We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eighty8 Backpackers

88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eighty8 Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    93
    36
    14
    16
See reviews for
8
53
65
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (296)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

All the people there seemed friendly though a nice mixture of people although most of them were stoners and there was no escape in the dorms either. Great if your into that not so great if you are not. The actual hostel is very nice it has a pool. Drinks are decently priced they are no more expensive than anywhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First of all, the dorms are great! Spacious, comfortable beds and the bathrooms are clean. The staff downstairs is friendly and the bar is perfect for a drink. We ordered a pasta one time but the portion was soo small! It wasn't even worth the money. And it's a little bit out of the city centre with all the nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. We are always trying to improve our hostel and services. We are due a menu review so will certainly take your comments on board, as we aim for that 'perfect stay' next time. Safe travels More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Not a bad hostel really. I wanted a sociable hostel and this is definitely it with a large, comfortable communal space downstairs with bar, restaurant and pool. It was a toss up between this and Mad Monkey and i made the right decision as Mad Monkey gets very, very loud at night and Eighty 8 was not bad at all.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the well balanced review. We will certainly look at reviewing our check-in procedures, the discs merely help us assign the dorm beds and avoid confusion, but hey maybe not :) The transport options are split into 2 basic options; the more expensive,quicker, mini van option 12-18pax, generally now with wifi and the cheaper local big 54 pax buses,... More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Not sure if this place secretly offers free beer for good reviews, but I'm shocked it's ratings are so high on here. We stayed in a normal private room for one night, then had to move to a "deluxe" double room due to availability. When we saw the deluxe room we were shocked to find out we would be paying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Sometimes a review can say more about you as an individual, than it can ever say about a hostel or its staff. I find the attitude and undertone of your review disappointing and disrespectful, as you attempt to devalue virtually everything and everyone during your stay. Of course you are entitled to your opinion, but thankfully you are in a... More 

Donaghmore, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here for one night in December 2014. This place had all the makings of a good hostel. It was social and had a pool as well as good food and reasonably priced drinks. We arrived at 2pm. We were told our room would be another half an hour due to construction that was taking place. They gave us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

We apologize for the delay in preparing your room as we were in the process of upgrading the room with wifi, reading lights and charging points. The room was actually ready before 5pm and we kept you constantly informed of the progress, while you & your partner enjoyed a $3 bar credit each. To compound your misery, the air con... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The 88 is probably a good place for party people. The bar and whole lobby area is in the evening and during the day with loud music (even louder on the weekend), to loud for my tast, no way to read a book or having a normal conversation. Most people stayed at the dorm to relax and read, which isn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Eighty8 is a very busy, social hostel with a great fun atmosphere offering great value, free pick-ups, goodies on arrival, pool competitions, drink promotions, etc, etc.... We always suggest our guests compare like for like because cheaper is very rarely better. We moved you from the cheapest dorm room (our party room) over the bar to a quieter room, but... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are basic, clean, and spacious if your a couple. The pool area has a volleyball net so its good fun having a few beers and playing a few games with new friends. They have a price schrme set up for the tuk tuk drivers which is good. We managed to get it $2 cheaper from the guy who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. Just one point of note, the TukTuk team that sit outside Eighty8 work independently of the hostel, but their drivers are registered with us, to maintain the safety and service standards for our guests. However this is not the case with external drivers which can lead to some issues as we have no way to track... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can really recommend this place. We loved the pool and the ambiance. The first night we had problems with our a/c in our dorm of 8. when we complained, the manager really did everything to fix it. It was the only place where the manager really tried to find a good solution! Food is to expensive for a hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review and for being so understanding with the A/C issue. I wish all our guests were as cool & relaxed as you guys, when an issue arises during their stay. Safe Travels More 

Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good quality room (clean, comfortable) in a hotel with excellent location, and the breakfast and bar is amazing. The staff is very nice and helpful. Only one weakness is that wifi is only downstairs in public areas, but that is manageable. Fully recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback. I am not sure when you stayed but we now have WiFi throughout the hostel and in all rooms and dorms. It is on a different access point to the bar area downstairs, which you may have missed. Safe Travels More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best hostel I've stayed at during 5 months in Asia! Lovely, helpful staff who will organise everything from tuk tuks to day trips and places to eat. We went on the Sunset cruise - a must do. Stunning views of the city from the river. Rooms big, clean and very comfortable Attention to detail everywhere - English plug sockets and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for a wonderful review.......miss you already and we can't wait to welcome you back too!!!! Safe Travels More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Eighty8 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighty8 Backpackers

Address: 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Eighty8 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eighty8 Backpackers Hotel Phnom Penh
88 Backpackers

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay