We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Hotel website
Hotel website
Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Special Offer
Cheapest To Book Direct
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Add Photo Write a Review

963 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    566
    267
    80
    33
    17
See reviews for
10
165
255
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (963)
  • Mar-May only
    (257)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (220)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (214)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (272)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is easily one of the best Hostels I've been to. not only is the location fantastic with clean rooms and the food is awesome with a combination of Cambodian and western foods, the atmosphere generated there by the staff is incomparable to anywhere else. they're all so friendly and full of life. the bar there is a great place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

One of our least favourite hostels in over 2 and a half months of traveling. While the dorm itself was fine and the bar was enjoyable the prices themselves were absolutely horrendous. It is terrible value for money and the entire mission seems to be to drain your bank account. It was without a doubt the highest priced hostel we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Heather, Thanks for your review. Your main and only concern was the prices of our food, let me address these issues for you. Firstly you sit in a restaurant, with AC, clean table cloths, you have people serving you and smiling, there is a lot to choose on an extensive menu under $5, our beers are $1, the staff... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the place to stay if you are looking for a fun, lively hostel. Mad Monkey hostel was one of our favourite places to stay in Cambodia (along with the chain in Siem Reap) the staff are more then friendly and the food is amazing! They gave us great advice on tourist attractions around the area and the night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

What a gem of a review! Good people have a good time here and you were a fantastic guest! Thanks again and we really hope you enjoy your trip! Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at Mad Monkey for two nights in June. The private room was amazing, really clean. The food was really good as well. And the staff was very welcoming and nice. Socially this is a perfect place, if you travel alone or with someone. Many young backpackers. There are things happening there every night, in the bar. The two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

We are very appreciative of your kind review! We do trust you will have an awesome time on your trip and we look forward to your return! Thanks again and dont be a stranger! Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at the MM hostel last week, easily one of the best hostels that I've stayed in throughout SE Asia. Very clean and comfortable rooms and it's in a great location. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There's two guys that have just started working there as well. Theres one from Australia called Dan and one from Germany called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We are looking forward to seeing you again! In 90% of cases its the guest that defines how much of a great time they have here and you were an awesome guest! Thanks so much - please do come back soon! Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I dont usually write reviews but i couldnt help myself!!! This mad monkey is incredible! such good staff and SUCH a good atmosphere! I literally cannot emphasize how good a time i had here. Seb and Dan runs this place SO well!!! They make you feel very welcome and treat you like they have known you for years! The beds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

We loved you! Come back soon! Thanks for your review its really kind of you - we just hope you carry on being an awesome person and have a fantastic trip around Asia! Cheers and come back soon! Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were Reccomened to stop here by the team at Top Banana and it was way more pricey compared their sister hotel in Phenom Penh. We booked one night In the double room and 1 night in the dorms (Never advised we were In the 14 bed dorm) we paid 32$ for two of us to stop here for two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - it really helps us and we always listen to our customer. All of our management team check this 2-3 times a day - thanks for the feedback and we are happy you loved it here. Thanks again! Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights and were immediately impressed with the very welcoming and friendly staff who kindly upgraded us from a shared to private bathroom double room as soon as we saw our room hadn't been cleaned and bed not made since the previous occupants left. The bar is great, has a chilled vibe in the early evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - We are pleased you had a blast is always good! Sometimes its the guest that ensures that they have a good time just as much as the staff and you were an awesome guest! Thanks again come back soon - we miss you! Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The dorm was cool, huge bed and huge lockers. There was an air conditioning unit, but it didn't work at all. If you are on a top bunk you will have an absolute nightmare, i was tossing and turning all night and ended up having to get out of bed at 6am because it was just too hot. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review, I am sorry you were caused to climb some stairs again to pay for your washing, like most hostels payment is in advance to avoid confusion with customers . It was a pleasure to have you stay here we hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. Thank you for staying at... More 

Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Free beer hours, rooftop bar, clean dorms and restrooms. There are private rooms available as well as 6+ person dorms. I would advise booking in advance locations, as it is normally full capacity. There are 4 four other Mad Monkey locations, so they're experienced in making the backpackers paradise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear Guest - I am so pleased you found time to write this awesome review - thanks again for staying here and we look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future we hope :-) Thank you for staying at our socially responsible hostel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

227 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (154)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (73)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay