We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)

133 Nguyen Hue Avenue, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Kimdo Royal City Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    110
    70
    29
    5
See reviews for
48
70
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (260)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (60)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
County Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We last stayed here in 2005 and not much has changed on the interior since then. Wifi in rooms is nearly non existent, while the cock roaches are plenty full. Breakfast is standard, we did not have any evening meals due to not many guests staying at the hotel. Bathrooms small compared to the rooms which need up dating to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Couldn't ask for a better location in Saigon. Hotel staff is VERY friendly and accommodating. The construction on the plaza is supposed to be done by the big reunification celebration in late April 2015, but even so it did not interfere with the visit. Hotel feels a bit dated in the furnishings, but still very pleasant and comfortable. Good breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal Hotel S, Public Relations Manager at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We will try to upgrade our service and facility as soon as possible. Currently, our swimming pool and gyms services are free of charge for in-house guests. We only extra charge for massage service. We hope you are always happy to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this hotel as we had an 8 hour lay over before 9:15pm flight. It was a great base to secure our luggage, get in some last minute shopping at Parkson, Vincom and Saigon Centres as well as Lucky Plaza for bargains. Also nice and clean and quiet room. We had room 612. Great value considering the price of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I went to Ho Chi Minh staying at this hotel last year. It is nearby shopping places and central market, within walking distance. I also enjoyed their breakfast at the hotel, with many choices. Though the surrounding have construction site, you just have to watch the traffic and still not affecting your movement. Hotel price is reasonable and staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I’m a bit concerned when reading online information of street construction nearby the hotel. However the concern was gone because the hotel provided free pick-up service from the airport to door-step of the hotel. Time-consumed walking is not necessary. Taxi and bus public services are ready right front of the hotel, very easy and comfortable. Hotel employees are very friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Paris, France
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

When i check-in, big building works taking place right in front of the hotel. But staffs are friendly, they offer me to pick-up airport and many benefits. Breakfast is wonderful with many choices, rooms are great with room to move around easily. Now, the construction in front (walking street) finished, walking to shopping easier. Otherwise a really great stay so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel last time. We look forward to welcoming you back for the next time soon. Best Regards. More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
6 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

For a 4 star hotel i accepted more. For example, better service from the receptionist with orientation rather than just being handed a map and told to get on with it. The rooms are nice, the beds are big but the bathrooms are poor and look tired. However, the location is very central and the breakfast was very good. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Royal Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thanks you very much for your comment. We try to improve our service and facility to make your stay more comfortable in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back for the next time soon. Best regards. More 

torrevieja
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

When we originally booked we had no option but to pay upfront, unusual for this particular booking company, or if we cancelled we would lose 50%. I am guessing the reason for this is the loss of bookings due to the big building works taking place right in front of the hotel. Well we stayed for 5 nights, in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Royal Hotel S, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We are sorry for any inconveniences caused to you during your stay last time. We will try to upgrade our service and facility as soon as possible. Currently, all vehicles are allowed to pick up and drop off in front of hotel. Hopefully, you feel more comfortable at our hotel... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2015

We've been travelling for a few weeks across Vietnam and this was my last stop. Sadly it was the most disappointing of all the places we have stayed. The construction work outside is unfortunate but it's not that bad however a room which doesn't overlook it would be preferable. The rooms are spacious but felt a bit dated. The bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Based in the central District 1 an absolute gem!!! We arrived in HCMC from the airport and was taken by taxi to the Saigon Royal Hotel which our travel agent had booked incorrectly. Despite having paid upfront my wife and I were so disappointed with the conditions and dirtiness that we immediately contacted the Royal Hotel Saigon who gave us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

261 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (230)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (55)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question