We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AKWA Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 28/12 Moo 3 | South Chaweng Beach Rd, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AKWA Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
AKWA Guesthouse
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    98
    47
    31
    52
See reviews for
16
130
100
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (415)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (98)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here 3 nights first night on my own then was joined by my friend the following day! When I arrived on my own there was nobody there to greet me so I sat and waited, at what I thought was reception, for about 10 minutes and still nobody came! Finally somebody who was also staying at the guesthouse... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, UK
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed in Koh Samui before this was possibly the worst place I stayed in. The pillows and duvet were filthy and there wasnt a window in the bedroom despite paying for a "superior double" The shower was cold despite paying to have hot water and to top it off you have to pay in full by cash on arrival... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chiang Mai Province, Thailand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very pleasant stay at the Akwa guesthouse. The staff is super friendly, food was good in the restaurant and a general friendly atmosphere rules at the lounge area. Our room was in the other building from the reception, which was really no problem for us. Clean and bright room, with good bed and pillows. Bathroom little small,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room is well decorated but maintenance is not very good. A little bit dusty. Door of shower has a hole that we sealed ourselves using a plastic beg. Water pressure is a bit low. Air-con keeps dripping the whole night luckily the water flow out from the door to the balcony or our room would have flooded.... Not the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room is dirty and filled with cushions and teddy bears with questionable stains on! Internet is awful! We got the internet code from the massage place across the road and used that! The man that owns the place is lovely and gave lots of information, the other man that works there is nice too- however the woman behind the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I personally thought this place was great for the value. This is a guesthouse and not a hotel. It is more expensive than a hostel but cheaper than a hotel. You basically get what you paid for. You can't expect to pay these prices and find hotel like accommodations with this location... I booked a standard room and had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

1. Aircon is non existent. 2. WIFI is very poor. 3. Next door has having work done so forget having a lay in and when I mean lay in, you have to be up at 8 am. 4. Manager wouldn't give me back my money, and suggested I can move to his other place down the road which is about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
AKWAKohSamui, Owner at AKWA Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are sorry to read your review here. Indeed there was during your first day stay with us some building works done by our neighbors. These works were not announced to us, and started at around 10 am (not at 8am as you stated). As you told me you only came back to your room at 5am after... More 

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

On arrival we were told the reception was in another place and I was ferried to the main building to check in. I was aware of this through tripadvisor reviews and this did not seem to be too much hassle. The guy at reception (presumably the owner/manager) was friendly, offering his help with anything we required and giving me a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

To be recommended. We booked standard room for 2 nights via Agoda. Very friendly check in at the reception. Our room was in the other building, which was really no issue for us. Nice clean room, with super comfortable bed. The bathroom is a little small, but all you need was there. Nice fridge, DVD player and the safe in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I stayed here in November 2014 with several friends. It was a nice place overall clean. We ran out of toilet paper and had to hunt some down which wasn't a problem for us but I could see it would affect others. Big king size beds and a small bathroom (pretty average here in Thailand) ad the room had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to AKWA Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKWA Guesthouse

Address: 28/12 Moo 3 | South Chaweng Beach Rd, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AKWA Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AKWA Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akwa Guesthouse Hotel Koh Samui

208 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (172)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay