We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 332 Chiang Mai hotels

Sheik Istana Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10/1 Moo 3 Padad Road | Padad, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Sheik Istana Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheik Istana Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #52 of 332 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Patrick K
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    34
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
61
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hotel is nice, rooms have good standard, the gym and the pool's are also nice. When we arrived they did not have a room with 2 beds, but we wanted one bed. They were very inflexible. The only offered us an upgrade room with one bed, but we needed to pay for it. They offered us a room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After a few nights in Bangkok we were happy to stay a bit outside the city and find time to relax and for that, this hotel was perfect. The hotel is short drive from the airport (expect to pay 150 to 200 b max) and around the same to the city. About 5 minutes to night bazzar. The hotel give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were able to stay here at a discounted price. My wife, daughter and I. Very nice. Fairly close to Night Market but we had a car and this helped. Very clean. Not super close to other dinning options but we would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wish we could have stayed longer here. The staff was very friendly, the hotel and room was clean, comfortable, and was pleasantly and interestingly decorated. I would definitely stay here again. Noom in particular was one hotel staff member that was incredibly helpful throughout our stay. He helped us book trips and even move a dinner reservation that we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a wonderful hotel which is beautifully designed and decorated. The staff are warm, welcoming and very helpful. They speak very good english. The restaurant is great for breakfast but avoid for dinner. No one speaks english at dinner. Very amusing for one meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bangkok
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed here over the new year. paying over 5,000 baht per night, one would expect much more in chiang mai. arrived excited, only to be told that they didn't have the room category we booked was not available for the first night. fine. we took a lower category room. couldn't be bothered to unpack and re-pack the day after, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Sheik Istana for a couple of days and can't complain about the hotel, the service or the room. Only the "bar area" is a kind of joke that closes at 10:30pm. The price for a 0,1l glass of wine was very expensive, the quality so so and the temperature of the wine was wrong. It's a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Internet doesn't work - every day had connectivity problems and you must enter password each time you connect. One full day the internet was out completely. If you need to stay connected to world don't come here! Loud construction nearby (won't end anytime soon) and a leaky tub w/ daily flooding of bathroom Shuttle only 1way - very limited schedule... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Chakarn U, General Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review

First & foremost we would like to thank you for staying with us and regarding to your comment here at Trip advisor kindly be informed that we are very sorry for that situation that you had faced most of the scenario are out of our control and we had already discussed and giving the explanation to you before checked out.... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel looks good, however it is quite bad located. The service is aweful, they are blackmailing taxi drivers to drive tourists downtown Chiangmai. The restaurant food was good, although waiters are beginners and served us one at a time : we didn't eat together due to this lack of professionalism.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chakarn U, General Manager at Sheik Istana Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marmi15, Thank you very much for your comment on our services in order to improve our service we understand that all new staffs should be well trained unfortunately we lack of staff during the peak season then it cause us lacking of service in some area however your comment is well noted and it will be proceeded to train... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Near a high Road, it is impossible to sleep. And you can hear all your neighbours... For your continental breakfast, you ve got choice between cold eggs, 2 kind of fruits and bakery when the tray is not empty. We were missing our luggage, they were unable to transfer them from the airport. Finally when you take a shower, you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sheik Istana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheik Istana Hotel

Address: 10/1 Moo 3 Padad Road | Padad, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheik Istana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheik Istana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#20 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#29 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay