We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sumbiling Eco Village

Kg Sumbiling Lama, Jalan Batang Duri, Temburong, Bandar Seri Begawan PD1951, Brunei Darussalam
Hotel amenities
Sumbiling Eco Village
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015
Andy B Haslemere, United Kingdom
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
5
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

I was to be working in BSB and had a spare weekend. I booked the 2D/1N trip whilst in UK and booking process a bit convoluted but ok. What a brilliant experience and if you have time staying in brunei then do this trip. Our guide Nasri was brilliant. Knowledgable, funny, attentive and helpful. Trip by speedboat to Bangar good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We chose the 2D/1N Complete Rainforest Experience which included meals and accommodation. This was an immersive jungle experience with basic comforts. We decided to forgo the room upgrade and slept in a large tent with two thick mats under a roofed area with a fruit trees and enjoyed the sounds of the jungle at night. (If you are a light... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

After visiting Sumbiling ECO Village my wife and I tried to decide whether this was the first or second worst vacation experience we’ve ever had. Basically, it is bare bones camping, and you won’t get to do anything unless the villagers let you. Skip to the last paragraphs if you just want the summary. We booked through Borneo Guide. Their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
borneoguide, Owner at Sumbiling Eco Village, responded to this review

Dear Robert and Julie, Thank you for your honest feedback! We are very sorry to hear you had such a bad experience and that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. I cringed when I read about the incompetency of the guide and insufficient food. They... More 

Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We booked two trips with the BORNEO GUIDE: one to the Ulu Temborong National Park and a one-day city tour. Their services were excellent and everything was well taken care of (even a vegetarian meal for one of us). We especially enjoyed the long boat ride from the Sumbiling Eco Village, which is the base of Borneo Guide, to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I found my trip to Sumbiling Eco Village very authentic and exciting, just as I had hoped. The staff was very friendly and costumized the trip to my wishes, which I appreciated. The silent and peaceful location of the village by the river makes this a perfect hide out. The jungle safari, night safari and visit to the National Park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My Mother and I stumbled upon the office by accident during our stop-over on the way to England. At first I was apprehensive as the thought of mosquitoes and sleeping in a tent didn't seem great. i was completely, utterly wrong. The Tour Guides were unbelievably helpful, friendly and thoughtful starting before we even managed to book and pay (we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
borneoguide, Manager at Sumbiling Eco Village, responded to this review

Hi Anna, Thank you for your review on Sumbiling Eco Village. We are glad you & your mum enjoy your stay & tour with us. We really appreciate your review which will definitely help other traveller like yourself to enjoy their holiday. Thank you & warm regards, The Management More 

Toowoomba
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I spent two months on attachment in Brunei and saw everything there was to see in Bandar in about a day. I am very glad that a friend of mine and I were able to organise a daytrip to see the rainforest and do the canopy walk. It was great fun, and even with a dodgy knee I was fine... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
borneoguide, Manager at Sumbiling Eco Village, responded to this review

Hi there, We are glad & happy you enjoy your trip with us. We really appreciate your review which will definitely help other travellers to plan a nice holiday in Brunei. Thank you with warm regards, The management More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed two nights at the Eco Village and took part in the 3D2N tour package. I was a solo traveller and just by chance happened to be the only guest staying at the village on those given days. The friendly greeting by the guides was great and made me feel so very welcome. Everyone in the Village are friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed 2 days 2 nights in the Eco camp and managed a lot of nice little excursions, "The Complete Rainforest Experience" arranged through Borneo Guide. Excursions included a canopy walk (and visit to a magical little waterfall), rainforest trek, night walk in the forest around the camp as well as a cultural visit to the nearby local village. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kota Kinabalu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

A friend and I went to Sumbiling Eco Village for a 3D2N adventure and we were amazed by the hospitality of the staff and owner (Leslie) there. The place was a basic but very nature-based type of accommodation ranging from room chalet by the river and camping tents. Facilities there were carefully constructed, laid out and presented. The management stressed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (16)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question