We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel De Moc

78 Prajatipatai Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Hotel De Moc
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #394 of 773 Hotels in Bangkok
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015
Shanene R Brisbane, Australia
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    207
    93
    39
    26
See reviews for
38
147
40
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (418)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (69)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (150)
All months
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is about 15 min walk from kosan road. Rooms are old, bathroom even older and not particularly cleaned. Staff is rude (except the concierge) and can barely speak 4 words in english. Bed was really uncomfortable and breakfast was bad. The price is relatively convenient but i honestly would not reccomend it nor go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Dancing Queen 82, Thank you for choosing the Hotel de Moc in Bangkok. All out staff were disappointed when they saw your TripAdvisor review and we would like to sincerely apologize for the level of service experienced during your stay. At our hotel we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest; therefore your feedback is very... More 

Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights in Hotel De Moc in March 2015. Personally, I found the ’50 look charming, even if it has a slight run-down feel to it. Unfortunately we discovered some bedbug bites and a dead bug the next morning. We mentioned this at the desk and the staff kindly informed us that the room would be sprayed. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Arguineguin, Spain
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Horrible, not like the photos at boknings.com or hotels.com. The images are a big lie, The Hotel looks like a old hospital in the hallways, the rooms is really outdated and worned down to max. Looks like Its been like this since the 80s. The pool and Its area was so gross you didnt Even wanna touch anything there. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Linda with Thomas, Thank you for choosing the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to write a few words about your stay here on Trip Advisor. We are naturally very disappointed to read that you did not receive the standards of hospitality and service which we have become renowned for here in Bangkok. Clearly we should have... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Hotel de Moc in early February. The place seemed nice enough, until we checked into our rooms and saw bedbugs crawling everywhere! We immediately asked for a new room (our mistake, we should have left, but we were tired after our 30+ hour flights), and didn't immediately see bugs. Sure enough we woke up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor readers, The Hotel De Moc has recently been in contact with this guest and this situation has now been resolved amicably, with a satisfactory conclusion. We would like to thank Leahfi for staying with us and hope she had a great holiday to Thailand. Yours Sincerely, John Pettengell Guest Services Manager gsm@buddygroupthailand.com More 

chengdu
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had stayed here a year ago with this hotel but this time the internet would not work. Our room was off to the side. They refused to help fix the problem.they just blamed our devices because no one else complained and they would not let us get our money back or switch rooms. The room was non refundable but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

Liked the overall feel if the place. Dtaff were attentive. Pool was good deep. Kids enjoyed Wifi in room really good..No kettle. Location bit far from tourist area. Adds to the cost when paying for tuk tuk

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Shanene R, Greetings from the Hotel De Moc. Thank you for your highly motivating post. It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed such a good time with us. We hope that you are already planning on your next visit to Thailand. Thank you again for sharing your recent experience with us. Kind Regards John Pettengell Guest... More 

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I stayed here in June 2012. It was clean and tidy, and the staff were friendly and professional. The pool was brilliant. The location is walking distances to many of the central Bangkok sights and is close enough to transport that going further afield is straightforward. I'd happily stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Ross B, Thank you very much for once again staying at the Hotel De Moc near the famous Khaosan Road, it was a pleasure to be able to welcome you here. We are pleased to read you encountered no difficulties during your stay and were satisfied with the professional service provided by our team. See you next time you... More 

Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

This hotel is a good option if you are looking for a hotel in a more quiet spot in central Bangkok (well I don't know if it is central, but it is nearby Khao San Road). The hotel is from the 60's, and I don't think the rooms was ever renovated. However, rooms are nice, with tv, refrigerator and some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Marita B, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are truly delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your time in Bangkok and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more. At the Hotel De Moc we are passionate about trying to ensure all guests stays are a memorable one and we were delighted to... More 

Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

We wanted to treat ourselves to a couple of nights in a more expensive place, after 2 months of budget backpacker resorts. For the price, it was a huge let down. The rooms do not live up to the pictures on the Web page. Cold shower. Old school tv. Creepy elevator. They offer a shuttle to the airport for 500... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Travelling Hegge, Thank you for sharing your candid experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment caused. Your comments are valued and have been taken in a constructive manner. Our goal is to provide good services and facilities for all our guests and are sorry this did not happen in this case. The Buddy Travel Agency... More 

Brockholes, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the Koh San Road area without actually being there! It was a good price on the internet but our room price did not include the breakfast buffet - so we opted not to buy it once there as it was quite expensive and found some cheaper places locally. The staff were really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review

Dear Rachael M, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc in the Old Town of Bangkok. We are pleased to read you had a decent stay at our hotel and found our rooms to be comfortable. We have recently started renovating the bar area which used to service the swimming pool. Our staff do still offer... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay