We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ma Hotel

412 Surawongse Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ma Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    114
    114
    48
    34
See reviews for
32
59
35
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (330)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (105)
All months
There are newer reviews for Ma Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

Tried to check out after a 1000bt deposit with no receipt given to me. I checked out early and actually spoke to the original front desk man after the desk called him on his cell but he denied ever taking cash. A promise of " you'll get it back at the end" did not work so well. Watch out for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

POSITIVES POINTS: - Close to the river public service station. - Staff very nice and helpful (both reception and restaurant) - Bed very comfortable - Room very clean NEGATIVES: - Our room seemed old and baldly painted. - Not very close to metro, sky train. - Air conditioning was a bit noisy.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

i asked for a early check in but there was no response so i assumed that everything was ok considering that i have read reviews saying that the hotel usually accomodate early check in. When i arrived, not only did i not get the early check-in, i was also greeted by a very rude FOH which basically said that i... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

we went as a group and were not sure what to expect reading the negative comments.. Were very pleasantly surprised at the rooms and facilities. I had an excellent room with a small patio ( room 424). The breakfast was a bit dated but other than that the hotel provides all that they commit . an excellent choice and pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sunisa B, Director of Sales at Ma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ajay069, Greetings from Ma hotel Bangkok, We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Looking forward to welcome you once again. Yours sincerely, Sunisa B, Director Of Sales More 

United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

We had read lot of negative reviews so we were expecting the hotel to be very bad, but it turned out many of the reviews were not correct or may be the hotel management had already taken steps to make amends to improve the facilities. Overall we would recommend this hotel for the fantastic price and value it offers. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunisa B, Director of Sales at Ma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rjhaveri, Greetings from Ma Hotel Bangkok, Thank you very much for your feedback. We are appreciated and we will improve our services. We hope you will give us a chance to service you in the future. We are looking forward to warm welcome you once again Yours sincerely, Sunisa B. Director of Sales More 

Havelock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

The room was small but nice and clean. Only probably with it, asked staff to change sheets and they did not. Also wifi did not work all the time and the staff at the main desk did not seems to concern about meeting the needs of their customers. The only person really helpful was one of the door men. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sunisa B, Deputy to General Manager at Ma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Khun RT world, Greetings from Ma Hotel Bangkok, Thank you very much for your comment. First of all, we - the management team, would like to apologize for any inconvenience during your stay with us and sincerely thank you for your comments as mean for us to improve upon. We did have a management meeting to go over your... More 

Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 1 night after a trip from Phuket to see the reclining Buddha, $10.00 via taxi from the hotel, the hotel is a local hotel with only a few employees who speak English and it is not really central or near to anything, however let me tell you, I have never been more impressed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sunisa B, Deputy to General Manager at Ma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Khun International_Traveler, Greetings from Ma Hotel Bangkok, Thank you very much for choosing to stay in Ma Hotel. We are very much appreciate your time to gave us a feedback. We are satisfied and happy with our team performance. We thank you very much and looking forward to serve you in the future. Yours Sincerely, Sunisa B. Deputy to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Day 1, arrived at 9am in the morning. We were refused to be assigned to our room not until their hotel policy check in time at 2pm. HASSLE. Tried to borrow adaptor for my gadgets, but did not have any thing to let me use. Hotel room was nice and comfy but did not have slippers, wifi connection was unstable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sunisa B, Director of Sales at Ma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Khun Adrian Myron, Greetings from Ma Hotel Bangkok, Thank you very much for your comments. We had called up Front Office and Customer Service Departments to discuss about your comment and asked for them to improve upon their service. Your sincerely, Sunisa B. Director of Sales More 

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Asked for second room key card, got refuse by day reception in spite of we are two person. Night reception gave us other key later. Other staffs are nice. The pool is situated by the side of the lobby and restaurant with see through curtain! Kind of maximized the space!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sunisa B, Director of Sales at Ma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Khun Playboy2you2005, Greetings from Ma Hotel Bangkok, Thank you very much for choosing to stay in our hotel. We would like to apologies for the key card incident. We had called up our staff to reprimand on the staff action. Thank you once again for your comment. Your sincerely, Sunisa B. Director of Sales More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I Checked in the hotel on July 25th (Room 450), I saw previous reviews of the hotel and it shows they had Rats but I already booked by then, so at the time of Check in I confirmed with the Staff that if there are any and they said with a smile that “we used to have, now not anymore”... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nattakan P, General Manager at Ma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. AsimPK First of all, we would like to apologize again for your inconvenience and bad experience during your stay. Since the receiving of your complaint from the night of July 25th, 2014, we had called for an urgent meeting the next morning to handle the issue. Since the last reported incident of rodent in June, we did called... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.6 mi away
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
0.2 mi away
Novotel Bangkok Fenix Silom
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#12 of 781 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 5,264 reviews
3.8 mi away
AVANI Atrium Bangkok
AVANI Atrium Bangkok
#109 of 781 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Riverside Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay