We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King Hotel

Valikhanova st., 7, Astana 010000, Kazakhstan
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
King Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
King Hotel
Share an Experience

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    36
    13
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
5
7
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Mosca, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

King Hotel will not impress its client for his rooms, receptions or faciliteis. This big building in the center of "old" town, needs for shure some renovation, especially in the rooms. They are quite big, but with old fashioned furniture, bathroom fixture, moquette and orrible wall paper, that confer them a sad atmosphere. Receptions and common areas are instead positive.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
King H, Генеральный директор at King Hotel, responded to this review
Google Translation

Уважаемый Гость, Большое Вам спасибо за отзыв о нашем отеле. Мы благодарны Вам за оставленный отзыв о пребывании в нашем... More 

St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015 via mobile

Bad heating and shower was cold also. The hot water is not stable, so you may freeze or burn yourself every 10 sec. Room decoration is quite bad and hygene is poor. Breakfast was one of the worst i have seen anywhere. I think Astana deserves better hotels than that...

Was this review helpful? Yes
King H, Управляющий at King Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, W e are deeply sorry that you had such a negative experience with us. However, let me explain some points. We have central heating system, so it is warm inside the room but you could also request a radiator to your room to make it even warmer. As for the shower, you could inform our reception and they... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

The hotel is very centrally situated. It was very cold when I arrived (late January/early February) with temperatures of about 25 degrees below freezing. The hotel is well heated, the staff very polite and the food great. There is a very bueutiful lounge to relax, and rooms spacious. I would definitely recommend to someone, or preferably return there myself. Keep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
King H, Управляющий at King Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Kinuthia, Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are very happy that you liked the hotel. Please do let us know when you return and we will do our best to ensure you pleasant stay with us. Warmest regards, Kamelia D. Hotel Manager More 

Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel September 23-27, 2014. Room was really spacious, but very cold as wind was going through the windows. Room was very clean. Smells Soviet spirit everywhere. Downstairs in the lobby girls waiting to be ordered. Location is really good. Taxi not expensive. Room service is pretty good, I ordered lamb one day, was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
King H, Управляющий at King Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor, we are glad that you had a positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest regards, Kamelia D. Hotel Manager More 

Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Big room with very spacious bathroom. Looking like 30 years ago. Breakfast buffet is o. k. It was possible to order fried eggs. Room is clean and warm(-25 degrees outside). They made the checkin for a very early flight and it was possible to have a breakfast at 4am.

Was this review helpful? Yes
King H, Управляющий at King Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review us and we are very happy that you liked our hotel, room and breakfast. Please do let us know when you return and we will do our best to ensure your next stay with us is as pleasant. Warmest regards, Kamelia D. Hotel Manager More 

New York, NY
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

I arrived early after a train ride from Almaty and was allowed to check in early. The check in was friendly and English speaking. I was given a huge room with terrace on the top floor. The rooms have a little foyer, a nice bathroom and a combined living room bedroom. The room was very clean and quiet. The breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
King H, Manager at King Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcome you in King Hotel Astana once again in the nearest future. Our employees will make sure to provide the finest personal service and facilities for you. Warmest Regards, Kamelia D. Hotel Manager More 

Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
69 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Although the hotel was opened 5 years ago, it successfully recreates the subtle atmosphere of the Soviet era. Rooms are large but impersonal, bathrooms are ok, Internet is fast (and free), breakfast is copious, though no egg bar, but the restaurant looks like a funeral parlour. There is only a limited service at the hotel: no change, no stamps, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

My time at the King Hotel in Astana was brief (less than 9 hours) due to onward travel plans so this review is based on first impressions however for me these are important. Check-in and confirming onward travel plans was a little fraught due to language issues and my room was in B-block which involved negotiating a couple of steps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
King H, Управляющий at King Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving such detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am very glad that during your short stay you chose our hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you in King Hotel Astana once again in the nearest future. We will improve our services to meet your expectations and hope you... More 

Trieste, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a convenient location downtown. The major pitfall is the furniture, but even the windows. The furniture should be renewed. The window frames in my room were not wind proof and the room was noisy for this reason. On the other side a appreciated the breakfast and even the room service. As another guest noticed, in the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
King H, Управляющий at King Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed our rooms, breakfast and room service. We have also noted your feedback with regards to our furniture. We are currently renewing our rooms and aim to complete this by the end of the year. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward... More 

Portland, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Seems like classic superficial elegance in a town that is growing faster than it can keep up with. It was clean, the staff were helpful and it is located in a good area of the right bank and old city. If you are looking to be closer to the newer construction stay somewhere else though it is a 10-15 minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
King H, Управляющий at King Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on TripAdvisor, we are glad that you had a positive experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warmest regards, Kamelia D. Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question