We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Saigon Backpackers Hostel

373/20 Pham Ngu Lao | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Saigon Backpackers Hostel
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    77
    37
    8
    12
See reviews for
1
25
79
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (220)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Bloemendaal, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hostel for 2 nights and it was great! Aircon, WiFi, free internet access on computers, free easy breakfast, tv, laundry service, hot showers, comfy beds, clean rooms, not noisy, friendly staff and really cheap!! Because I was on the third floor, the WiFi wasn't always working great but that's about the only bad thing I have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was there in December ,the hostel quite comfortable and cheap. Near to shopping mall and museum. The hostel is clean with aircon,hot shower,wifi and breakfast.I love this hostel very much. If I got chance to be there again I will stray this hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms are cheap, clean, have aircon and bathroom was one of the best i have seen in hostels. Eric was a great host very helpful with helping with tours, buses and has a great knowledge of the area, even helped me sell my bike. I will defiantly be returning here on my next trip. Cheers... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Riga, Riga, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In my trip to Saigon, i decide to stay in sg backpackers hostel, The staff were very friendly un very helpful. Breakfast were eny options. Wifi works very good. Dorm rooms were clean and new. My favorite hostel in HCMC.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

my 2 friends and I had a 4d3n trip to saigon. so we stayed at this hostel for 3 nights. I booked it from expedia for 2 person only. so I add one person under my booking name. I have informed then earlier about this matter. but during my check in, there are not enough bed for my friend in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear shafikashinee Thank you for taking the time to write us a review about your experience at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We are so glad that you found out good breakfast, high speed internet, quiet place . We sincerely apologize for little smelly toilet. We are really appreciate that you recommend our hostel to other travelers. we sincerely hope to see... More 

Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On my travel's to HCMC, Vietnam we landed with no reservations but was able to book a room for a night here. We liked it so much we stayed a lot longer. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were very comfortable and clean. We stayed in both private and shared rooms. This hostel was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear jakebakeycakey Your feedback and kind words are truly appreciated by our staff at Saigon Backpacker Hostel . Our staff is very happy to hear you enjoyed their helpful and friendly. Your kindly words motivate us to do the good job. Please let us know when you plan to visit us again. We wish you the best with all of... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel offers great value for the amount of money you pay to stay here. The staff is very helpful and always gives great advice about what to do and see in Saigon. The hostel is very cozy and they even have a common room with a two computers, a pool table, a nice couch with lots of pillows, a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Erik Thank you very much for your kindly words. We are so pleased you had such a great time with us and made the most of all our facilities. We hope you have a nice trip to the North of Vietnam and a great time during the rest of your travels and we look forward to seeing you again... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friends and I stayed in Saigon Backpackers for 3 nights and overall we were very pleased. The first two nights we booked in Agoda website for 6.7 $ each for a night, and when we decided to stay for another night we told the receptionist directly. Our stay was great, but when we checked out the receptionist told us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear נועה ד Thank you very much for your nice feedback! We are really happy to hear that you enjoy the location, friendly staff, breakfast.... in your recent stay. We sincerely apology for the annoyed situation you meet when you check out. We really hope you have a great experience for the rest travel. Best Regards More 

Cologne, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading the reviews it was not what i expected. The driver from the airport pick up dropped me off at the wrong hotel. After finally arriving at saigon backpackers i was disappointed. The hostel is down a dirty alley. The hostel is very basic but quite clean. The area is good you can do everything by food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear sarahs Thank you very much for your stay with us at Saigon Backpackers hostel. We are sorry you had problems during your stay at Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We are so glad that you found out good area and clean room. We hope you enjoy other service and facility in the hostel. We hope you have a great time during... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The actual hotel and room were pretty decent. The experience I had really tainted my image of this place. First off, this place is hard to find. It has the same name as another hostel on the main drag, which starts off making it confusing. This hostel is in a little alley that opens onto a market near the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vi T, Front Office Manager at Saigon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Michael U Thank you so much taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us in Saigon Backpackers Hostel. We are sorry about your problems during your stay wit us at the hostel.For the same name hostel, The other one is our branch so it must be the same name with us but we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Saigon Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Backpackers Hostel

Address: 373/20 Pham Ngu Lao | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Saigon Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay