We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saigon Backpackers Hostel

373/20 Pham Ngu Lao | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    107
    88
    41
    8
    14
See reviews for
1
29
90
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (258)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hostel back in 2013 and forgot to ever review it. Since then I have recommended it to many other friends who have travelled asia recently and have all loved it as a cosy little stop before they move on up to northern asia. Its friendly laid back any very clean. And I have extremely fond memorys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived at this hostel, they were painting the lobby and that basically captures the place in a nutshell. There is no common space whatsoever, except a gross little kitchen and a very beaten-up pool table that was being used by the painters to hold their stuff. The dorms are dark, dank and unappealing and there is no backpack... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry you had problems during your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We normally don't have problems . However it took us some day to renovate the hostel. We hope you had a great time in the rest travel Sincerely More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

I stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it , the beds were clean, the staff friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was delicious and cooked right in front of you. The common area is small but had a pool table and a huge selections of movies. The beds are a bit noisy but not to bad. There is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

What a pleasure to receive your very favorable review of Saigon Backpackers Hostel. Thank you so much for your recommendation for us as the top choice of accommodation and particularly highlighting our clean bed and bathroom , helpful and friendly staff, delicious breakfast...I am sorry about little noisy you have when staying in our hostel. I sincerely hope to see... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Rooms were very clean and lockers are very spacious with enough room to fit my rucksack and more. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the was no real central communal area to meet other backpackers

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear rachelglutenfree Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback! Thank you so much for your recommend us as a top choice of accomodation and particularly highlighting our clean room, spacious lockers and friendly staff. They are very happy to hear your kindly words. We wish you have a great time during of the rest travel and look forward to... More 

Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015 via mobile

Very nice hostel, clean, spent 3nights in the 4bed dorm, it was exactly what we expected from a backpacker's hostel. The staff was very helpful. If you want to book tours, then go to Venus Hostel, Romeo will get you all the best deals (cu chi tunnels, Mekong delta,...)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Felie Thank you very much for your nice review! we are very happy to hear that you enjoy our helpful staff at Saigon Backpackers hostel. If you want to have any information, you can ask our receptionists to have more information. We are always ready to help you. We hope you have a great time in Ho Chi Minh... More 

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

Not a pretty hostel, but you get what you pay for. Which is almost nothing. There was never toilet paper in the bathrooms, and the common area was to small tables by the reception. Even though it wasn't a pretty sight for the eyes, we stayed there for two nights and it was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Katriiine Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We're sorry you had problems during your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We normally don't have problems because we check the rooms every day. If you have any problem you can come to ask the receptionists.... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We stayed here for two nights. No toilet paper, soap or towels for our stay here. Simple, but friendly place to stay. Not much space to hang our. But it was really cheap, so you cant expect too much. Our AC did not work at first, but they fixed it..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ingrid N Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We are please that you found out friendly place. We're sorry you had problems during your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We normally don't have problems because we deliver toilet paper to all rooms every... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

I was there for 3 nights and I liked it very well. While it was difficult to get there first, since it is in a small side street, but it is also quiet. The staff is very helpful and courteous. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Highlight are the beds which are very wide, which is unusual in hostels. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Octavia C Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We are so pleased that you have a great time with us and used the most of all our facilities. We are very happy that you found out our helpful and courteous staffs, wide beds... Thank you for your endorsement of our best location and excellent service. We hope... More 

North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

I made a reservation before I came here, suddenly, there is a bad review about this place which make me a little worry about my stay. But nothing happened, I stayed in a dorm room for female but when I came to the room, someone took my bed, and maybe all beds in the room, the staffs were really suprised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear FeiZhenaiChan Thank you very much for your story! it is a memory that We can not forget. were really worried that you would be upset about your stay.But It was really lucky that you enjoyed your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. Our receptionists had try their best to make you pleasure. They are very happy to hear your kindly... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The best thing about Saigon Backpackers Hostel are the people who work there. Everyone I met was laughing friendly at me, and the receptionists helped us out a lot with arranging the room, the bus, and a free guided tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vi T, General Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Tommo Thank you very much for your nice review! It always happy to hear that you enjoy our friendly staff at Saigon Backpackers hostel. Your endorsement of our helpful staff is positive reinforcement of our team's goals. We hope you have a great time in Ho Chi Minh City. We look forward to welcoming back to Saigon Backpackers Hostel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#21 of 396 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#2 of 298 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 491 reviews
30.0 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#7 of 298 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Saigon Youth Hostel
Saigon Youth Hostel
#24 of 298 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#1 of 298 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#9 of 298 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay