We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 333 Chiang Mai hotels

Club One Seven Chiang Mai

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   385/2 Charoen Prathet Rd. | Changklan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Club One Seven Chiang Mai to your Saves list
Club One Seven Chiang Mai
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
82%
Ranked #80 of 333 Hotels in Chiang Mai
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014
Mike-n-Peter Rotorua, New Zealand
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    40
    11
    11
    6
See reviews for
7
41
38
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed for a few nights in the river view room in June 2014. The room itself was very dark inside because all the walls, floors and ceiling is in dark teak wood. The only thing that is white in the room is the bed, so when you flick the light switch on its as though you have not put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Mike-n-Peter, Thank you for your review. As this is the low season in Chiang Mai, it is our season for repairs and upgrades. We have just finished working on the guesthouse and July will be spent working on the sauna. I must apologize for the conditions of the walls. All of the floors are washed down nightly with a disinfectant.... More

Bangkok
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Enjoyed 5 nights at One Seven. Splendid Thai service. The 130 year old guest house is remarkable as must be the bills for maintaining it to the standards that are beautifully maintained. I stayed in an upper room which was comfortable and lovely. The bathroom basic but proportionate to the price, the whole experience was value-for-money. But in the service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Jeffrey, Thank you so much for your very kind review. You are correct about the cost of maintaining our facilities. It has been quite a challenge because of the age of our traditional teak guesthouse. I am truly blessed to have Khun Woody and his team taking care of the day to day operations. They are like a Thai family... More

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The staff are lovely and friendly. The accommodation is in an old teak house and is quite nice but maybe a little basic. However it had everything I wanted so couldn't complain. I had asked for a riverside view but got a ground floor garden view which was fine except that when the person in the room above you walked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Peter, Thank you so much for your review. I'm very happy to hear that you liked the staff. They work very hard to make everyone feel comfortable and at home with us. I'm sorry that we were unable to provide you with the room you requested. Our river side rooms are very popular and quite often booked up. The upkeep... More

Paris, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights during the weekend leading to Songkran and truly enjoyed the peace and quiet that the place gave me. I stayed in one of the rooms upstairs and really liked it. The room was of good size, tastefully decorated, and the bed was beautiful. The shower can be improved a bit, though. The shower curtain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear Louie, Thank you for your review. I'm so happy that you felt as though you were staying at a friend's home. That is exactly what we are trying to achieve. We want all of our guests to feel at home with us. I appreciate your comment about the length of the shower curtain causing the bathroom floor to get... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I'm very reluctant to write a negative review particularly in respect of a gay guest house. However my experience here was pretty dreadful. It's a shabby, mosquito infested mess sadly in need of major refurbishment. The breakfast is poor and the penis shaped pool is embarrassing. The one positive experience was the lovely masseur - I wish him well &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Dear Patrick, I'm very sorry that you were not happy with your stay. I discussed with my staff about the situation surrounding your disappointment and nobody recalls hearing a complaint from you during your stay. If you voiced a concern at the time we possibly could have refunded your money and helped you find an accommodation more to your liking.... More

New England, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I visit Chiang Mai every year and C17 has been my choice of accommodation for several years now. The rooms are nice, the breakfast is good and served overlooking the river. But the staff is what keeps me going back more than anything else. They couldn't be more friendly or helpful. Woody, Duan, Ken, Nui, Nui, and Nui, ( I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Vast Explorer, Thank you for your review. When the staff read your review they were very touched by your kind words. They think of you as a friend as well and always look forward to your stay each year. Your suggestion of using a motorbike to get around is really the best and most economical way. Some guests also rent... More

Caloundra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at C17, Thursday 14.03 till Tuesday18.03. We could not fault the experience, and as we are industry peers (from Australia - restauranteurs in Queensland) we thought our expectations may not have been met, or were too high - NOT the case at all, in fact the service levels were EXCEPTIONAL from the moment we were picked up from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Steve, thanks for your very kind review. Receiving a review from someone in the hospitality business means so much as you know what we go through to try and give the customers an exceptional experience. People in the hospitality industry have a critical eye for detail but also understand what goes on in the background. We try to treat our... More

Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The first room we were "showed" had a swarm of mosquitoes laying in wait and was about as dark and dingy at it gets. The "upgraded" room that we were moved to was much nicer but there was hardly enough room for both of us to get changed at the same time. Plus, the windows are not glazed so its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Bruce, thank you for your review. We take your comments very seriously. Mosquitoes are a very common problem all over Northern Thailand. We had a pest control company that was supposed to take care of the mosquitoes and other insects but they were doing a very poor job so we switched companies at the end of February. We have noticed... More

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The place is OK if you are only looking to stay at a gay establish and pay GAY RATES! The room was so small, you could barely walk around the room. Food was OK, mostly tasteless. I had an ant colony in my bathroom, asked at the front desk to do something about it. Nothing was done. The lighting was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this review

Buddymaine_13, thank you for your review. We take your comments very seriously. We know we aren't the best place to stay in Chiang Mai but we are trying our best to improve. We listen to the constructive criticism of all our guests and we try and keep an open mind. Our guesthouse is a 130 year old traditional teak building... More

San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My room had a lot of character. It was large and spacious with vaulted ceilings, and a beautiful view of the river. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful, and responsive. The location is about a 1-hour walk to city center. The only way to get to city center is to take a taxi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rob H, Owner at Club One Seven Chiang Mai, responded to this review

FoxyDerick, thank you so much for your kind review and the photos that you posted. The room that you stayed in is our largest room on the second floor of the guesthouse. It has a very traditional ambiance reflecting the history of our 130 year old guesthouse. The walk to the old center of Chiang Mai is about one hour... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Club One Seven Chiang Mai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Club One Seven Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club One Seven Chiang Mai

Address: 385/2 Charoen Prathet Rd. | Changklan, Muang, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club One Seven Chiang Mai 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Club One Seven Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club One Seven Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Club 1 7 Chiang Mai

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (16)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Chiang Mai with
any amenities