We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 100 Phnom Penh accommodations

Eighty8 Backpackers

#98 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Hotel amenities
Eighty8 Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Eighty8 Backpackers to your Saves list
77%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Branden D Isla Vista, California, United States
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    82
    32
    12
    16
See reviews for
8
47
62
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (74)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Isla Vista, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start by saying that without this hostel, Phnom Penh would have been the low point of my travels. They have amazing service and an awesome pool side bar with comfortable seating everywhere. I looked forward to coming back to my hostel everyday. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for a great review and your experience is exactly what we aim to provide for all our guests, a welcoming, safe, clean and fun environment. Safe Travels. More

2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Regardless of what I write here, I have no doubt my review will be replied to in the same fashion as any other review which dares to make a negitive comment about Eighty8. Reading through past negitive reviews about this Hostel, and based on our stay, we can see a pattern of the same issues emerging, and each time comments... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

I find this post rather sad. TA is not a forum to discredit reviewers or businesses, or even to air petty grievances. It is a forum to share your experiences good and bad, but you must realize a business will respond to negative comments, particularly if they are not specific or not quantified. It would appear you have spent considerable... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay here. We had a private room with a comfortable bed. The shower wasn't fantastic but did boast hot water so it did us fine. The overall atmosphere in the bar area of the hostel was fantastic. Comfy seats, free wifi, brilliant happy hour deals and tasty food. All the staff were friendly and welcoming and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for a good balanced review. We are always looking to improve the standards of our hostel and the perception of backpacking in general, so appreciate all levels of feedback. More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at eighty8 for 3 days. The pool was lovely and the laid back bar atmosphere was also very nice. Unfortunately the food was really not that good, quite expensive and not very filling. We paid for the deluxe room which was realy not that deluxe seeing at the bathroom ensuite had no door and the water pressure was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and feel our prices are too expensive. You are a first time reviewer which always makes me suspicious to the genuine nature of such a review, but what are you actually comparing our hostel and food to? A hotel, street food? We believe we offer great value accommodation and... More

Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here when I first moved to Cambodia and have kept coming back since! I stayed for 2 weeks and didn't want to leave. It's such a beautiful open place, wonderful bar area. Within 2 minutes of ordering a drink I was invited to join a group of backpackers and from then on, I was making new best friends... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for such a great review, it sums up exactly what standards of service and quality we are striving to create for all our guests at Eighty8. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything a backpackers hostel should be. Stayed in a dorm which was always nice and cool. Cleaned every day. Great bar, great food. friendly cheeky staff. The pool is a godsend after a long day. Owner is very friendly and approachable. Will Definetley be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your fabulous comments, they make all our efforts and hard work so very worthwhile. Safe Travels and come back soon. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice atmosphere where you easily get to know lots of people. Absolutely delicious food, probably the best food I have eaten so far in Cambodia. The prices are also absolutely reasonable. The pool is nice after a hot day in the city. Definitely the best place to stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe Travels. More

Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We pre booked one night to stay here in august, as soon as we got here we extended by another 2 nights, but we had to switch rooms, they were so good about this though as many other places have made us check out and then check in again a few hours later meaning we couldn't go do anything. However... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

We miss you already!!!! Thanks for the recommendations and spending the time to write such a fabulous review. Safe Travels. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We pre-booked for the first time on our trip because we were under the impression it was $10 a night but got to reception and they told us it was per person. The room is not worth $21 a night. It is terrible quality. Fluorescent lighting, no windows, an air conditioner that barely works and dripped on our heads all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

So, you made an error on your pre-booking, clearly not reading the confirmation or online content of our hostel. We understand how you could be embarrassed by your mistake. However, taking your frustration out on us and trying to intimate the staff to give you the room at the $10 price, then getting angry, impolite and have your boyfriend throw... More

Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

My gf and I stayed in a private room which was really nice, except the shower pressure left a bit to be desired. Overall this was a really good hostel, the bar and pool area were great and the staff were very nice. The only downside was that the staff over quoted us on tuk-tuk prices twice (maybe because they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback. The tuk tuk guys work independently of Eighty8, but they must be registered with us to stand outside the hostel. However they always seem to enjoy the negotiating game, which can be very tiresome at times. Our team will always give you the recommended prices but these can be subject to change, depending on increased... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Eighty8 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighty8 Backpackers

Address: #98 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Eighty8 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers Hotel Phnom Penh

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay