We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanoi Backpackers Hostel

48 Ngo Huyen | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Hanoi Backpackers Hostel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #32 of 193 Specialty Lodging in Hanoi
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
ab86829z
Add Photo Write a Review

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    230
    222
    120
    44
    30
See reviews for
3
94
197
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (646)
  • Mar-May only
    (151)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (181)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (144)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (170)
All months
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ok, this is my story, as i had never stayed in this hostel before. And at around 19h in 30th July 2015. I came to this hostel to meet my clients who are 6 people from Netherland. Just stepped through the door, a girl (staff) standed up & asked: "where are you going?". I answered: i come here to meet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A friend and I stayed in a private room at the Downtown Hostel in Hanoi for two nights. Unfortunately it was the first stop of out trip so we didn't appreciate quite how expensive it was at 50 dollars a night. The room was pretty nice however, and we had a great time at the bar with other travellers. Also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newry, Co Down
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great hostel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The roof bar is cheap and a great spot to meet other travellers. Dorm and bathroom were clean. Nice restaurants to eat in nearby. Nightly pub crawls. A good atmosphere but not too loud at night. All in all a great stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaysiaVBH, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Sinead, It's awesome to hear that you appreciated the hostels cleanliness, staff and atmosphere! We strive to create a social and fun environment for our guests so it's great to know that we accomplished that in your eyes. All the best with your future travels! More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night because we had heard so much about it. The rooms and bathrooms are really clean. Bar downstairs is great, lots of fun and staff really get people involved. Staff are super helpful and give you impartial advice on your further travels. Breakfast is free and really nice. Castaway trip was amazing. Slightly annoying that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaysiaVBH, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Tara, thank you for your awesome review of our hostel and Castaways tour! It's fantastic to hear that you enjoyed not only our facilities but also our amazing staff - I'll be sure to pass along your feedback to Lockie, Rory and Courtney. Safe travels! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved this place I overstayed 2 nights in Hanoi because I was enjoying myself so much! Excellent if you are traveling alone and looking for socialising and a bit of a party. Also booked Halong bay castaways with them and it was hands down highlight of my trip!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaysiaVBH, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Kristen, Thank you for your awesome review of the hostel and positive feedback on the social atmosphere we strive to create for our guests. It's also amazing to hear that our Castaways Halong Bay trip was a highlight for you. Hope you've been having a beautiful adventure since you've left us! More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The main bonus to this place is the foreign staff who were amazing! Particularly Kyle and a lovely Canadian girl whose name eludes me! The food was also incredible- the nachos were out of this world. We had fun and met some lovely people. The problem we encountered was the Vietnamese staff members. I was injured- and had to visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaysiaVBH, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review as we are always looking for ways to improve our service. It's great to hear that you enjoyed our western staff and got your nacho fix while here. As for out Vietnamese staff, we pride ourselves on employing young motivated students who enjoying communicating with our guests and practicing... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hanoi Backpackers was exactly what we expected from a hostel- very busy with lots of young backpackers. Mainly Canadian, Australian and British. The dorms were big and beds were clean. Each bed had a locker underneath for bags although only 50% of our locks worked. The bathrooms were also big and showers were powerful and hot. The hostel had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaysiaVBH, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Beth, thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback on your stay - we appreciate it. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the social atmosphere that we strive to create along with the free breakfast, dorm cleanliness and hostel staff. Would love to see you back in the future. Happy travels! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed here 1 night in Jan 2014 only as I encountered rude occupants (after booking 6 nights). Arrived in late from Siem Reap and arrived to the party hostel atmosphere - every one having drinks downstairs. After being shown my room - a couple sleeping already at 9pm, and we had woken them up by entering. They started complaining as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaysiaVBH, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel as we appreciate your feedback. From the sounds of it, you stayed at the Downtown location which does host nightly events in the downstairs bar but it closes at 11pm as to not disrupt our sleeping guests. If you're every back in Hanoi, you may want to check out our... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

It seems to be always crowded at the common area but the environment does not seem to be "friendly". The private room isn't nice either. Could still see some stains on the bed sheet. Well what do you expect from a hostel :(

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaysiaVBH, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Send Peow, thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. In response to your feedback, I have spoken to all staff regarding customer service, focusing on the housekeeping department as stained linen is completely unacceptable by our hostels standards. Also a stock of new linen has been ordered so this will not be an issue for future... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

Iv you travel alone or with friends and you want to meet people, this is your place! Amazing atmosphere, it has a bar in the hostel and has great tours to offer (castaways tour to halong bay is amazing). I planned go travrl alone in vietnam and from the first day i met so many people thanks to backpackers hostel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlaysiaVBH, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Gabriella, I am glad that you had an excellent stay with us and that you the enjoyed the social atmosphere that we try to create within the hostel. And of course it's great to hear that you had an amazing Castaways experience as well. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences, we would love to see... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Hostel
Hanoi Hostel
#10 of 193 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hanoi Youth Hostel
Hanoi Youth Hostel
#9 of 193 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel
Little Hanoi Hostel
#5 of 193 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#4 of 193 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay