We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 140 Hanoi accommodations

Somerset West Lake

4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   No 254D Thuy Khue Road, Hanoi, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Somerset West Lake to your Saves list
Somerset West Lake
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
82%
Ranked #19 of 140 Specialty lodging in Hanoi
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
EvavanAalst Breda, The Netherlands
  • Overview
  • Reviews (39)
  • Photos (63)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
10
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for three weeks. For me the location was great, since it was close to my work and I stayed there for business. However, it is quite far from the old quarter and other Hanoi sights, and there are no restaurants in the neighborhood. The restaurant in the hotel was mediocre. They have quite a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James L, General Manager at Somerset West Lake, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are glad to learn that you are generally happy with our property. We acknowledge your concerns regarding the quality and limited choices of beverages served at the restaurant and regret that we were unable to meet your expectations. Your feedback will be shared with the F&B operator and... More

Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

With our experience of somerset serviced apartments in Singapore, Bangkok and Melbourne, Hanoi westlake was disappointing. The rooms though clean had an air of neglect. The breakfast was adequate although the coffee was terrible. Vietnamese coffee is great and the one served during breakfast was the commercial instant variety. Staff was polite and had some English language skills. Easy access... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James L, General Manager at Somerset West Lake, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with our property. We have shared your feedback on the coffee served during breakfast to the F&B operator and we will continue to work with them to improve the quality. We are glad that you liked the service of our staff and the location... More

Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for nine nights. We chose it over staying in a hotel because we wanted to be able to make snacks and do the laundry (we were in Vietnam for 25 nights and did a couple of side trips from Hanoi). The apartment was not luxurious but was clean, bright and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James L, General Manager at Somerset West Lake, responded to this review

Dear FloridaGirl2012, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our service. I am sorry to hear that there were some issues with the home appliances. I am glad that our guest services staff... More

Mooroolbark, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at Somerset West Lake with friends and found the apartment style accommodation great value. We had two, two bedroom apartments which had good views over the lake and one (588) had a huge deck overlooking pool & lake. Facilities are excellent with huge pool, adequate sized gym and good value restaurant. Staff had good English and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James L, General Manager at Somerset West Lake, responded to this review

Dear Cuzza42, Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your compliments about our serviced residence during your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our facilities and service. At Somerset West Lake, we always strive to offer warm, welcoming and friendly service coupled with a homely environment and settings. We look... More

Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here for a little over a week early April. The staff was for the most part courteous and friendly (though none spoke great English) and the room was nice (we stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment with a nice view of the West Lake). The kids' play indoor area needed a bit of cleaning, and it's true the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James L, General Manager at Somerset West Lake, responded to this review

Dear BlancaParis, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. We noted your feedback on the children indoor playroom and wet corridor. We are sorry about that and have taken steps to improve the condition of those areas. We have highlighted your feedback on the breakfast... More

West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The room felt damp and musty, lots of condensation on the windows. The carpet around the bed area was in need of a clean. Not enough hot water, for a bath. The shower was very poor and flooded the bathroom. All the equipment was tired and the bed had an odd smell, bedding felt damp. The breakfast was very poor,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin_Lekeume, Manager at Somerset West Lake, responded to this review

Dear Shirley, I am deeply sorry to read that your recent stay with us was a disappointing one. Thank you for your review. As high standards of maintenance and cleanliness are part of our top priorities, we have immediately addressed the issues you raised in your feedback to see that others residents do not encounter similar inconvenience in the future.... More

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

After going through the crazy traffic of HaNoi, it is nice to arrive at Somerset to a quiet, clean room with fully equipped kitchenette, and even a mini laundry washer. The WiFi was not working at first but the technician quickly fixed it. Great cozy hotel located right in the West Lake area. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin_Lekeume, Manager at Somerset West Lake, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Somerset West Lake Hanoi. I am pleased to learn you view Somerset West Lake as a peaceful retreat . I do hope that you also had the opportunity to enjoy the picturesque view of West Lake from the comfort... More

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hotel is clean and fully equipped with a small kitchen. There is also free wifi provided throughout the hotel and the surfing speed is good. Only setback is that breakfast choices are limited and there are not many eateries nearby the hotel. I will recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet place in West Lake to relax.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin_Lekeume, Manager at Somerset West Lake, responded to this review

Dear Goh Jim, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review following your recent stay with us at Somerset West Lake Hanoi. Sounds like you had a relaxing time during your visit to Hanoi. It is pleasing to learn that you had an overall enjoyable experience during your stay with us, from the comfort of your... More

Whitehorse, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was a great stay. The room was beautiful, great décor and the view of West Lake was superb. The facilities were excellent including the gym and the pool. Breakfast was very good and offered a lot of selection. Great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kevin_Lekeume, Manager at Somerset West Lake, responded to this review

Dear Jeannie K, Thank you so much for your complimentary review! I am very pleased to learn of your delightful experience, especially given that it was your first time staying at Somerset West Lake Hanoi. I appreciate the time taken to share your review with the TripAdvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warmest Regards, Kevin Lekeume More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My family stayed here for 9 nights and the two bedroom apartment was great for the four of us. Friendly staff, in front of house and behind the scenes. They even assisted with me making railway bookings. The West Lake is located close to old quarter but out of the mayhem, but also close to the hip parts of Tay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kevin_Lekeume, Manager at Somerset West Lake, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Andrew B, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us at Somerset West Lake Hanoi. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities. We hope to see welcome you again Kind regards More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Somerset West Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Somerset West Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset West Lake

Address: No 254D Thuy Khue Road, Hanoi, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset West Lake 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Somerset West Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset West Lake Hanoi
Somerset West Lake Hotel Hanoi

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Hanoi with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With landscaped gardens and a quiet open-air environment, you can experience high standards of Hanoi’s serviced accommodation in these spacious apartments. The ideal corporate housing for the international executive and family on project assignment or relocation. The residences are convenient for business while also being close to international schools, shopping and entertainment. The landscaped gardens and spacious apartments with a scenic view of the West Lake provide the security and comfort of private accommodations with the extensive services and facilities desired while on international assignment in Hanoi.With a lush greenery and picturesque view of the West Lake from a private balcony, terrace or compound private garden, each of the spacious apartments is elegantly decorated and fully furnished. The 90 studio, one, two and three-bedroom residences are designed with a variety of layout options so that you can choose the apartment that suits your individual needs. The slate tile and/or wooden floors in the livingareas and carpeted bedrooms, and fully-equipped kitchens provide comfortable and luxurious accommodations for international executives and familiesITailored to meet the individual need of the international executive and family while on business travel or relocation, the services and facilities are extensive and innovative. With shuttle bus services to destinations in the city, quarterly social events and residents' programmes, you can experience and enjoy the culture of Vietnam while living and enjoying Hanoi’s serviced accommodation at its best.24-hour security & receptionDaily breakfastIn-house cafeFully-equipped gymnasiumBusiness centre servicesWireless Internet (WiFi) accessOutdoor swimming pool and children's poolTelephone with IDD & voicemail facilitiesChildren's playgroundChildren's indoor playroomLaundry & dry cleaning servicesBabysitting serviceGrocery delivery serviceDoctor on-callDaily housekeeping service (except Sundays)Room serviceQuarterly social events / residents' programmesFully-equipped kitchenTelevision with satellite & cable channelsWater filtration systemMulti-split air-conditioning & heatingShuttle bus services within the city on fixed scheduleCarpark ... more   less 
Number of rooms
90

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Somerset West Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer