We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hue Backpackers' Hostel

10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    100
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
33
81
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (207)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (58)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I came here for the pubquiz. It was fun, the staff were friendly and helpful. This is a backpackers hostel and bar by every sense though. It is fun, but very loud. The food is good but western. The staff are friendly but also tourists. This is a great stop of place to sort yourself out, but not very relaxing,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed in a private double room at this hostel for two nights. On the plus side, the room was very clean and it had a private ensuite bathroom which was an added bonus. We also participated in the Pub Trivia on Friday night and had a great time- it was a great way to meet other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We didn't book but where offered a triple room across the street in a different hotel which they also run i guess. The room was good, hot shower,a/c and comfie beds. At this hostel we've gotten a good deal for renting scooters to drive down to Hoi An. Breakfast included and bicycle rent for 20D.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had one night at the Hostel and were quite happy when we moved out. Very noisy, and by that, I don't mean the people who sat in front of our door chatting the whole night. Our toilet made very loud and strange sounds the whole night which made it almost impossible to sleep. But the other thing that kept... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We arrived on Australia day to a party atmosphere and a load of friendly faces opening our cab door for us. Great hostel with brilliantly friendly and helpful staff. Our private room was across the road in a different building which was fine and pretty quiet. We booked the Top Gear experience with them to get from Hue to Hanoi,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vietnam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfectly clean, great food and incredible staff. Rob, Matt and Lucky were great guys! Always helpful and you were able to have lot of fun with these guys! Especially the Ars* shot was one of the best experiences in my life ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are looking to meet people this is a great place. The restaurant downstairs has a great happy hour and decent food (and free breakfast!). It is centrally located and the staff are really helpful to sign you up for tours or give recommendations for restaurants and bars. The best part about staying here is that people are looking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Because of our awesome experience at the Hanoi backpackers we decided to stay in the franchise and book with Hue! The staff here were so helpful and ended up getting us a much better deal for flights than what we could've managed! They also showed us exactly where to buy the best ponchos and the GREATEST First Ascent snow jackets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There perfect place to stay in Hue. I didn't know this before but the open ticket bus company dropped us off right outside the hostel (very convenient and saved $$). The hostel has a great party atmosphere, cheap drinks and decent food available. Good lockers under the dormitory beds. Bathrooms a little cramped (reason I can't give it 5 stars)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hey dude, Thank you for your review and kinds words on the hostel and staff. More than happy to have you stay with us. We are limited in space and this is why the bathrooms are slightly small, this is also Asia so they were originally designed for smaller, local people of Vietnam. I myself am nearly 2m tall so... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just stayed here for 1 night and the hostel itself seems in an alright location and has a good atmosphere for meeting other travellers. The beds were comfortable although my 6-bed dorm was tiny and cramped. The free breakfast is OK. My main complaint is that staff were really abrupt and not friendly at all, which is a shame... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, General Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ludders27, Thank you for your review on the hostel, you have rated us 4/5 overall but i can see you were not happy with your experience here. I am sorry that you felt the staff were not helpful or welcoming. We pride ourselves in our customer service skills and greeting customers as they arrive and depart on their travels... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question