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Special Deal
*Dinner for two on us
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,503 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    432
    601
    273
    113
    84
See reviews for
278
628
114
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1503)
  • Mar-May only
    (414)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (358)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (287)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (444)
All months
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a magnificent colonial building very well located in Colombo near Galle Face and seafront views. Excellent service and excellent buffet for dinner in front of the sea. It was a pity because the hotel was under renovation in some areas during our stay, in my opinion these kind of hotels, with very high price, should either close during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Level Contributor
209 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This stunning building, built in 1864, is one of the last few Colonial hotels still operating in the region. Mercifully, the owners decided to maintain the character of the hotel both outside and inside. The creaking steps, cosy library, elegant corridors, nooks and crannies everywhere all add to the ambiance of the place. There is a lot of history here.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked and paid for a superior room for 3 nights and ended up staying for 4 nights. The initial room looked very nice-but the noise from the building/wing adjacent made sleep impossible. We requested a room change, but this did not happen for three nights. The room we were eventually given was not a superior room but was charged... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It had been 13 years since we were at Galle Face Hotel and were about to return; it is the sort of place that stays with you. We loved it then, however shabby it had become; how would we find it now? We were rather apprehensive as we were aware that it had been undergoing extensive renovations. What to report?... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful evening at this lovely colonial hotel. The hotel is located in the heart of the city on the coast of the Indian Ocean. We joined our friends for a drink on our last day in Colombo and we weren't disappointed! Although the hotel had some renovation going on, the terrace bar was very inviting and relaxing,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights with a family of six in August'15 here. Could not have stumbled upon a better way to start and end our Sri Lanka holiday. The property is quietly mesmerising. Felt 5-star in every respect - location just by the ocean was breathtaking (in my personal opinion was better than Taj Samudra since u r right on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AntonyGLK, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

How wonderful to read your review! Thank you very much! Your comments have been shared among the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you to the Galle Face Hotel once more. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager More 

Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

4 and 5 star hotels in Colombo are generally overpriced in my view. So this is not unique to this hotel only. The rooms are a bit small and noise from people upstairs can be heard from time to time. This is however compensated by the friendly staff and the location of the hotel. This is probably the nearest hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AntonyGLK, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear about the disturbances from the housekeeping as well as the delay in the check-in process, which is not a common issue. It will be looked into and rectified. We look forward to your visit once the restorations of the hotel are complete. Yours sincerely, Antony G. Paton General Manager More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I stayed at Galle Face for one night to soak up the colonial atmosphere before flying back to Europe. The hotel definitely has that special dignified atmosphere with plush carpets, antiques and dedicated staff. However, we unfortunately could not get the full package given that the hotel was under renovation when we stayed there in June. Surely,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AntonyGLK, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so pleased to learn that despite the level of restoration works that took place during your visit, you still had an enjoyable stay. At present however there are no such visible construction works being carried out as the restorations are nearing completion. Guests also have the ability to enjoy refreshing beverages at The... More 

Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for our first night in Sri Lanka and it was perfect - lovely colonial hotel, friendly staff and a great location for sipping cocktails by the poolside bar as the sun sets! The main restaurant was closed but the food at the bar was lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I like staying at this hotel for it's location . Some rooms do have the very musty smell and the humidity doesn't help with it much. The internet speed isn't the best and the service matches it. It does take an effort to get their attention and there have been times when you end up waiting a long time before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AntonyGLK, General Manager at Galle Face Hotel Colombo, responded to this review

Wow ! You stayed last in February ? Since then, we have put all our Team Members through extensive training not only in service matters but also in improving mindset. We have changed all our food offerings since our new Executive Chef arrived late January. We have re opened most of the hotel after extensive Restorations. And, I am happy... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

873 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (856)
Viewed
Room/suite (139)
Viewed
Dining (58)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (85)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (261)
Viewed
View from room (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (66)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (189)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
2.3 mi away
Casa Colombo
Casa Colombo
#2 of 40 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 stars 772 reviews
2.7 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#6 of 40 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
1.7 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#4 of 40 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#7 of 40 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay