We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hue Backpackers' Hostel

10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    90
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
27
75
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (187)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (47)
All months
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a week in total and I couldn't fault this place. Rooms - Stayed in a dorm room. Pretty cheap, comfy bed and pillow, good high powered shower and met loads of cool people. Atmosphere - This place is amazing! Themed nights, happy, helpful staff and awesome drink specials. They even have a bar crawl every night after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia,
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As every place you travel, it is the company in which you keep that truly makes the difference. This place for me was made by the kindness of the staff, was taken for a private tour by Rob the manager, who, as it is stated below has very nice buns, and Jeff who helped me when I skidded of my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Asia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Definitely the top place to stay in Hue. Arrived from a long ride from Hoi An to be greeted by Rob(has nice buns) and his Vietnamese entourage. Have to say the Vietnamese staff really help make this place special, from the bar staff to the reception these guys do hospitality well. Especially the angel/devil that works the morning shift behind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Michael, Thank you again for your kind words, i am glad that you and your friends enjoyed spending time in Hue, at the hostel and making friends with our great staff. All the best on your travels and i hope you enjoy heading back to Cambodia. Many thanks, Rob, General Manager More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lively, loud, busy and great fun! Went here for food and drinks with the intention of an early night, but stayed until late! Great atmosphere, good, simple food at a decent price and staff that make an effort to 'do the rounds' and say hello to everyone. If you're after a quiet drink, this is not the place for you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, hello, Thank you for you great review on the bar and facilities we offer in the hostel! I am pleased you enjoyed your evening with us and felt comfortable and safe with us. Please feel free to drop by any time in the future. Kind regards, Rob, General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a private room opposite the hostel which was fine. Only problem was the shower would only stay hot for a couple of minutes but we may have done something wrong. The main hostel had a very social vibe and was clean and bright. the staff were great too. Only criticism is that the music is very loud... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there Emily, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the hostel here in Hue. I am pleased that you have expressed your concerns regarding the hot water issue and music volume during the day. We tend to keep the music low for a relaxed environment so that customers can still chill and chat during lunch.... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Heres the warning first...We booked a private dorm here, upon arrival they took us to a rotten dingy room in the empty little unsafe feeling hotel over the road from the actual hostel. They were good enough to move us into a dorm and refund the difference however. Once we were in the dorm we had a cracking time here,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hello travellers, Firstly I would like to apologies that you did not enjoy your stay in the private rooms across the road. When you checked in we did explain that there had been a double booking and that your private room in the main hostel was no longer available. The only alternative we were able to offer was suggest the... More 

Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the place to be in Hue as there is not much to do in Hue anyway after a day of sightseeing. The hostel organizes fun games that make you easily mingle in and get to know other fellow backpackers. Excellent party vibe once everyone is in and the food is excellent (especially since I craved some western food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Samia, Thank you for your great review on the hostel, staff and facilities here in Hue. I'm so pleased you enjoyed yourself and felt that we were the place to stay for travellers alike. You are welcome back any time! All the best, Rob, General Manager More 

Hoi An, Vietnam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you like to party then this is the place to be in Huē! Very well run, friendly atmosphere and staff that have a passion to make sure you have the best few nights in Vietnam. We spent 3 nights in Huē and we didn't even leave the hostel, staff were too much fun, food was amazing and night life... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HueHendo, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

G'day Luke, Great review buddy, really glad you enjoyed yourself and got to know the staff here in Hue. We love to make sure people are have a fun time and always have someone to talk to or something to. All the best, Rob, General Manager More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its the place to be in Hue for backpackers. Clean rooms and sheets and a good selection of food. Well managed and quite a lively atmosphere. We rented out harleys and explored surrounding area! Lots of deals on food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hey there, I'm glad you guys had a wikid time with us in Hue, it's definitely a perfect city to grab a bike and go explore! All the best, Rob, General Manager More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What you see on the menu is not what you get. The Mexican fish that we ordered is totally a ripped off- cooked from frozen fish probably and in beyond recognizable state when served. Ambience B-. Food quality C- Cleanliness: B+ Value for $ : C Will not dine there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hello traveller, Firstly, my apologies that you did not rate our food well here at the hostel, it's usually a massive hit with our guests and that's why we serve what we do! Not sure though how you reckon that the food is a rip off and not what is advertised on the menu? Our menu states: "Baked fish, 2... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hue Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hue Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hue Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hue Backpackers` Hotel Hue

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay