We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 128 Hanoi accommodations

Hanoi Backpackers Hostel

48 Ngo Huyen | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0, Vietnam
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hanoi Backpackers Hostel to your Saves list
Hanoi Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #16 of 128 Specialty lodging in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
JDJoel Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (450)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (38)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (74)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    149
    85
    30
    23
See reviews for
2
62
142
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 5 nights plus a trip to Ha Long Bay... My advice? Line your stomach. If It's your thing the party vibe here is amazing. Everyone gets together at the downstairs bar for happy hour then heads out after the crowd from the other hostel turns up. Huge party ensues. Everyone's happy! Did the backpacker's Ha Long Bay trip,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Joel, Thanks for your great review of our hostel and we are really pleased you had a blast on our Castaways Ha Long Bay trip. All the best for your future travels. VBH Crew Manager. More

Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the private room for two nights. It was pretty average and not that comfortable. The price was not great either but in the interest of fairness we were not looking for somewhere to drink and go on pub crawls etc and thus much of the value of this place was lost on us. If I was staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Conor, Thanks for your review of our hostel and bus service. We have already discussed your feedback and this will help us make this service successful. We hope you enjoyed your trip. All the best. VBH Crew Manager. More

Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very popular with the backpacker/party crowd. The accommodations are pretty standard (the privates are considerably nicer, but a bit overpriced) but there is a very social vibe to this place. Lots of drinking and socializing if you're into that sort of thing. The downtown location is definitely more party central (the bar crawl passes through here every night turning the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Lucas, Thanks for your review of our hostel and we are happy you had a good time. All the best. VBH Crew Manager. More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Original backpackers for about a week (give or take) using it as my base to explore Sapa and Ha Long Bay. The hostel itself was clean, organised and friendly. There are plenty of places to chill there and it is well located to explore Hanoi. The staff were very helpful and friendly and good to chat too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Tnaks for your great review of our hostel and Sapa trip. VBH Crew Manager. More

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Downtown Hanoi Backpackers - staff was incredibly friendly and helpful! Drinks on the house while we waited for our dorm to be cleaned, and they refunded us 2 nights when we cancelled our stay last minute. Definitely a place to party - lots of other young backpackers, events at the bar every night, great place to crash... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey thanks for reviewing our hostel. Happy you enjoyed our atmosphere and had a great time. All the best. VBH Crew Manager. More

Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For dorm rooms you get fantastic air con (almost too good actually I was cold which was heaven!) two showers and two toilets to ten people which do have lovely hot water and great water pressure. The bedlights, lockers, plugs and stuff all worked well and when you go on castaways (which was AMAZING I so recommend it!) you get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review of our hostel, we are really pleased you had a great time. All the best for your future travels. VBH Crew Manager. More

Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in the Original Hanoi Backpackers in Hanoi, it is a fantastic hostel full of other backpackers that are out here to socialise and make friends. The atmosphere is amazing. I unfortunately got food poisoning when I was there (street food) and had a few days just in bed which was pretty terrible but the beds are comfy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thanks for your great review of our hostel. Enjoy the rest of your trip. VBH Crew Manager. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I couldn't recommend the place more. We stayed in 2 double rooms. Very clean. Incredible showers. Staff were very friendly. The downstairs bar and restaurant gave the place a great atmosphere. Make sure to ask the staff about the best place to find local street food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks Patrick for your great review of our hostel. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip. VBH Crew Manager. More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Go to another place to book tours. They are deceiving. The Buffalo run is great fun- However Alley told us that all meals were included- we had to pay for the last three nights of meals, and all up $500 is very expensive for what you get. You can find better tours for cheaper elsewhere, where they are upfront about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There, Thanks for your recent review of our hostel and Buffalo Run Trip. We work very hard to make sure we give quality advice and tips on all trips no matter if that trip is with us or another company. I have been assured that this was a an oversight on our sales persons part and we will make... More

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We weren't able to stay at this hostel but they were so accommodating to let us do their Castaways Tour for Ha Long Bay (3 days, 2 nights) and hop on their Boomerang Bus down to Hoi An. They were very straight forward with us, we knew exactly what we were getting at all times. They also paid for all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
James V, Manager at Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Christine, Thanks for your great review of our hostel and we are pleased you had a great time on our Castaways trip. VBH Crew Manager. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hanoi Backpackers Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#2 of 491 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 stars 1,849 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hanoi Hostel
Hanoi Hostel
#7 of 128 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Lodge, Free Bre...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hanoi City Hostel
Hanoi City Hostel
#3 of 128 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.4 mi away
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Golden Time Hostel 2
Golden Time Hostel 2
#1 of 128 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Backpackers Hostel

Address: 48 Ngo Huyen | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 0, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hanoi Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Backpackers Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hotel Hanoi
Backpackers Hostel Hanoi

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer