We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 206 Ho Chi Minh City accommodations

Saigon Backpackers Hostel

373/20 Pham Ngu Lao | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Saigon Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
76%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
大輔 小 Osakasayama-shi, Osaka, Japan
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    65
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
17
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Osakasayama-shi, Osaka, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

shower room and bed room is very clean ! It is very enjoy hotel so this hotel has DVD and pool! Let's stay here(^^) Staff are very nice and speak good english. breakfast simple but tatse good. i feel home here

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your wonderful review regarding your stay with us at Saigon Backpackers Hostel! It's always happy to hear great feedback of our facilities and staff. We really hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, The Team at Saigon Backpackers Hostel More

California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here for 2nights only but i did have a home atmosphere. The staff are helpful and professional, they helped me every situation. Especially the guy name Hieu, we worked the stressful shift but still have a revive mind to open the gate when you get back late. The hostel is locatied in a quiet place and safe. I will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for your great review. Im really pleased that you found out home atmosphere and lovely staff at Saigon Backpackers hostel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Best Regards, The Team at Saigon Backpackers Hostel More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed with my boyfriend on the fifth floor for three nights. Workers understood English so it was really helpful. But the room was pretty disappointing. There were bugs everywhere; especially the shower room. The shower didn't work so we had to wash ourselves from the sink. The aircon was great! Towels were kind of dirty. The bed was huge(queen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Filthy, smelly, with very odd staff and atmosphere. Down a rather dodgy alley- don't believe the good reviews!! Especially if you are a girl or travelling alone. There are many nice places nearby that will accommodate you for a cheaper price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us. We're sorry you had problems with Filthy, smelly, with very odd staff and atmosphere in our hostel. We normally don't have problems because we clean and check the rooms every day. However it gets a few minutes... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in this hostel for 3 nights while looking for a motorbike to ride up to Hanoi. Breakfast was included in the already cheap price and was good. The hostel really stands out for its staff. While sitting downstairs I started talking to the guy who works the front desk, Eric. He gave me some advice on looking for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank so much for giving us such a great review, it's what we love to see! We're so glad you loved your stay with us and we hope to see you at Saigon Back Packers Hostel again soon. Kind Regards, The Team at Saigon Backpackers Hostel More

Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for 2 nights in a 4 bed female dorm. It was clean & the bed was really comfortable! Its affordable and comes with free breakfast. Theres a pool table, game consoles, tv and computer at the common space beside the reception. Its located at District 1, right smack at the central area. The location of the hostel is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write it, you've given some wonderful feedback. we really appreciate it and hope to see you at Saigon Backpackers Hostel again soon. Kind regards, The Team at Saigon Backpackers Hostel More

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hostel, the staffs are very helpful and friendly. Help to find useful tour with value for money. Give a lot information about the city. I can put my bag here for free when I was going to Cambodia. The room is very clean and the breakfast was good. Very recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the lovely review! We're so glad you had such a great stay with us in our hostel and that you loved with our staff, we sincerely hope to see you again in the future! Kind Regards, The Team at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. More

Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed there in last April, everything is awesome. This hotel is well equipped and well located. In the city center, the tourists can easily go to other places, look for restaurants and convenient stores. Staffs are friendly and quick responded.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks so much for the great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us and we hope we get to see you again in the future! Kind Regards, More

Toulouse, Midi-Pyrénées, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very friendly and helpful staff. you feel like home here. i went to this hostel each time i was in hcmc (3 stays in total). one receptionist from the hotel showed me around the city and invited me to eat local food. great time together. very comfortable accomodation : air con in bedroom, and living room with computers and english... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Thank so much for giving us such a great review, and we really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travellers! We hope to see you at Saigon Backpackers Hostel again during your future travels. Kind Regards, The Team at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. More

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have stayed in this hostel for 14 days and I can recommend it, as it is clean,quiet (no street noise), breakfast is included, and of course internet! and last but not least: very friendly (for example Eric :) and helpful staff with good english speaking skills

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your review of Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much hope to see you again during your travels. Best Regards More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Saigon Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Saigon Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Backpackers Hostel

Address: 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Saigon Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Ho Chi Minh City with
any amenities