We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 35 Hue accommodations

Hue Backpackers' Hostel

10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hue Backpackers' Hostel to your Saves list
Hue Backpackers' Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
69%
Ranked #9 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Hue
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Gavin P
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    73
    29
    9
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
17
61
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (149)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (49)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
Lille, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Beds in dorms are ok, the hostel is clean. But they played loud music (like you would have in a club), until midnight. I understand that some people like to party but this was definitely too much for a sleeping place. From the bedroom you could here the loud music and the bass. And loud music keeps people loud. So... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We actuality didn't stay in this hostel because it's very crowded and noisy but we booked the bus to hoi an When we came at our designated time we were told that there is no bus. We were so mad and at the start the hostel manager wasn't very helpful and it was really annoying. At the end we put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Please accept my apologies for the problem with the boomerang bus. It is a very rare occurence, and I don't agree with the way my manager handled it. You should have been transferred to another bus straight away so as to inconvenience you guys as little as possible. However if you had been staying with us at the... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food is honestly excellent and they have reasonably cheap drinks. There's always stuff going on in the evening from drinking games to pub quizzes to special offer nights. They do a good deal of 2 for 1 on pizza on Tuesdays if i remember rightly. Rrrrreal good pizza Good place to start the evening off!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Hue. I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Our aim is to provide customers with a fun atmosphere and place to hang out, hence the different themed nights and special offers. I am glad you enjoyed our food as well. Enjoy the rest... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A really good stay at Hue Backpackers, comfortable beds and it is in a good location. The bathrooms weren't super flash (but definitely OK, not terrible), our taps were really difficult to use and turn off? They have a shuttle that runs to the beach as well which was sweet. Friendly staff, and a good restaurant/bar area downstairs. Good value... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for staying with us while you were in Hue. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. It is also good to hear that you took advantage of the shuttle to the beach. It is one of Hue's hidden gems, and slowly becoming more popular. Lucky you were here for the good weather. Rainy season is almost upon... More

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Quite pricey compared to other hostels in Vietnam. Got a good location, clean rooms and a good social western vibe to the hostel. Expensive food and alcohol in comparison to other places though. Have a chain in Hanoi also. Would definitely stay here again if in Hue. Can also get quite busy so might be best to book in advance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for choosing to stay with us while you were in Hue. It is great to hear you would choose to stay with us again if you came back to Hue. However compared to other western styled restaurants and bars on the streets, our food and drinks prices are on par. Our aim is to provide quality... More

Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Hostel is not bad overall. Maybe Vietnamese staff should be trained on what customer service is because they seriously have no clue whatsoever and if there is an issue they tend to over-react and become a tad aggressive !!!!! All the other staff more than willing to help - maybe a bit too pushy on trying to sell their services,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HueHendo, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for staying with us while you were in Hue. I am glad that you enjoyed relaxing on our balconies. I know the rooms only have one ensuite, however we do have extra showers and toilets downstairs if the ones in the room are full. I would like to apologise for my staff behaviour. English is a... More

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Good hostel, clean rooms with good showers (dorm rooms have one shower and a separate loo in each room). Bar is good fun, good pub crawl from there. Best place to stay in Hue to meet other travelers. Free breakfast till 10am.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HendoHue, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Just writing to thank you for choosing to stay with us in Hue. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hostel. Enjoy the rest of your trip. Hendo Manager Hue Backpackers Hostel More

Dendermonde, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I've travelled with a friend in july 2014. We were in a dorm with 4 other people. I have no problem that some of them have friends over. But if the dorm changes from a place to sleep to a complete 'shag room' I'll have my questions. One of the guys in the room was even working for Hanoi backpackers... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HendoHue, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thankyou for choosing to stay with us while you were in Hue. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately we are unable to control the actions of our guests in the rooms at night. I would also like to apologise for the guy you mentioned from Hanoi. You will be pleased to... More

Disneyland Paris, France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I don't really understand the ratings there. I stayed there 4 nights and everything was perfect. Nice friendly and helpful staff, cheap good food, nice dorms with huge lockers and power plugs for each bed, clean showers/toilets/dorms, seems well soundproofed, was in the dorm just over the bar and had absolutely no problem sleeping at any time. The overall atmosphere... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HendoHue, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

G'day mate, Thankyou for writing such a positive review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. As for your comment about the other reviews, sometimes it is just hard to please everybody. Our aim is to give a good vibe and relaxed, fun atmosphere for our guests, and I am glad that you feel you got that service... More

Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This place is a pretty standard and nice hostel. Clean, nice dorms. But it's worth a stay because Mo and the rest of the staff are amazing. She is the coolest. I wish I could have spent more time there just to hang out with their awesome staff. They really made the stay special.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HendoHue, Manager at Hue Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

G'day mate, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Hue Backpackers Hostel. Thankyou for the positive feed back on the staff. I am glad to hear they are doing a good job. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Cheers Hendo Manager Hue Backpackers Hostel More

Do you own or manage Hue Backpackers' Hostel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hue Backpackers' Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hue Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 10 Pham Ngu Lao St, Hue, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Thua Thien - Hue Province > Hue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hue Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hue Backpackers` Hotel Hue

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay