We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Billabong Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
5, Street 158, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Billabong Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Billabong Hotel
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    270
    77
    19
    10
See reviews for
124
206
90
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (611)
  • Mar-May only
    (167)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (143)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (126)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (175)
All months
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was big and spacey, however the bathroom reeked of urine and there was urine on the toilet seat, it had clearly not been cleaned from the previous guests. The wifi also didn't work at all during our whole stay. Air con worked, bed was comfy, breakfast was included with basic eggs and bacon and fruits. Overall it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bong1, General Manager at The Billabong Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Shaimaa J and thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm glad you mentioned that you chose our hotel based on our good reviews here so I understand you will realise this is not our usual standard of cleanliness. I'm not going to write any excuses for there are no excuses for an unclean toilet. I... More 

Rangiora, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our time staying here. Fantastic pool area to relax after being out all day. Nice and close to the markets and supermarket and only a $2 tuk tuk ride to the riverfront. Staff were very good, one of the girls looked after the kids when we went to the Killing fields etc one day. The rooms a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bong1, General Manager at The Billabong Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Janine010 and thank you for taking some time to post your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed yours stay and love to read about how happy you were with our service! Please come back again soon Regards, Janny More 

Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room had no cold water on our first day. It only had boiling hot water, so we could not use the bathroom. Toilet never flushed at all so we had to leave human waste in the toilet overnight. No discount was given for our inconvenience even though I burned my hand badly the first time I used the sink. Wi-Fi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bong1, General Manager at The Billabong Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Explore4545 Oslo, Norway and I hope you had a safe trip back to Malaysia. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review here. It seems that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. Rarely we have found that a 1 star review is posted by someone who has found nothing satisfaction in the hotel but I... More 

Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
83 hotel reviews
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well located hotel with great buffet breakfast, swimming pool and with free internet (from a PC aswell as free wifi connection). Some of the cheaper rooms are dark and a bit depressing but are still clean and well serviced with good air conditioning and a good selection of English cable TV channels. hot powerful showers and close to places to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bong1, General Manager at The Billabong Hotel, responded to this review

Hello hotelreview123 (very interesting profile name) and thank you so much for your 4 star review. It really is a great forum for guests to use. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. Very happy to accommodate so please come back soon! Regards, JAnny More 

uk
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A quiet, good value hotel in a good location within walking distance of the major sights of Phnom Penh. We stayed in a deluxe double which was clean and a good size. The restaurant menu offers a reasonable choice and bar prices are reasonable if you don't fancy venturing out at night. Staff were helpful in organising tours to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bong1, General Manager at The Billabong Hotel, responded to this review

Hello luckyeddys and thank you so much for posting your review! It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay yet we're sorry to hear about the robbery. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Janny More 

Sefton Park
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really handy location 15mins walk (max) to royal palace or wat phnom, supermarket couple of minutes walk away, couple of nice restaurants within walking distance or a short tuk tuk away. Pool is great after a day exploring the city. Room for the price (deluxe single) was very spacious, clean and great a/c. The only slight negative, breakfast pretty average... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bong1, General Manager at The Billabong Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Karen B, Thank you so much for your review. We are really happy to know that you like our room and the pool. First of all, I am sorry that our buffet breakfast is not up to your standard. We have a number of staff who can speak very good English: 5 receptionists, 8 waiters and waitresses. Our laundry,... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I found the hotel to be quiet and away from the noise, but only a 10/15 minute walk to the riverfront where there are plenty of restaurants- so a good location. The pool was clean and breakfast was a little limited but adequate. The room was clean and staff were able to book and help with any transport/tours I needed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bong1, General Manager at The Billabong Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Helen S and thank you for posting your review of our hotel. I am sorry about the aircondition was not cool enough. If we have known this problem, we would have upgraded you to the new room. So glad to hear you liked our bed and pillows . Please come back and visit again soon! Regards, janny More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great room, great shower, great service, great breakfast, great location, great pool, great cocktails, reasonable prices & it was nice & quiet! We found this to be a wonderful retreat after exploring hectic Phnom Penh & would recommend a stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bong1, General Manager at The Billabong Hotel, responded to this review

Hello KrissyB82 and thank you for posting your review of our hotel. So glad to hear you enjoyed yourself. Please come back and visit again soon! Regards, Janny More 

Greenford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel based on reviews that I read on Trip Advisor. I have not been disappointed. The hotel is on a quiet little street and only 10 minutes on a tuc tuc or 25 minute walk from the North of the market where I got off my bus from Ho Chi Minh City. The reception staff were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bong1, General Manager at The Billabong Hotel, responded to this review

Hello gitinchavda and thank you for posting your 5 star review of our hotel. So glad to hear you enjoyed yourself. Please come back and visit again soon! Regards, Janny More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights in a family room. Very spacious and clean and the pictures on the website do not exaggerate the size of the rooms. The pool was very welcome and large for a city property of this size. The restaurant meal we have there was excellent. When we left we took a taxi to the border with Thailand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bong1, General Manager at The Billabong Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Rob H and thank you so much for posting a 5 star review. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed every aspects of your stay and very happy to hear that you got your IPad back. Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back soon. Regards, Janny More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (189)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question