We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 617 Ho Chi Minh City B&Bs / inns

Thanh Thuong Guesthouse

241 / 6 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thanh Thuong Guesthouse to your Saves list
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
87%
Ranked #33 of 617 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Theroamingdrinkers London, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (102)
  • Photos (22)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (17)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    29
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
52
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

District 1 is a veritable hub of hostels, guesthouses and cheap b and b's and is the heart of the backpacker community in the bustling city of Ho Chi Minh. Finding a place to crash is very easy but finding a nice establishment which puts you instantly at ease in the second capital of Vietnam is more tricky. This is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

we was recommended this hotel by our friends as a super friendly,comfortable hotel,and the recommending of our friends went right.we had a lovely stay here,room was comfortable,clean.it was great to stay in a place away from all the hustle and bustle of the city,yet onlly a short walk to the centre, the family was so helpful to help us to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stayed at this guesthouse for 3 nights and I enjoyed my stay overall. The guesthouse is in the really cool alley which has a few street food options which was cool and it's super close to the backpacking street. The staff were really friendly and they sat us down and discussed the places to visit in Saigon and how... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We have just spent one night in this hostel and were quite surprised after reading such good reviews. The rooms is average size but overall unclean and full on little ants. The bathroom smelled and prevented us from sleeping well. Overall it is quite an average place for us. We booked a taxi at reception at 5am and got woken... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We loved it! We liked the host, the location, the room... everything in order. Excellent value for money and you get to meet the entire family that run this guesthouse, watch TV with them, chat and they are very friendly and helpful. A little hard to find, but very charming and nice... It could only be better if rooms had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Firstly its down an alley by the main bakery so keep your eyes peeled or you'll miss it! The bathroom was ok but the sink leaked and smelt a bit funky. The wifi was good. The staff were maybe a bit too efficient giving a bit of a cold feel. Excellent location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

When my girlfriend and me were coming to this place we just did it because the Vy Khanh guesthouse was full and apparently this place is owned by a cousin of Vy so we thought ok, fine. For me the Hostel was clean, safe and calm, the wifi was functioning. So far so good, but the rest around it, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThanhThuong, Manager at Thanh Thuong Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our guesthouse. Firstly, we were surprised to hear that you felt unconfortable while staying with us. As we remember, we did say hello and goodbye with you, but you ignored us; thus we figured you didn't want to be bothered. We thought we had served you well. Even after check-out, we offered to store... More

Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is one of dozens of guesthouses in the alley. So all you have to do is walk 50 metres and there are many others. My biggest complaint was the bed. The mattress was not firm and as I have back problems, I've been walking around with stiff joints all day. Also, there's very little sitting space here. The couch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thanh_Thuong_87, Manager at Thanh Thuong Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply and comments. We were sorry to hear that you didn't have a restful night with us. Honestly, you are the first customers to complain about having too soft of bed. If this issue was brought up during your stay with us, we could have done something to make your stay more comfortable. As well, since... More

Munich, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The guesthouse is convienently located near the main backpacker area and the big market in HCMC. We were only staying there for two nights, the room was clean and we managed to get a good sleep although it was on Chinese New Year. But the best thing about the guesthouse was its staff - they helped us organise bus tickets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The location is great!! Staff are very friendly! We stayed for just one night but got a good sleep. Beds are a little hard but that is to be expected. Rooms are also small but again that is standard for a big city. We were satisfied with our stay and would return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Thanh Thuong Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Thanh Thuong Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Thuong Guesthouse

Address: 241 / 6 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Thanh Thuong Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to our family owned friendly hotel opened 2010; offering clean, comfortable and quiet rooms in the heart of Pham Ngu Lao at excellent rates. We offer a range of services to ensure your stay with us is a happy one. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer