We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saigon Youth Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
241/32 Pham Ngu Lao, Ward Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Saigon Youth Hostel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Ray1995 Singapore, Singapore
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    79
    50
    13
    8
    11
See reviews for
6
15
83
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff were really friendly and were very helpful with helping us in getting a day trip to the mekong and an airport transfer.the toilet was quite dodgy with a poor flush system and temperature controls in the shower but its definitely worth its price- its on a quiet little street and it provides breakfast with excellent coffee!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

I was staying 2 nights, after i have been driving from Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh City on Ho Chi Minh highway on Motorcycle :) The Hostel is place very central in dist 1 and the personale is very friendtly. The only thing there are missing is the possible to park the Motorcycle, but on the public park was it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThaoTruong, Front Office Manager at Saigon Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Np H Thank you very much for your nice review! we are so glad that you found out our central location and friendly staff. You should park your bike in the public parking so It is much safer for your bike. We hope you have a great time during the rest of your travels and we look forward to... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed in Saigon Youth Hostel and were extremely dissapointed. On arrival we were told we couldn't check into our private double room as someone was in it, so we left and later came back after a day out in Ho Chi Minh City. When we returned the rude and ignorant staff member told us (while laughing)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

First thing I noticed when I arrived was how friendly the staff was. Duy, one of the staff, was super patient in answering all my random questions about all things Ho Chi Minh City related, even though it was past midnight when I arrived. However, second thing that I noticed was the 6 stories that I had to climb to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThaoTruong, Front Office Manager at Saigon Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear alienkeren I would like to extend my gratitude to you for sharing feedback from your recent stay with us in Saigon and particularly highlighting our friendly staff. It is disappointing to learn some experience stories from your stay at our hostel.we really appreciate the feedback and will be sure to pass on critical points you've mentioned. We are really... More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Good location, nice staff, WiFi only works in the reception, basic rooms with nice bed. Clean. Good proper working A-C. Very good breakfast. Tickets and tours little bit overpriced but worth the few extra dollars. Would recommend this to everyone!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ThaoTruong, Front Office Manager at Saigon Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jordie T Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your experience at Saigon Youth Hostel. We are so glad that you found out Good location, nice staff,nice bed. Clean.... We are really appreciate that you recommend our hostel to other travelers. we sincerely hope to see you again in the future! Best Regards More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2015

Tucked away in a quiet alley in a busy city. The dorm was neat and cosy. If you ever get lost on your way back to thus hostel at night, just keep an eye out for the friendly "one dollar noodle" woman just along the roadside and you'll know you're there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThaoTruong, Front Office Manager at Saigon Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Michael S What a pleasure to receive your very favorable review of Saigon Youth Hostel. Thank you so much for your recommendation for us as the top choice of accommodation. We are really appreciate that you shared your experiences stay in our hostel to other travelers. We hope you have a nice trip and hope to see you again... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

cheated me on money, i had to pay for tour i never got! faked stretched photos, room small like a prison cell on 5th floor, bad service, no discussion about my money, breakfast till 10 o'clock, not even to get a coffee 10 minutes later

Was this review helpful? Yes
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

the hostel is in a great location even when it can be a bit hard to find it (just the first time), close to lot of shops, travel agencies and a beautiful park the staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are quiet and nice but a bit small for 4 people with backpacks

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015 via mobile

After a terrible first nights stay in HCMC in the worst accommodation imaginable we came across this hostel, it felt like a gift from above, everything was so clean and welcoming with lovely staff. We booked a double room which had air con, clean towels, an ensuite bathroom and cable tv - backpacker luxury! A nights stay comes with free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
State of Sao Paulo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

The hostel is beautiful, clean and with prepared staff. We spent 1 night here and were positively surprised with the quality if compared with other places around with the same price (or more!). Breakfast is also good and they give free coffee and tea during the day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay