We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Whale Island Resort

#31 of 129 Hotels in Nha Trang
Certificate of Excellence
2 Me Linh | Van Ninh District, Nha Trang, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whale Island Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Whale Island Resort
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    88
    42
    23
    15
See reviews for
56
132
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (265)
  • Mar-May only
    (92)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (55)
All months
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The journey from Nha Trang airport took the best part of 3 tortuous and in places terrifying hours on roads under going major works. On reaching the island we were met by one of the staff who pointed to our cabin and then walked off. The cabins are basic beach huts but serve a purpose and are clean, the island... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandre P, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr LongoEngland, I sincerely thank you for your comment on the Whale island Resort tripadvisor page but can only regret that you wait to be back home to address your complain. If the majority of our staff does not speak any English or a speak a basic one, the reception staff is able to talk in this language and... More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We recently stayed for six nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is a beautiful location. The accommodation is basic but very comfortable. Good beds, fresh linens in a renovated bungalow right on the beach. Rainbow Divers has an office on the island and we used their services to do a refresher course, several boat dives on 4 days and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I extended my stay at Whale Island for a few extra days. The last day, the resort was covered with butterflies from the annual migration. What an incredible sight to see. The rooms are clean and take a minimalist approach to decorating and do not create extra garbage by providing unnecessary toiletries. The staff are friendly with some language barriers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We heard a lot of great feedbacks about the Whale Island but we were disappointed by our experience there. The staff is friendly but the service is just at the level of expectations. They won't do more to help or make your stay better. The beach is quite small, and sometimes there is litter in the water, which is pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandre P, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Bich Hanh, I really appreciate your review about your stay in Whale Island Resort and understand your point. I renew on this page my apologize that i addressed to you at the end of your stay for the inconvenient behavior of few guests one night during your stay (who also apologized the day after). I also admit that our... More 

Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great visit. Very relaxing and beautiful location. Rooms are nothing fancy, but fine. Nice to wake to the sound of birds instead of motorbikes. I took the boat trip to snorkel, kayaked, sailed on the catamaran, snorkeled off the beach, and hiked. 4 boat dives and 1 night dive day dives were great, visibility on the night dive wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandre P, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear guest, We really thank you for your review on this page. I will forward your compliments to Sonia and the dive crew. They will be available on site for the diving activities of our guests until the beginning ò the rainy season (mid october) . I would advice all divers, if they are available, to book their accomodations and... More 

Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was visiting Whale Island recently and i really enjoyed it ! This place is lovely . ts quiet , calm and best thing is - no one to disturb you ! I have lots of photos and a full description in my latest blog post about Whale Island http://www.parrotfishjourney.com/latest-post/travel-to-the-whale-island-in-vietnam

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandre P, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your Whale Island experience with the tripadvisor visitors and for sharing your pictures on your blog. We wish you many other enjoyable time in your journey. Kind regards Alexandre Portier More 

Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

I was looking for a place remote and calm to relax, and it was perfect. The island really looks like southern Corsica, or northen Sardinia. Don't expect tons of attractions, the goal here is to relax. But you still have some catamarans, snorkling, kayak, ... and cocktails. I had booked a garden room, but was upgraded to a beach bungalow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alexandre P, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for your comment on our tripadvisor page. We are glad to read that you like your stay in our resort. I agree with your advice about the choice of the room: a beach bungalow will offer to our guest the opportunity to appreciate the view on the sea and the garden one the peace of the... More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

I just got back from 2 days at this beautiful island. It is not big but big enough to have a nice walk and enjoy the silence. There is a lot of choice in food every meal and very friendly people. (good service) Houses are very basic, this is the way they fit into the environment. You can hear many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

To whaleisland resort operator I have booked the room via Agoda. Unfortunately, the date was input wrongly ( checking date is May 1st instead of 2nd ). I really do not know how to make it changed. Then I did contact directly to the number posted on your home page. The answer I recieved confused me so much. The guy,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandre P, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mr Quocanh911, Thank you for your very unusual comment, that give me the opportunity to present the booking options offered to the guest of Whale Island Resort. I will not argue about the fact that you gave a wrong information to be authorized to publish your review : You had never been a Whale Island guest and you did... More 

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

I have just returned from 3 nights on whale ISland, and think I my have stayed at a different resort to some of the earlier reviews... we could not fault the service at all...? Staff where both polite & helpful, whilst remaining quiet and discrete. The cabins are a touch basic, but not Robinson Crusoe (and to us that's the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandre P, Manager at Whale Island Resort, responded to this review

Dear Maurice, Thank you for your comment on our tripadvisor page. We are really concerned about the WiFi access from our bar lounge and understand that our guest need to stay connected. We have set up a really upgraded satellite device on the island few months ago but the national network available is going down some time, slowing down the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

241 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (209)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (42)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
5:15
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question