We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AKWA Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 28/12 Moo 3 | South Chaweng Beach Rd, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AKWA Guesthouse
Professional photos View all
AKWA Guesthouse
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    98
    46
    29
    48
See reviews for
16
127
95
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (403)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (113)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here in November 2014 with several friends. It was a nice place overall clean. We ran out of toilet paper and had to hunt some down which wasn't a problem for us but I could see it would affect others. Big king size beds and a small bathroom (pretty average here in Thailand) ad the room had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I haven't seen so dirty and stinky rooms in my life. Don't be surprised to see water leaking in your room or broken facilities. Did I mention about mold and dirt .Description is misleading. There are no direct access to the sea. You will have to cross the street and sneak through random resort. As well you won't get lots... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AKWAKohSamui, Owner at AKWA Guesthouse, responded to this review

As this is a review from the same guest on the same stay as other review “Filthiest and dirtiest place ever” from Saule R, I will post the same reply; We at AKWA are extremely disappointed with your comments, and are really sorry it now seems you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. At check in I personally welcomed you... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At first then me and my partner came in into the main building everything looked more less ok. Our room was in the second building. The first second we entered the room it had stench of mold and dampness. But we were to tiered to ask for different room. So as we started to look around we noticed that there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AKWAKohSamui, Owner at AKWA Guesthouse, responded to this review

As this is a review from the same guest on the same stay as other review “Avoid!” from Basute, I will post the same reply; We at AKWA are extremely disappointed with your comments, and are really sorry it now seems you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. At check in I personally welcomed you (you made a mistake with... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Stayed for a week with my gf and have always stayed here before, as the staff have always been friendly and welcoming. Room was ok,but not much natural light, would of preferred a room with a decent balcony, but for the price paid, can not complain.Steep climb upstairs to room, and guesthouse is situated at the quieter end of Chaweng,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AKWAKohSamui, Owner at AKWA Guesthouse, responded to this review

As this is a review from the same guest on the same stay as other review “Avoid!” from Basute, I will post the same reply; We at AKWA are extremely disappointed with your comments, and are really sorry it now seems you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. At check in I personally welcomed you (you made a mistake with... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Me and my two friends stayed here for 4 nights during our stay in Koh Samui. We stayed in the second guesthouse like most which was fine because it was closer to the centre but set back from the road so was much quieter. The room was quirky and spacious and clean enough. Our favourite part of this guesthouse was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

This place is awesome. My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 nights and would have stayed longer if we weren't leaving Samui. We stayed in their second guesthouse which was right down the street from the main one. Our room had a king sized bed, tv with DVD player, half sized fridge, wardrobe, and full bathroom. The walls are all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We stayed for just one night as we were leaving the next day, but i wish wed stayed longer. The staff were so freindly and beyond helpfull, they even provide each room with a homemade guide of the island that was better than most of the ones we could buy. The room came with a fridge, hot shower and a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Such a lovely quirky room! Some of these reviews are quite pedantic or just absolutely wrong (making a point because it initially put us off from booking)! The second building referred to (which we stayed in) is lovely! Loads of people staying here, also a fantastic Spanish tapas on the ground floor - delicious plus good priced pizza etc (also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bali, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Average kind of sums of this guesthouse . I mean, my expectation was just look like on those room images, but reality was deference. kinda old building ( not that old ) and when I was arrived at the hotel no one there at the front desk and I had to wait till the staff came in and surprisingly he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Average kind of sums of this hostel. Rooms are not quite as modern and fresh as expected from photos. The price was good for the size of the room, there was air con and the bathroom was fine. The wifi was weak in the room we were in, it seemed better in the lobby downstairs but inconvenient every time you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to AKWA Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKWA Guesthouse

Address: 28/12 Moo 3 | South Chaweng Beach Rd, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — AKWA Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your AKWA Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akwa Guesthouse Hotel Koh Samui

205 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (170)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near AKWA Guesthouse

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby