We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 265 Phnom Penh B&Bs / inns

Golden River Palace Guesthouse

2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   No.139, Street 13, Sangkat Phsa Kandal 1, Khan Daun Penh,, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Hotel amenities
Golden River Palace Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden River Palace Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ranked #77 of 265 Phnom Penh B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014
campbellThailand Pattaya, Thailand
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    27
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
5
18
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (62)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you're looking for a cheap stay and good location, this is definitely a good option. However, don't expect any service from this hotel. The owner (or manager) seemed friendly and helpful, he offered to change a bigger room for us instead of the original we booked, but he did not seem to know that we had booked a room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Once i get into the room, there was a strong musty, seems like no one has been cleaning it for a long period. There was not tissue paper in the room nor in the toilet, no mineral water in room as well. The people especially the manager was not friendly and very rude to us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

I have stayed here a few times now. Its not 5 star and nowhere close but i like it. The tea making facilities do not have tea and i am unsure when they clean the room.But at 15 usd a night which includes utilities i save 50 usd which i would normally spen anywhere else in asia. One weird note,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Pros: The owner (older male) was very nice and helped us get a tuk-tuk in the morning. Cons: See below. I hate to write bad reviews, but this is one that needs to be written. In our travels across SE Asia, for over 6 weeks this was the worst hotel that we stayed at. I would consider this a backpacker... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Landskrona, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at "Golden river palace guesthouse" in march 2014. We can recommend "Golden river palace guesthouse", mainly because its very good location but also cheap price and good service. clean rooms with basic standard, AC, TV and fridge.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed here for four nights during my visit in Phnom Penh. I stayed in a two-bed dorm which I paid $5 per night for. I think that's very good value regarding the standard and location. I shared the room with nice people, who I also hung out with during my time in the city. The staff is friendly and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very clean and quiet. Everything's working from hot water to fridge, air-con, tv, wifi plus location is very central; short walking distance to the national museum, the night market, the Mekong etc. Friendly staff as well. Will come back !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Good starting point to visit the city, at walking distance from the royal palace, the national museum and the central market. 500 meters from the riverside and very close to the nightclubs area too. Our room was clean but unfortunately without windows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I booked a room online only to arrive and find the door was made of clear glass and there was no curtain! The bathroom was really dirty as well so I asked for a refund but the manager wasn't interested as he already had my money. Terrible, and not what I needed after a 7 hour bus journey. Found a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kasibona D, Owner at Golden River Palace Guesthouse, responded to this review

Did not you stay in my dormitory room because of my room or Tuk Tuk driver? You cheated TUK TUK driver by not paying him any money. You stated that agoda advertising that our hotel offered free pick up. WHERE? Agoda and I myself clarify again and again that we don't provide free pick up. Dormitory bed costs you only... More

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The location, the staff and the space of the room are ok, but the rest...... The carpet in the room looks dirty, little carpets up on, to hide what? The 2 beds of room 201 were made up strange, the sheets looked like when you protect something from dust. So no decent made up beds. The shabby curtains hide a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Golden River Palace Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden River Palace Guesthouse

Address: No.139, Street 13, Sangkat Phsa Kandal 1, Khan Daun Penh,, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden River Palace Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Golden River Palace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Golden River Palace Guesthouse

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby