We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dreamtime Eco-Retreat

Travelers' Choice award winner
Ban Hom village | 25km upriver from Vientiane, Vientiane 12345, Laos
Dreamtime Eco-Retreat
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    4
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
10
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a great place to stay for a few nights. Really calm and peaceful. The food was incredible (get the buffalo burger). As a solo female traveler, I only have one complaint, but it's a big one. On Sunday, when Michelle went to Vientiane for work, Mike asked me if I liked massages. I replied yes, thinking I could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mike B, Owner at Dreamtime Eco-Retreat, responded to this review

Hello shoshana.. Thank you letting us know how you feel and I'm also very sorry you felt uncomfortable in dreamtime. Mike had been offering free massage to pretty much every guest when he had free time and I know he didn't have any intention to make you feel that way. Take care Michelle . Hi shoshana I'm very sorry to... More 

Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dreamtime is a little off the beaten track which makes it a perfect place for an eco-retreat. I love the design of the common lunch area it is quirky and fun. If you are looking to sample a little piece of paradise this is the place. If you go in wet season there is a gorgeous creek/river to swim in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Where to start? Beautiful nature, wonderful people, amazing food, cutest cats, nice bamboo huts - it was just magical. The owners Mike and Michelle are lovely hosts and people, good cooks and always there for every traveller finding their way to Dreamtime! There is no electricity and Wifi which is incredibly relaxing and gives you the chance to just concentrate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

If you love nature and are not looking for resort style luxuries, Dreamtime is a great place to enjoy some quiet time and indulge yourself with the great food from their menu. Doesn't matter which meal you pick; it is all great. And they even serve wine in the middle of the forest! (This is pretty rare in Laos ;-))... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ttrbt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

although not travelling with expectations and being used to simple accomodation in asia and in nature, after reading many of the good reviews we (my girlfriend and me) were disappointed about the condition of this so called "retreat". according to our impression, the place is dirty and not taken care of well, not well maintained (shower/toilet place) nor specifically beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
mike B, Owner at Dreamtime Eco-Retreat, responded to this review

I am very  sad for you that dreamtime did not live to your expectations And that your stay with us was soooo TERRIBLE, But then you were after a source of water and still decided to come after we specifically told you before you came that our river was dry at this time of year. And like you told me... More 

Liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

A beautiful, peaceful pitstop away from the city. Mike and Michelle were perfect hostes. Very welcoming. I had my own private hut in the forest. There are swimming areas and the surroundings are beautiful. The food was AMAZING!! Candlelit dinners as there is no electricity. There were lots of bugs but hey,it was in the forest. I would highly recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quepos, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Dreamtime is off the beaten path in it's own little secluded slice of paradise. It's where you can truly relax and connect with nature without modern technology (not even electricity) interfering with your stay. The food is amazing with generous portions, the bungalows are all spread out and very secluded, and the creek and waterfalls with the temperate water was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

if u want to stay in a perfect spot in the middle of the jungle that's the place for you. no need for electricity or wifi.. just sit near the waterfall and watch the beautiful surrounding you or at the Restaurant and eat the best burger in laos! mike and Michel are amazing hosters and they made my last days... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pai, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Ready to connected back with nature, leave the world out side? This is the place for you :) All the rooms are far enough from each other so you feel all by your self in nature, and if you do want to see everyone, just go to the main area, where you will also be served great food. Thank you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vientiane, Laos
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

It was truly my first experience in anything remotely similar to an eco-retreat but I was charmed as soon as I made it there ! Mike and Michelle are great hosts and will make sure you enjoy your stay. The lounge is a great place to lay down, relax and read with the other guests. The food was simply amazing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities