We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 110 Hanoi accommodations

Hanoi Backpackers Hostel

48 Ngo Huyen | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hanoi Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Hanoi Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
72%
Ranked #15 of 110 Specialty lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
nomadgirl1993 Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    141
    75
    24
    22
See reviews for
2
57
130
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Spent about 4 nights here and loved it. The food was great and the staff were so lovely. The bar would have somewhat of a party every night with the staff taking you to clubs later on. Extremely friendly vibe and homelike atmosphere. Experience it for yourself!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Party oriented hostel, but since there's a 12 midnight curfew in Hanoi, you're still able to sleep. The beds were comfy and there's a nice small locker next to your reading light for your valuables. The lockers under the bed were large, but several of them were broken. The atmosphere is very lively and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Technically, it is a very good hostel. It's clean, there's keycard systems to get into rooms, it's modern, in a good location, has a sociable bar area downstairs and helps guests book tours through them etc. I arrived from a 16 hour night bus and they let me sleep on the top floor on the sofas until I could check... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks heaps for your recent review of our hostel. This page is for the Original hostel where I feel you would have been more suited as it is is much smaller, intimate and has a ‘homely’ feel to it. Hopefully you can give it a look if you return to Hanoi. We are soon to introduce a special Vietnamese menu... More

Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I backpacked with my brother. We had wonderful time there, very friendly staffs, cheap drinks, great location at the Ho Kiem Lake and very party oriented. If you are looking to have some fun in Hanoi, you have my recommendation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks loads for your great review. We are always very happy when a fellow backpacker has a great time! Enjoy the rest of your trip. Thanks - VBH Manager. More

london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you're a young backpacker and want to have some fun then Hanoi BackPacker's Hostel is THE place to stay. The dorms are clean and staff friendly. I stayed in both the new and old backpacker hostels. Both were great. The new one has large communal toilets and showers and the old one has on suite shared showers and toilets.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review of our hostel and we are very pleased you chose to spend Christmas and NY with us, we all agree that is was lots of fun! We look forward to seeing you again. Enjoy the rest of your travels. VBH Crew Manager More

Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was traveling with my friend (2 girls in their mid-twenties). This hostel is the reason we fell in love with Hanoi. The staff are all unbelievably friendly and there are always activities to get involved with. My friend and I reserved a private room at the Original Backpacker Hostel and it was wonderful. The breakfast was great and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi caroline, Thanks for your feedback and we are very pleased you loved our hostels and Castaways tour. Even better to hear you had the time of your life!! Thanks again and I hope the rest of your trip was as awesome as your stay with us!! VBH Crew Manager. More

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here in July 2013. I was backpacking solo and I made tonnes of friends through the hostel and the castaway tour. I met people through this and we traveled down Vietnam together. Good vibes. If you're looking for a hostel with good parties and a lively atmosphere Hanoi Backpackers is the spot to be. I stayed briefly in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Connor, Thanks heaps for your review of our hostel. Always pleases us to hear our fellow backpackers make loads of friends at the hostel and whilst on the Castaways trip and then get the chance to travel the country with your new found friends! Hope the rest of Vietnam was just as awesome. Thanks again - VBH Crew Manager. More

Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This review is for the Hanoi Backpackers location near St. Joseph Cathedral. I'll preface this review by disclosing that we are a married couple in our early thirties. We are budget travelers and still like to have fun, so we often stay in hostels and other budget accommodations to save money and meet fun people. We booked a private room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi guys, Thanks for your review of our hostel. We have taken on board your comments regarding our private rooms and are currently in the process of improving these to a higher standard so your comments are much appreciated. (Pictures of these improvements will be up soon). We have also recently sent our management out to Ha Long Bay with... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights. My dorm (in the main building) was noisy since there is a rooftop bar and a bar next to the hostel. I could hear the music til 2.30 am. Big locker under the bed is nice for all your stuff. The bed was good but a big hard. The bathroom is simple but Nice and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Rowan, Thanks for your review of the hostel and I am pleased you had a good time. Our Rooftop bar closes at 9.30pm for the comfort of our guests but we have had problems with the bar next door. We have now spoken to the owner of this bar and the local authorities and this noise problem has now... More

Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We started off in a private room but then moved in to the dorm as we found they were clean, spacious, and not too noisy (travelling as a pair usually works out to be the same price or a dollar more each to get a private room with a bathroom etc). The rooftop bar is a great place to meet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jason R, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Amysauras! Thanks for taking the time to review our Hostel, we're stoked you loved it. Thanks also for the feedback on the Halong Bay trips we sell for other operators. The situation you described is of concern to us, and has brought this problem to our attention, so thanks again! We have spoken to our supplier and identified the... More

Been to Hanoi Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Backpackers Hostel

Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi
Address: 48 Ngo Huyen | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 110 Specialty lodging in Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hanoi Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.