We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gondola Hotel

#89 of 515 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
3.5 of 5
Hotel website
31 Hang Hanh Street | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 84 4, Vietnam
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMOTION !
Gondola Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #89 of 515 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
D K San Francisco, California
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    137
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
58
167
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (349)
  • Mar-May only
    (120)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (83)
All months
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is superb - on a quiet street in the middle of the bustling Old Quarter, right next to the Hoan Kiem lake. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. Good, fast WiFi. Breakfast was OK, better than average I guess. The front desk tried to keep our passports until we checked out of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gondola Hotel H, Front Office Manager at Gondola Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Mrs DK, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at . Many thanks for taking time to leave your feedback and I was really pleased to read that we met your expectations following your stay in. As the policy of hotel's management, the customer must leave their passports at front desk when checking... More 

Devon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We made the Gondola our base in Hanoi during a recent visit. Recommended to us by our guide the Gondola is situated close to Hoan Kiem lake in the old quarter of Hanoi. In total we had three different rooms, coming back to the hotel in between trips out of the city. The hotel kindly looked after our suitcases during... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gondola Hotel H, Front Office Manager at Gondola Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs DevonBiddy, On behalf of Gondola hotel management board, i would like to expressly thank you for taking your time to share us your feedback on this site. We are elated to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and especially your recognition about us as " AN EXCELLENT CHOICE" after all. Your positive mention of our location,... More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I and my boyfriend went to Hanoi in April in order to visit our relative. I chose this hotel because it has good location. I stayed for 5 nights and they gave me big surprise! My room has free upgrade to higher category and they offered early check in/late check out. I also got complimentary airport pick up for staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gondola Hotel H, Director of Sales at Gondola Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ms katie25589 On behalf of the entire team at the Gondola Hotel, I would like to share our gratitude with you for choosing and staying at our hotel. Having chance to welcome you and to be apart of your trip in Hanoi was such a honor we had. Happily, at the Gondola Hotel, you had a great time and... More 

Caldicot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with a trip to Halong Bay in between. The hotel rooms are lovely , clean and everything you might need. The staff are very helpful and polite. The staff kept us fully informed about our tour guide pick up time and they even give you a map to find your way around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gondola Hotel H, Front Office Manager at Gondola Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs lynandcoll, On behalf of Gondola hotel management board, i would like to thank you for taking your time to share us your feedback on this site. I was very happy to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us in all aspects. Your kind comments have been passed on to the staff, they all appreciate the recognition... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
69 hotel reviews
504 helpful votes 504 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked here for the last leg of our Vietnam adventure, it had good reviews on TripAdvisor and looked nice in the pictures. As it was the end of our trip we booked the suite. To be honest first impressions weren’t great, the reception area wasn’t as swish as the photos and the corridors to the rooms were very dated... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A nice basic 3-star hotel (it it stated on its reception) -convenient location, pretty quiet, clean rooms and friendly stuff. Breakfast was very basic. Also, so called lake-view rooms are barely lake view, at best you will get a corner of a lake seen from your room if you look to the side, other rooms face local buildings etc. took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gondola Hotel H, Front Office Manager at Gondola Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Vladimir, On behalf og Gondola hotel management board, i would like to expressly thank you for taking time to give us feedback on this site. We are happy to hear that our location, services, and staff all met your expectations. However, i share your disappointment with lake view room and poor English spoken of the tour guide to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights here mid April. Had a very enjoyable stay. The hotel is not huge and the frontage is quite narrow, but it is in the middle of the old part of town. The staff here are great. From the moment we arrive until we left they looked after us. They even called up our tour guide to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gondola Hotel H, Front Office Manager at Gondola Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pghollis1, We are elated to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your taking time to give us feedback. Your positive mention of our room, breakfast and staff has been noted. As our goal is to provide all of our guests with luxury experiences, your feedback gives us validation of our efforts. Thank you again... More 

Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great hotel where nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Ideally situated close to the lake in the centre of Hanoi. Well appointed and comfortable with good air conditioning. We stayed for two nights then five away back for one night then two away and finally back for one more night before moving on. On one occasion if left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gondola Hotel H, Front Office Manager at Gondola Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr andrew, On behalf of Gondola hotel management board, i would like to thank you for taking your time to share us your feedback on this site. We are most pleased to learn that our hotel met you expectations. Most importantly, you had enjoyed the hotel's service and facilities and your kind comments have been passed on to the... More 

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights in 2 different rooms (superior double and a suite). + Nice and warm welcome, fast check-in, including a very helpful map + nice location + very friendly and helfpul staff + quiet rooms (facing the street) - unfortunately the rooms where not to clean (some stained bed sheets, dusty floor, mould in the shower)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gondola Hotel H, Front Office Manager at Gondola Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Singa-Travellers On behalf of Gondola hotel management board, i would like to thank you for taking your time to share us your feedback on this site. Your positive mention of our location and staff with warm welcoming has been noted. However, i was a little disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy room's quality. Thank you for letting... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed a total of five nights at the hotel and could not have been happier. The staff were very courteous and attentive and the rooms comfortable and quiet, (double glazing on the windows). The shower did leak but this seems to be standard for Vietnam, although the water was hot and plentiful. Free pick up from the airport for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay