We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunway Hotel Hanoi

#140 of 515 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
19 Pham Dinh Ho Street, Hai Ba Trung District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Special Offer
Stay 3 Pay 2 Promotion
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sunway Hotel Hanoi
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    244
    79
    12
    8
See reviews for
47
185
28
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (468)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (124)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (134)
All months
South Wales, UK
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights in all. Rooms were large, clean and had all facilities required, Tea/coffee making, wifi, tv. hairdryer and fridge and complimentary 2 bottles of water. Breakfast in restaurant was good and nothing too much trouble for staff. Would recommend. Unfortunately this hotel is quite a way from City Centre and due to the volume of traffic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

An attractive hotel on a side street about a mile or two from major sights, but within walking reach of some good restaurants. This becomes important when you realize how difficult it can be crossing Vietnamese avenues. Taxis are cheap so distance is not a concern. Rooms were a decent size and well furnished. Their staff was phenomenal with meeting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essex UK
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
155 hotel reviews
388 helpful votes 388 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights during our Vietnam tour with Mercury Direct. The hotel has a great location with the Opera House, lake & Old Town all within walking distance. The rooms were of a good size but the beds really should have mattress protectors - both the rooms we occupied had stained mattresses which I found off putting. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed at the Sunway while on tour and we were not disappointed the staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble the breakfast was very good with many choices rooms were clean very comfortable beds and a good size ,shops and restaurants were all within walking distance we cannot fault the hotel on any level thank you Sunway hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice, clean accommodation, conveniently located. Check-in was smooth and friendly. There are several external suitable restaurants nearby. Nice restaurant upstairs in hotel, and breakfast is fully complete with western or eastern style meals. Very polite and professional staff at front desk and doormen. The room was average size, acceptable, clean, with comfy mattrass, flat TV, bottled water & glasses,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunwayHotelHanoi, Tổng giám đốc at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review

Dear kaldort, Thank you for taking time to write such a complimentary review about your recent trip to Hanoi. We are delighted that you enjoyed everything that was provided for you from our excellent service to our nice clean rooms and convenient location. It has been a pleasure serving you and it’s such an encouragement to me and my team... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, nice decor and very friendly staff who are very welcoming and can't do enough for you. Food was excellent with a wide range of high quality options. If we are ever in Hanoi again we would definitely come back. Phil and Sam

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunwayHotelHanoi, Tổng giám đốc at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review

Dear pdbbaker, Thank you for taking time to write such a nice review about Sunway Hotel Hanoi. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the nice décor, friendly staff and excellent food. Thank you again for choosing Sunway Hotel Hanoi and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, George Teh General Manager.... More 

Pennington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first room we got had a poorly working AC. When we complained, the receptionist sent the maintenance people right away. The maintenance people told us that it will take 1 hour fix it. The receptionist also offered another room which had a double bed, but we preferred 2 twin beds in this room. So we decided to have dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SunwayHotelHanoi, Tổng giám đốc at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review

Dear amynaadi1, Thank you for taking time to relate your experience about your recent stay with us. We are saddened that we were not able to live up to your expectations for the air conditioning in the room. However we thank you for appreciating the way my team responded to your needs. It is only through guests such as yourself... More 

Timaru, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here first 2 nights in Vietnam. Impressed by room size, friendly, helpful staff and doormen. Best breakfasts of any hotel we stayed at in Vietnam! Bit out of CBD area but US$3 taxi ride from hotel to Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum means it's no big deal. A visit to the Military Museum is a must and we also enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunwayHotelHanoi, Tổng giám đốc at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review

Dear JaksiNZ, Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed review about Sunway Hotel and your trip to Hanoi . Your compliments on our breakfast has been passed to the Chef and his kitchen crew. We are delighted that you enjoyed everything our team provided for you, from the excellent service, spacious room to the friendly helpful staff... More 

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For us not the best location, if we were to travel to Hanoi again would rather be nearer the old quater. Hotel was nice, clean & breakfast lovely. I agree with the other reviewer, we too were put on a smoking floor!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunwayHotelHanoi, Tổng giám đốc at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review

Dear Karenwade, Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Hanoi. We apologise for not being more sensitive to your need to be on a non-smoking floor. We are however glad that you enjoyed your stay nevertheless, especially the breakfast and nice clean rooms. Thank you again for choosing Sunway Hotel and we look forward to serving... More 

Germantown, Tennessee
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Gate 1 tour. Single beds are like small double beds rather than twin size, Rooms a little on the small side and no tub in the bathroom but a nice walk in shower with good water pressure. Nice duvets on the beds. No wash cloth, hair conditioner or lotion supplied... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SunwayHotelHanoi, Tổng giám đốc at Sunway Hotel Hanoi, responded to this review

Dear LeslieG_8 We thank you for taking time to write such a detailed report about your trip to Hanoi and are happy to note that you enjoyed the wide selection at breakfast and the tasty snacks. Your appreciation of the friendly staff and the hotel in general is great motivation for the team. Thank you for staying with us and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

144 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:45
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (8)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay