We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eighty8 Backpackers

#98 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
#9 of 98 Hotels in Phnom Penh
258 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eighty8 Backpackers
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    78
    31
    11
    16
See reviews for
8
44
60
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We pre booked one night to stay here in august, as soon as we got here we extended by another 2 nights, but we had to switch rooms, they were so good about this though as many other places have made us check out and then check in again a few hours later meaning we couldn't go do anything. However... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We pre-booked for the first time on our trip because we were under the impression it was $10 a night but got to reception and they told us it was per person. The room is not worth $21 a night. It is terrible quality. Fluorescent lighting, no windows, an air conditioner that barely works and dripped on our heads all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

So, you made an error on your pre-booking, clearly not reading the confirmation or online content of our hostel. We understand how you could be embarrassed by your mistake. However, taking your frustration out on us and trying to intimate the staff to give you the room at the $10 price, then getting angry, impolite and have your boyfriend throw... More

Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My gf and I stayed in a private room which was really nice, except the shower pressure left a bit to be desired. Overall this was a really good hostel, the bar and pool area were great and the staff were very nice. The only downside was that the staff over quoted us on tuk-tuk prices twice (maybe because they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback. The tuk tuk guys work independently of Eighty8, but they must be registered with us to stand outside the hostel. However they always seem to enjoy the negotiating game, which can be very tiresome at times. Our team will always give you the recommended prices but these can be subject to change, depending on increased... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Place - not far from the Mekong Express bus station and not far from the city centre at the same time. This is a relatively quiet location as well. Price - very good value for the price. This was one of our best accommodations in this category. Hotel - great for backpackers - a lot of young people to meet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Cool feedback. We love our location, as we feel it gives our guests an opportunity to experience genuine Cambodian city life and culture outside our doors. More importantly we are away from the seedy parts of the city, which is always a bonus. Safe travels. More

Prince George
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel has a great vibe! I met so many people here! The pool is soo awesome and the hang out area is fantastic! The drinks and food at the bar is extremely convenient. The front desk helps you to arrange tours and bus tickets. Literally the best hostel I've stayed in in Asia! ...and it's only 7$! Don't miss... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

You Rock!! We miss you already. Safe Travels More

DaLat
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My girlfriend booked this place and arrived the night before I got there so I had no idea what to expect. It was definitely a pleasant surprise when I did though. Apparently it is quite pricey for the area but with nothing to compare it to I had no complaints. The bar and mini pool were great for relaxing and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the honest and balanced feedback. Safe travels More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great stay in this hostel which is central to most main attractions, the hostel also provides some great tours too !!! The staff are extremely helpful and approachable and always ask you how you are and what they can do to help. It's a place to go to meet new people too, with a lively pool area and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

We can't wait to welcome you back. Thanks for the great feedback. Safe travels and hopefully see you soon. More

Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's really cheap and it got everything you new except an included breakfast. But there are a lot of cheap things for breakfast in the menu. The staff was really kind and helpful and they offer booking buses to Siem Reap and Thailand with different companies and different classes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review
Google Translation

Gracias por la buena critica. Safe travels More

Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in a 8 beds room.. The room and toilet was clean and have aircon, fan and big lockers. The common areas include a pool and a bar/restaurant with really good food at affordable prices. The staff on the reception and restaurant couldn't be better.. They will help you with everything.. They will arrange the tours, bus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for a fab review. As we most cities around the world we strongly recommend that you never walk around PP late at night. Safe travels. More

Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I Stayed here with my friend for a few days and wasn't disappointed at all! The main lounge/pool area is awesome! Comfy chairs, open concept and the pool is nice in the sun. The food and drinks are great and cheap as well! The staff here were amazing. Probably the friendliest staff I've ever encountered at a hostel. This made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ant G, Owner at Eighty8 Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for a great and balanced review. We do have a scheduled maintenance program for our A/C's but we are more than happy to address any issues that may arise. Your comfort and happiness are our priority during your stay. Safe travels. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Eighty8 Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Eighty8 Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eighty8 Backpackers

Address: #98 88 Street | Street 88, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Eighty8 Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
88 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers Hotel Phnom Penh

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Phnom Penh with
any amenities