We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 586 Ho Chi Minh City B&Bs / inns

Thanh Thuong Guesthouse

241 / 6 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Thanh Thuong Guesthouse to your Saves list
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Hostelworld.com HostelBookers.com
87%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Dexter G Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    28
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
50
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Firstly its down an alley by the main bakery so keep your eyes peeled or you'll miss it! The bathroom was ok but the sink leaked and smelt a bit funky. The wifi was good. The staff were maybe a bit too efficient giving a bit of a cold feel. Excellent location!

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When my girlfriend and me were coming to this place we just did it because the Vy Khanh guesthouse was full and apparently this place is owned by a cousin of Vy so we thought ok, fine. For me the Hostel was clean, safe and calm, the wifi was functioning. So far so good, but the rest around it, I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ThanhThuong, Manager at Thanh Thuong Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our guesthouse. Firstly, we were surprised to hear that you felt unconfortable while staying with us. As we remember, we did say hello and goodbye with you, but you ignored us; thus we figured you didn't want to be bothered. We thought we had served you well. Even after check-out, we offered to store... More

Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is one of dozens of guesthouses in the alley. So all you have to do is walk 50 metres and there are many others. My biggest complaint was the bed. The mattress was not firm and as I have back problems, I've been walking around with stiff joints all day. Also, there's very little sitting space here. The couch... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thanh_Thuong_87, Manager at Thanh Thuong Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your reply and comments. We were sorry to hear that you didn't have a restful night with us. Honestly, you are the first customers to complain about having too soft of bed. If this issue was brought up during your stay with us, we could have done something to make your stay more comfortable. As well, since... More

Munich, Germany
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

The guesthouse is convienently located near the main backpacker area and the big market in HCMC. We were only staying there for two nights, the room was clean and we managed to get a good sleep although it was on Chinese New Year. But the best thing about the guesthouse was its staff - they helped us organise bus tickets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

The location is great!! Staff are very friendly! We stayed for just one night but got a good sleep. Beds are a little hard but that is to be expected. Rooms are also small but again that is standard for a big city. We were satisfied with our stay and would return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
REDDITCH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Good location,for backpacker areaand for local and opennbus stops / offices. , But it is a bit hard to find, Clean and tidy, friendly staff and good Wi-Fi. Also to computers you can use for free in reception. Unfortunately there was a bit of noise from building work next door, from 7am, this should only be temporarily. You can get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night. Booked it because of the good reviews but it was way below what we've expected. The only 2 nice person were the guys who did our check-in. The rest of the staff was not friendly at all. Saw that they received an award for "Cleanliness 2013" but I still don't get why. The double room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Strange location in the alley, which is forgivable because you are in the middle of District 1. Room was mediocre. Nothing special. Constant water dripping from the ceiling above the toilet was a bit annoying. Construction next door was a hindrance to sleep. You take your shoes off at the entrance, which was a bit odd. It is cheap, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this place is a little hard to find down an alleyway but it is well worth searching for. The room was nothing special but clean and comfortable with good A/C and very good value for money. We had a private bathroom which was clean and functional. The highlight though is the staff. We had an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Despite the initially strange location down an alley we came to love this guesthouse! The staff are fantastic, rooms clean and comfortable and location excellent. We stayed here 3 times as we left our bags to go on the Mekong delta tour and to Phu Quoc Island for several days. Had no worries about leaving our luggage and happy to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Thanh Thuong Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Thuong Guesthouse

Also Known As:
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Thanh Thuong Guesthouse Hotel
Address: 241 / 6 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 586 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned friendly hotel opened 2010; offering clean, comfortable and quiet rooms in the heart of Pham Ngu Lao at excellent rates. We offer a range of services to ensure your stay with us is a happy one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Thanh Thuong Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thanh Thuong Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.