We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 334 Chiang Mai hotels

BanThai Village

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Hotel amenities
BanThai Village
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BanThai Village to your Saves list
85%
Ranked #45 of 334 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Jason B Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    137
    34
    7
    5
See reviews for
67
126
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (312)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

WOW, what a lovely hotel this is, a little gem hidden away from the hustle of Chiang Mai. Great welcome from the reception staff and porters. Rooms are really nice, however very little wardrobe or cupboard space, not that this effected us to much as we was only here 3 nights. Well stocked minibar and toiletries. Would recommend rooms 510... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your taking a time to writing a good review in Tripadvisor. Its delightful for all of your comment . I have taken well note for these comment and we're looking forward to seeing you in Chiang Mai and stay in Banthai Village again as soon. More

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 2 nights when we first arrived in Chiang Mai, and were very pleased. The staff were friendly and helpful. The manager was a very helpful lady who helped us arrange transportation to the tiger sanctuary, and even had the driver take us to our next hotel after at no extra cost. The pool was kept clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! I was so happy to ready that you had such a good experience with us. The staff will be delighted to read your comments,I noted your comment about hard mattress and sorry about that. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we... More

Lara, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a real find central to all that you will need in Chaing Mai. The rooms are very nice and the surrounding grounds and pool are perfect for relaxing after a long day out and about. Staff and kind and courteous and being kid friendly is a bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your taking a time to writing a good review in Tripadvisor. Its delightful for your comment such as our friendly staffs,our location etc. I have taken well note for these comment and we're looking forward to seeing you in Chiang Mai and stay in Banthai Village again as soon. More

Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a pleasant stay at Banthai Village where we spent few nights... We took a suite which was spacious and comfortable but we have seen some other rooms which are right by the pool on the first floor and I would not stay there... Breakfast was a disappointment with caned juices (what? In Thailand?) and very limited space. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve youduring your recent stay and sharing your comment through TripAdvisor. Regarding to many Chinese tourists in Chiang Mai during your recent stay period , due to they had long holiday ( Chinese National Day). All hotels in Chiang Mai are fully booked and 70% of the guests are Chinese... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed there for 4 nights in early September. The rooms were clean and comfortable, yet my husband and I both became sick because of the air conditioning which was just over the bed! The staff wasn't particularly nice compared to the other hotels we stayed in Thailand, but we cannot complain either. The breakfast buffet was average, the swimming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you during your recent visit and sharing your comment through TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as good as you expected for our staffs. Your comments are of our utmost concern. I 've taken well note for this comment and will improve it... More

Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night here, it was a quirky place to stay. Rooms were interesting, however unfortunately we were placed in the noisy corner. Rude patrons made our stay a negative one. Rooms are not sound proof. Don't feel it's worth 3000 baht. Breakfast was average.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve youduring your 1 night recent stay and sharing your comment through TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as good as you expected. Your comments are of our utmost concern and we would like to explain to you as follow. -Problem with other guests... More

Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights after moving from another 4 star hotel. Frankly speaking, it's for cost saving. -:) The hotel outside old town is more cheaper. Room is very clean but bathroom is a little bit small. We both enjoyed the morning staying at our balcony for a cozy atmosphere. The hotel is located not far from the east gate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! I was so happy to ready that you had such a good experience with us. The staff will be delighted to read your comments,I noted your Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back. More

Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

This is my first negative review of a property for Trip Advisor. Refund via the mountain of Agoda paperwork meant that by the second night I had to restrain myself from searching for a stool and a rope. Amazingly, the reception displays ratings from Agoda/Trip Advisor/booking.com showing glowing numbers. I wondered if I was in the same property. Although the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you during your recent visit and sharing your comment through TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as good as you expected. Your comments are of our utmost concern due to our concept is Banthai ,its meaning "Thai house" something it made you not... More

Linguist in KS
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Spent a really great 3 days in Chang Mai at the start of our travels around Thailand. As our first destination we were apprehensive about the city and accommodation. but we soon got into the swing of the city and really enjoyed the Banthai village. Great location on the outside of the old walled town. Close to night market and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. In particular our rooms, our centralize location , staff friendliness and our breakfast etc. Regarding to Chinese guests, when we receive the booking and guests are Chinese. We will arrange all... More

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Nice Hotel, stayed in a room away from the main building, great staff and the location was great, not far from Manathai and the night bazar The hotel was in a nice quiet area not far from the night bazaar and bars in loi kroh road which was about 10 min walk away. A lot of temples to see in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your taking a time to writing a good review in Tripadvisor. Its delightful for your comment such as our friendly staffs,our location etc. I have taken well note for these comment and we're looking forward to seeing you in Chiang Mai and stay in Banthai Village again as soon. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BanThai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BanThai Village

Address: 19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BanThai Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BanThai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Village Chiang Mai

194 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (189)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay