We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eighty8 Backpackers

88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Hotel website
Special Deal
Book direct $3 Bar Credit
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eighty8 Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    94
    37
    15
    17
See reviews for
8
53
67
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (306)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Brilliant atmosphere in the bar area with lots of people to chat to, food and drink also good. I stayed in a private room which was clean, the bed was huge and the bathroom was good. Air conditioned with a fan as well made sure it was cool enough. Only downside is some of the rooms don't have a window.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris B, Manager at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your time here at Eighty8! When traveling we know the importance of a comfortable nights sleep. That's why all of our rooms come with air-conditioning, large ceiling fans and hot showers. Not all of our Standard Private Rooms come with a window view. If you specifically need this, then... More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hostel, a group of 9 people for 3 nights in Nov. The hostel is everything you want in a decent priced hostel with a great social area downstairs, bar and brilliant pool which we spent loads of time playing volleyball in. The staff speak amazing english and were happy to help with anything we wanted, ordering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris B, Manager at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

At Eighty8 we pride ourselves in our staff so its really pleasing to hear when customers acknowledge this. We are well set up to assist all travelers with the next step of their journey. Whether this is a visa, a bus ticket, a boat ride, bike hire etc. Its great to hear that we aided you in your travels! Hopefully... More 

Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I only stayed at 88 Backpackers for 1 night, but I found it a great place to stay. The downstairs area is really cool and clean - pool, bar, plenty of chairs to hang out in, and areas to lounge on. I met a bunch of solo travelers (and older travelers - in their 20s and 30s, so not all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris B, Manager at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Its awesome that you fitted straight in and got the vibe here after only staying the one night. Enjoy the rest of your travels! More 

Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The positives: Clean bathrooms, comfortable beds, they turn the music at the bar off around midnight, amazingly lovely cat. The negatives: Bar is overpriced compared to what you can get just steps outside the hostel, but thanks to the "no outside food or drink" policy we were either forced to sit in our rooms or on the street. Signs plastered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris B, Manager at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your experience at the hostel. Constructive feedback is vital to us to continue to meet our customers expectations. Since your review, we have altered our policy on outside food. It is no longer allowed in your room and we have set up a seated area on a balcony... More 

Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Eighty8 Backpackers is a welcoming hostel with a friendly reception staff. I arrived by night bus from Siem Reap and the hostel sent a tuc-tuc driver to greet me on my arrival. It was very early in the morning so I could not check in but was able to have my suitcase stored in a locked secure room. I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Checked in here and found the a/c in my room didn't work... nor could i close my curtains as the cable was broken. Not a very good start for around $25 a night. The downstairs bar area is nice and you can chill in the pool where they have a volleyball net set up. The prices for drinks are average... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris B, Manager at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Adam, Here at Eighty8 we love feedback as it is a great measure of the areas in Eighty8 that is working well and also if there is anything we need focus on to improve our business. I am however flabbergasted at some points that you have made in your review. The most upsetting part for me is how you... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed 5 nights and had a blast. The staff were sociable and the Commons area was lovely. Not to mention the pool which was nice after a hot day. The bar is cheap and nice selection. Again, the people were so friendly. If I'm passing through again I'd go there again for sure. One down fall the beds were very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Manager at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to Eighty8 some time soon. Safe Travels More 

Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 5 nights while in phnom Penh and it set the bard high for future hostel experiences. We arrived without organising a pick up which was silly but we called the hostel from the point we got dropped off and they arranged a free tuk tuk to pick is up! Already off to a good start. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Manager at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for such a wonderful review, we are so happy you enjoyed your first hostel experience with us. Safe Travels More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

All the people there seemed friendly though a nice mixture of people although most of them were stoners and there was no escape in the dorms either. Great if your into that not so great if you are not. The actual hostel is very nice it has a pool. Drinks are decently priced they are no more expensive than anywhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the well balanced feedback. We are always looking at ways to enhance our customer experience and improve our service standards, so will definitely take on board your comments for our next team meeting. Safe Travels. More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

First of all, the dorms are great! Spacious, comfortable beds and the bathrooms are clean. The staff downstairs is friendly and the bar is perfect for a drink. We ordered a pasta one time but the portion was soo small! It wasn't even worth the money. And it's a little bit out of the city centre with all the nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We are always trying to improve our hostel and services. We are due a menu review so will certainly take your comments on board, as we aim for that 'perfect stay' next time. Safe travels More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Eighty8 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighty8 Backpackers

Address: 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Eighty8 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eighty8 Backpackers Hotel Phnom Penh
88 Backpackers

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay