We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La-Mer Hostel

12/2 Moonmuang Rd., Soi 6 | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
La-Mer Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The place looked nice from outside so we decided to try it out for our breakfast. The waitress came to took our order after around 15 minutes. After we ordered and had waited more than 30 minutes with no sign of our English B'kfast I went to enquire about it and she told me that it will be there shortly.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stef C
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Stef, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the breakfast at our hostel. Usually our preparation times are fairly quick, so I am sorry to read you had quite a long wait for your meal. We agree 40 minutes to wait for your meal is unacceptable. Regards, Management More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just behind Somphet Market, La Mer is a modern boutique Hostel where I had breakfast while I was in Chiang Mai. The food is usually fine with rich and tasty American breakfast set and refreshing orange juice. Yogurt is also really nice, available with fruit or fruit + muesli, but I would stay away from coffee since it's just too... More 

Helpful?
Thank SmoothWolfi
Jenjira C, Manager at La-Mer Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, We are pleased to read that you usually enjoy the food, especially the American breakfast set. I am sorry to read that you have had to wait a while for preparation during our busy times. Regards, Management More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

The pictures on the website looked good so we decided for this hostel despite extremely low price, which seemed a little suspicious to us - well, it is! We don't really need anything fancy, just a clean place and helpful staff. None of this is available in La-Mer. When finally getting to the room after a neverending check in (when... More 

Helpful?
Thank 87manni

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Arizona
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

We really enjoyed the location of this hostel and the spaciousness of the room (deluxe room with queen or king bed) and the according price. However, we looked under the bed prior to our departure and saw nearly an inch of dust. The room had clearly not been deep cleaned in awhile. The A/C unit was above the bed so... More 

Helpful?
Thank buenavida24
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2015

Where do I begin. I'm not one to hand out 1 star ratings unless absolutely deserved. We stayed at Lamer Hostel for a few nights. The staff were terrible. Made you feel like you were nothing but a nuisance. Rolling their eyes when you asked a question (or asked for milk for your coffee which they forgot to bring you).... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sbirchall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be a nice place to stay. The room was very clean and and staff were friendly. They even helped us by calling some trip companies we had booked with to check details Etc. Laundry service is reasonably priced and was returned the next day. Located right next to the local... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miss B S
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

Good: *) Cheep *) free wi-fi *) Delux room is spacious, has fridge, TV *) Big windows in delux room, so in day time room is very bright Not good: *) wi-fi is not fast *) Room is very dark in the evening time *) My Delux room has no wardrobe *) Desk is very small and shaky *) Windows... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy P
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

The restaurant at this hostel is one of the few places in the neighborhood open at 6am. Stop here for breakfast as I was catching an early morning train. Ordered a breakfast set which included bacon/sausage/ham. The bacon was rancid!!! The waitress had attitude, wasn't welcoming and gave the impression that she couldn't be bothered with serving you.

Helpful?
Thank Travelbug880
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We arrived in Chiang Mai and decided to stay at this hotel. After getting our room, it was just ok. We had a twin room with 2 twin beds and there were dirty hand prints all over the wall on one side. The bathroom was a shower, sink, toilet combo, not a problem but closets to the shower head, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank summer e
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Just stayed here for a week and it was all a bit weird. We got the 3 for 2 deal which made it afordable and got a nice big room. Room was pretty much clean. They would leave you with a small bit of toilet roll left and no spare so you have to ask for it. Somedays we got... More 

Helpful?
Thank vixarooni
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#20 of 353 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#151 of 353 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Guest House
The Royal Guest House
#185 of 353 in Chiang Mai
3.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#163 of 353 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Peninsula Hotel Chiang Mai
#153 of 353 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
#107 of 511 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay