We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel De Moc

78 Prajatipatai Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Hotel De Moc
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #401 of 778 Hotels in Bangkok
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Ghani K
Add Photo Write a Review

426 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    54
    209
    96
    40
    27
See reviews for
38
152
41
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (426)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (150)
All months
Krabi Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Cockroaches everywhere in room and bathroom :( the only good thing was the smoothies from the cafe - but expensive compared to Khao San road prices. Also they offer VERY expensive tours- dont bother; go to Khao San road to book instead! Not a great pool either. Stayed 5 nights and biggest regret EVER! Wee have travelled in Thailand for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Emily W, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc in Bangkok, we are very sorry to read on Trip Advisor that you were unhappy with the services we provide here. At our hotel we hope all our guests have a pleasant, relaxing time and are sorry you did not feel that while you were here.... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

They're trying to sell it as "vintage" but really, it's just old. Everything works perfectly though, except the shower that needs more water pressure. Positives: great location (close to everything as long as you have Google map) and good food. breakfast spread is not big, but the taste matches my Indonesian toungie perfectly

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Ghani K, Warm greetings and thank you for having chosen the Hotel De Moc as the hotel of choice for your recent stay. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your views of your recent stay at our hotel. We are truly delighted to read your comments and to note that you enjoyed... More 

bangkok
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

*Good* -clean room -friendly staff. - Comfy Bed - Balcony to sit outside and relax - haridryer, minibar, water - free wifi and good speed. - good swimming pool ( up to 2.7 meters deep ) - free bike rental ( but i didn't use the service ) - nice collection of cars ( several antique cars park there )... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Chorpetk, Greetings from the Hotel De Moc, Bangkok. At the onset, please accept my apologize for any inconveniences caused to you during your recent visit at out hotel. We have noted your comments on the upkeep of the hotel & shall definitely do our best to improve this are for our guests. Thank you again for choosing our hotel... More 

Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Him and his staff, a lady managed to upgrade me to a better room on a higher floor due to some issues. He also arranged a tuktuk for me to nearby areas and they let me do a late checkout at 2pm as my flight was late in the evening. Old hotel with a rustic retro feel but overall quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Soul surfez, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about staying at the Hotel De Moc. Your positive and constructive comments have been shared with our whole team. We aim to provide a superior service with a friendly approach in our hotels, and it is a pleasure to read you appreciate it. Thank you for recognizing... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Staff in the restaurant are very rude. They simply ignore you, especially when Asian people are around. The beds are very uncomfortable and the bathrooms are very poor. The shower doesn't work properly. The building itself is far away from Bangkok city. Overall it's okay for two or three nights, but I wouldn't recommend a longer stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Jeroen H, Thank you for choosing the Hotel De Moc in Bangkok. I was disappointed when I saw the TripAdvisor review following your recent stay with us and would like to sincerely apologize for the level of service experienced and possible inconvenience caused due to that. At the Hotel De Moc we strive to provide a superior service experience... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Zemun, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spend 4 days in this nice, old stile hotel, near the center of Bangkok. Everything was well organized, from pick up at the airport, to the excellent restorant, and nice and clean pool. Rooms can be refreshed, but if you come to visit Bangkok, all you need is clean bathroom, relaxing bed, and helpfool staf. So, we got what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Snezana T, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to write a review of your recent experiences on Trip Advisor. Everyone here was overjoyed when they read your review, as it clearly shows how happy you were with the service and facilities offered by our hotel. Thank you again for... More 

Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

The hotel is about 15 min walk from kosan road. Rooms are old, bathroom even older and not particularly cleaned. Staff is rude (except the concierge) and can barely speak 4 words in english. Bed was really uncomfortable and breakfast was bad. The price is relatively convenient but i honestly would not reccomend it nor go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Dancing Queen 82, Thank you for choosing the Hotel de Moc in Bangkok. All out staff were disappointed when they saw your TripAdvisor review and we would like to sincerely apologize for the level of service experienced during your stay. At our hotel we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very... More 

Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

We stayed two nights in Hotel De Moc in March 2015. Personally, I found the ’50 look charming, even if it has a slight run-down feel to it. Unfortunately we discovered some bedbug bites and a dead bug the next morning. We mentioned this at the desk and the staff kindly informed us that the room would be sprayed. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Malief, Thank you for your review and for mentioning you enjoyed our retro 60's accommodation style. At our hotel our Housekeeping department regularly fumigate and spray in both the guest rooms, as well as all public areas. We complete this as part of our ongoing prevention against any insect visitation and since your review we immediately brought in outside... More 

Arguineguin, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015 via mobile

Horrible, not like the photos at boknings.com or hotels.com. The images are a big lie, The Hotel looks like a old hospital in the hallways, the rooms is really outdated and worned down to max. Looks like Its been like this since the 80s. The pool and Its area was so gross you didnt Even wanna touch anything there. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Linda with Thomas, Thank you for choosing the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to write a few words about your stay here on Trip Advisor. We are naturally very disappointed to read that you did not receive the standards of hospitality and service which we have become renowned for here in Bangkok. Clearly we should have... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Hotel de Moc in early February. The place seemed nice enough, until we checked into our rooms and saw bedbugs crawling everywhere! We immediately asked for a new room (our mistake, we should have left, but we were tired after our 30+ hour flights), and didn't immediately see bugs. Sure enough we woke up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor readers, The Hotel De Moc has recently been in contact with this guest and this situation has now been resolved amicably, with a satisfactory conclusion. We would like to thank Leahfi for staying with us and hope she had a great holiday to Thailand. Yours Sincerely, John Pettengell Guest Services Manager gsm@buddygroupthailand.com More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay