We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai

132 Loykroh Road | Chang-Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand (Formerly Centara Duangtawan Hotel, Chiang Mai)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Add Photo Write a Review

1,214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    179
    486
    325
    144
    80
See reviews for
196
416
107
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1214)
  • Mar-May only
    (307)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (298)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (302)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (307)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In desperate need of renovation. Dull, depressing rooms with wall sockets that are so old, they don't hold adaptors properly. The safe didn't work. There was an adjoining room which to my horror, another person on the other side was trying to get into my room! When I opened the door to investigate, there stood an Asian man staring back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warunee K, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Quite clearly our overall standard of service and product presentation was of a poor standard At the time you stayed with us and I would like to apologize most sincerely for the wrath of challenges you were faced with and which marred your vacation I have instructed of our staff to place high importance on the fact... More 

Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past seven years, primarily because it has a great location right next to the Night Bazaar and within reasonable walking distance of the old city (inside the moat), terrific pool and work out facility, and excellent breakfast. The common areas show aged grandeur -- must have been stunning in years... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warunee K, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your constructive feedback with suggestions as to how we can improve our products and services. Please be informed that a renovation of many rooms and facilities started last year and is scheduled to continue However, your comment regarding the Key lock system and in-room Safe have been noted and will be considered... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Positive: Location (close to night bazar and old town), breakfast, large rooms, friendly stuff, good fitness studio Negative: poor facility, quiet old, not so clean, slow elevators, wi-fi works only in the lobby area, rooms service was sometimes bad

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warunee K, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we were all very pleased that you enjoyed the location, room and breakfast service as well as the friendly service staffs of our hotel While a room renovation plan is currently being carried, the issue of poor facility, slow elevators and the WI-FI service are well noted; we are presently... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying in the hotel for 1 week! At first we thought that we will go to mystery hotel, because we trying to contact to the hotel desk few times, never get phone answer! But when we reach to the hotel, it looked better than we expected! The lobby is very fancy, good view from room, nice pool, but the lift... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warunee K, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your constructive feedback with suggestions as to how we can improve our products and services. The issue of hotel telephone contact and lifts service are well noted by the Hotel’s Operation team, we will check more closely those issues your feedback has provided Despite the issue that marred your stay we are... More 

New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were placed here after a flight was cancelled by the airlines. Good: well, I guess you could say it has a good location with convenient access to shopping, markets, food and restaurants that run into the late evening hours. Concerns: the dining area feels like a noisy and quite messy university cafeteria that makes dining uncomfortable. The front desk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warunee K, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your comments regarding our hotel service. Your comment regarding the headcount of Front Desk staff and dining area are well noted, we are presently reviewing our current policies to Gauge how to manage those service more conveniently for our guests. It remains only for me to thank you sincerely for your honest... More 

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This a very pleasant hotel very close to the night bazaar and other great facilities close by. Over the road is are place to rent motorbike or push bikes, massage places, pharmacy & 7-eleven. The hotel was very clean. We had a deluxe double which was a good size with plenty of room to spread out. When we first arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warunee K, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your constructive feedback which allows us the opportunity to listen to our guests and improve any areas highlighted as not having reached or exceeded your expectations. Similarly, I have asked our House Keeping Manager to check more closely the issue of in-room towels which marred your stay We are pleased to learn... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a nice hotel, although the housekeeping staff leaves your room door unlocked (i.e. opened) after they have cleaned your room. Be sure to lock your luggage as anyone can just go into your room after it has been cleaned. Also, they only provide one room key which is quite inconvenient if you're sharing a room with a stranger... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Warunee K, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your constructive communication to us concerning your recent stay with us, your comment regarding the room key provides per room is well noted. In the same vein, I have already forwarded your comment regarding the unprofessional room cleaning process of the housekeeping staffs to the Housekeeping Manager who is taking action to... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dirty rooms, with hairs left over from past guests and the invention of the vacuum cleaner has yet to arrive here. Staff at the front desk were exceptionally slow and unwilling to help. Lots of people sleeping in the lounge, perhaps preparing for a night out in the red light district. And rooms were very noisy, we could hear our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warunee K, General Manager at Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your constructive communication concerning your recent stay with us We were all very pleased that you enjoyed the pool and breakfast service While a room renovation plan is currently being carried, your comment regarding the soundproofing is an ongoing challenge for us we are endeavoring to find a solution into the near... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very nice, room is very big and the bathroom had a bath and a separate shower. The room also has a walk-in closet and a good size desk. To make it complete it has a small fridge and personal airconditioning. The only bad thing is that (in 2011) we had to pay for the internet, and it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I loved this hotel. Right in a great location, night bizarre etc. Good places to drink at and JoJo massage right out front. Breakfast was superb too Loved it. Would definitely advise to stay here. Pool was lovely and big too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

756 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (421)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (53)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (121)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (43)
Viewed
Other (116)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (310)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (48)
Viewed
Dynasty Room (47)
Viewed
Pool (15)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (73)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay