We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 679 Ho Chi Minh City B&Bs / inns

Thanh Thuong Guesthouse

241 / 6 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thanh Thuong Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ranked #39 of 679 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014
Romain P Geneva, Switzerland
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    29
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
54
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The location of this hostel is perfect, in the "backpacker area", with plenty of restaurants and bars. The price is good, but as I have tried other hostels in the area, you can get better options for the same price. Nothing to blame about this hostel, nothing was bad, but nothing was exceptional neither. The family was very helpful, even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I liked the location down an alley with little restaurants and guesthouses,. The family were helpful as mentioned by other reviewers the enterance is their family room which wasnt a problem ( all the hotels in this alley were the same.) My only problem was the bed I had booked for two nights and tge bed was painful to sleep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

District 1 is a veritable hub of hostels, guesthouses and cheap b and b's and is the heart of the backpacker community in the bustling city of Ho Chi Minh. Finding a place to crash is very easy but finding a nice establishment which puts you instantly at ease in the second capital of Vietnam is more tricky. This is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

we was recommended this hotel by our friends as a super friendly,comfortable hotel,and the recommending of our friends went right.we had a lovely stay here,room was comfortable,clean.it was great to stay in a place away from all the hustle and bustle of the city,yet onlly a short walk to the centre, the family was so helpful to help us to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at this guesthouse for 3 nights and I enjoyed my stay overall. The guesthouse is in the really cool alley which has a few street food options which was cool and it's super close to the backpacking street. The staff were really friendly and they sat us down and discussed the places to visit in Saigon and how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just spent one night in this hostel and were quite surprised after reading such good reviews. The rooms is average size but overall unclean and full on little ants. The bathroom smelled and prevented us from sleeping well. Overall it is quite an average place for us. We booked a taxi at reception at 5am and got woken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We loved it! We liked the host, the location, the room... everything in order. Excellent value for money and you get to meet the entire family that run this guesthouse, watch TV with them, chat and they are very friendly and helpful. A little hard to find, but very charming and nice... It could only be better if rooms had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Firstly its down an alley by the main bakery so keep your eyes peeled or you'll miss it! The bathroom was ok but the sink leaked and smelt a bit funky. The wifi was good. The staff were maybe a bit too efficient giving a bit of a cold feel. Excellent location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

When my girlfriend and me were coming to this place we just did it because the Vy Khanh guesthouse was full and apparently this place is owned by a cousin of Vy so we thought ok, fine. For me the Hostel was clean, safe and calm, the wifi was functioning. So far so good, but the rest around it, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThanhThuong, Manager at Thanh Thuong Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our guesthouse. Firstly, we were surprised to hear that you felt unconfortable while staying with us. As we remember, we did say hello and goodbye with you, but you ignored us; thus we figured you didn't want to be bothered. We thought we had served you well. Even after check-out, we offered to store... More

Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is one of dozens of guesthouses in the alley. So all you have to do is walk 50 metres and there are many others. My biggest complaint was the bed. The mattress was not firm and as I have back problems, I've been walking around with stiff joints all day. Also, there's very little sitting space here. The couch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thanh_Thuong_87, Manager at Thanh Thuong Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply and comments. We were sorry to hear that you didn't have a restful night with us. Honestly, you are the first customers to complain about having too soft of bed. If this issue was brought up during your stay with us, we could have done something to make your stay more comfortable. As well, since... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thanh Thuong Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Thuong Guesthouse

Address: 241 / 6 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Thanh Thuong Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay