We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 35 Hue accommodations

Hue Backpackers' Hostel

10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hue Backpackers' Hostel to your Saves list
69%
Ranked #9 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Hue
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Al C Bray, Ireland
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    77
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
20
63
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (156)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Bray, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice little hostel. Booked it because I'd stayed in downtown backpackers and gotten the boomerang bus down. Beds were clean, rooms comfortable and staff very helpful. They organized a trial for me on a scooter before booking the trip to hoi an, and arranged for our group to go in convoy even though only 2 of 4 had guides. Like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for staying with us while you were in Hue. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad because you joined us after having a good time in our Downtown hostel in Hanoi. We are also pleased that you enjoyed the Top Gear Experience. It is a lovely way to see a beautiful part of the... More

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed here one night but I found the accommodation very comfortable and clean. The dorm rooms are quite big with personal (and separate) toilet and bathroom, and great aircon facilities (always important for me!) You can rent motorbikes from the hostel to ride across the hai van pass from hue to hoi an. This is such a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for staying with us while you were in Hue. It is always nice to get positive reviews about our hostel. Generally people only write reviews when they are unsatisfied. I am glad you enjoyed your motorbike trip as well. It is an awesome way to see some beautiful parts of the country. I hope you enjoyed the rest... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good hostel for backpackers, had a decent pub quiz and good drinks offers. Organised night out was enjoyable! Rooms clean and average price. Didn't really feel like we were in Vietnam though, very Western influenced. Breakfast was disappointing, ordered extra sides of beans and bacon which consisted very few beans and one small bit of bacon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for staying with us while you were in Hue. We are a western run company and our aim is to provide a fun, comfortable atmosphere for people who are away from home. We always recommend cultural things to do for people while they are in Hue. We have taken your comments on about our breakfast and now have... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great time at Hue Backpackers and met some great friends while staying here. The bar at the hostel is good with offers on daily, and make sure you try the Time Bomb challenge! The dorms are quite crammed which I would say is the only negative about this place. It's close to some decent bars and restaurants... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for staying with us while you were in Hue. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself. We try to keep things fresh and fun with a different theme every night. Unfortunately we have been having some difficulty with our WiFi lately, but we are getting that fixed. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Cheers Hendo... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was a little disappointed with my stay here compared to Hanoi Backpackers. The hostel is nice and has a chill vibe but I found the dorm rooms were a lot more cramped and the aircon did not work very well when I was there. The breakfast was average at best but it was a good place to socialise and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for staying with us while you were in Hue. Hue is very chilled out compard to Hanoi, and unfortunately our building is not as big as the ones in Hanoi. We do try to make the beds as comfortable as we possibly can. Many of the restaurants on our street do charge a bit more for food,... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my time here. The hostel was very relaxing, but still had a lot of socialization. It was a lot chiller than the other Hanoi backpacker's hostel. I loved the chairs they placed outside of the rooms to lounge in. My only problem with it was their mischaracterization of the motorcycle trip. It was much harder than they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for staying with us while you were in Hue. Hue is very chilled out compared to Hanoi in general. We like to hope that people feel comfortable when they stay with us. We always recommend that people have had driving experience before doing our motorbike tours. Driving nearly 200kms in a foreign country is never going to be... More

Lille, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beds in dorms are ok, the hostel is clean. But they played loud music (like you would have in a club), until midnight. I understand that some people like to party but this was definitely too much for a sleeping place. From the bedroom you could here the loud music and the bass. And loud music keeps people loud. So... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for staying with us while you were in Hue. Yes we do have people staying with us who like to party. We also understand that people are sleeping upstairs. That is why we always close the bar at 11pm and move our customers on to another bar. Please accept my apologies if you thought we were too... More

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We actuality didn't stay in this hostel because it's very crowded and noisy but we booked the bus to hoi an When we came at our designated time we were told that there is no bus. We were so mad and at the start the hostel manager wasn't very helpful and it was really annoying. At the end we put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Please accept my apologies for the problem with the boomerang bus. It is a very rare occurence, and I don't agree with the way my manager handled it. You should have been transferred to another bus straight away so as to inconvenience you guys as little as possible. However if you had been staying with us at the... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The food is honestly excellent and they have reasonably cheap drinks. There's always stuff going on in the evening from drinking games to pub quizzes to special offer nights. They do a good deal of 2 for 1 on pizza on Tuesdays if i remember rightly. Rrrrreal good pizza Good place to start the evening off!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Hue. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Our aim is to provide customers with a fun atmosphere and place to hang out, hence the different themed nights and special offers. I am glad you enjoyed our food as well. Enjoy the rest... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

A really good stay at Hue Backpackers, comfortable beds and it is in a good location. The bathrooms weren't super flash (but definitely OK, not terrible), our taps were really difficult to use and turn off? They have a shuttle that runs to the beach as well which was sweet. Friendly staff, and a good restaurant/bar area downstairs. Good value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for staying with us while you were in Hue. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It is also good to hear that you took advantage of the shuttle to the beach. It is one of Hue's hidden gems, and slowly becoming more popular. Lucky you were here for the good weather. Rainy season is almost upon... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hue Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hue Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hue Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hue Backpackers` Hotel Hue

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay