We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Hotel website
Hotel website
Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Special Offer
Cheapest To Book Direct
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,030 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    609
    284
    85
    34
    18
See reviews for
10
174
272
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1030)
  • Mar-May only
    (257)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (287)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (214)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (272)
All months
Roscommon, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Like Mad Monkey Siem Reap, I had read so many good things about MM Phnom Penh and again it didn't disappoint! Friendly staff, comfy bed warm showers make this a great spot to stay! Also a great place to make new friends and chill out in the sunset bar! A special mention to Jaffa and Aurora and all the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Mad Monkey is as backpackers as you get. Strange cheesy artwork adorns the walls, the rooftop bar pumps out music until midnight, drunk guests have incoherent conversations in the hallways, Tuk-Tuks await you outside and the rooms are bare except for their basic bunks. But it does it well. Very well. It is a fun place, very clean, working WiFi,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is definitely a social hostel to party and meet other people. The bar is a great facility. The restaurant food is good but hugely overpriced. As is the dorm really, 7 dollars is a lot for your standard dorm. I stayed in the quiet one across the road but it still gets bright when the sun rises as there's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Thank you - you guys were awesome and we would love to see you again. Much love! Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we first arrived the man behind the desk took ages to serve us and was very rude when he did. We stayed in a private double room which just felt so dirty. The wet room flooded and just stank the whole time. They had a bar upstairs which provided entertainment every night and a good way to make friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, we are sorry that your room was not up to standard, we would have been happy to relocate you had you told us, you were in one of the hostels lowest cost rooms and a room that will be refurbished in the next few weeks, most customers are delighted with the rooms as... More 

Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'll try to keep this short. Here's what you need to know: 1) It's a party hostel, no doubt about it. Between checkins, the restaurant, and bar, this place stays pretty swamped with people. 2) It's clean. Can't stress this enough given how dirty some places in Cambodia can be. 3) Dorm rooms are sparse, but you get what you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

We loved having you here! You were perfect guests! Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was perfect! We didn't need to ask for anything, everything was provided and the service was fantastic. The beds were comfy, room was clean, food was pricey but well worth it, and the bar made the hostel incredibly social and the ultimate place to be in Phnom Penh. Would recommend and return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review of The Mad Monkey - we are delighted you enjoyed your time here ! We hope to see you again soon for more cocktails! Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Food here was on the pricy side for Cambodia. But it was DELISH! I got the smoked salmon bagel which was wonderful. My friend had the Mediterranean salad which looked fantastic. They have a good vegetarian selection as well as slot of western food! Def worth a try if you walk by it. We didn't stay here we just ate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

I am so pleased you found the time to write a review - it was a real delight having you stay with us, all the best and good luck for your future travels. Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here at Mad Monkey Villa in 6 Bed Dom for 1 Night. The Room was spacious with comfy bed, good air con, clean toilets, hot shower facility, big lockers. The staff at the reception was friendly and cheerful. Rooftop Bar at Mad Monkey Hostel building was a vibrant place for party animals. Must recommended place for travelers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

We hope you enjoy your travels - you were an awesome guest - thanks for the positive review. Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

Sen Monorom, Cambodia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The last five nights I stayed in The Mad Monkey Hostel to start off my 4 week trip through Cambodia. When I arrived after a 30 hour journey from Amsterdam the staff was super friendly and nice. I travel solo, but in that first five days of my trip I was allways doing stuff during the day with people that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - i am delighted you enjoyed your time here, we are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decent price. You dont paty for the room like you usually do you pay for the experience. Rooms basic, but the roof top bar is brilliant full of people just wanting to have a chat, a drink and a laugh with you. The staff are really helpful and the food here is absolutely amazing. Both the local and western dishes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MadMonkeyPP, Owner at The Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review

Thanks for your review - We are pleased you had a blast is always good! Sometimes its the guest that ensures that they have a good time just as much as the staff and you were an awesome guest! Thanks again come back soon - we miss you! Thank you for staying at a socially responsible hostel. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

229 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (156)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (73)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (47)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.4 mi away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#19 of 239 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
1.3 mi away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#1 of 130 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#13 of 130 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Envoy Hostel and Tours
Envoy Hostel and Tours
#3 of 130 in Phnom Penh
5.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#18 of 130 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#21 of 130 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay