We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Khaosan Baan Thai

Travelers' Choice award winner
11/1 Samsen Soi 3, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khaosan Baan Thai
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Khaosan Baan Thai
Add Photo Write a Review

398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    229
    141
    23
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
187
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (398)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (117)
All months
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I really liked the location of this hostel; it was not too crazy busy. Free breakfast and WiFi, but the former is basic (eggs, toast and hotdogs) and the latter is spotty. Still, the staff was extremely helpful aiding us in getting around, booking train tickets and activities and figuring out the river boats. The room was clean and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are basic - a mattress on the floor with fan(s) or aircon. Try to request a small room if you get a room with a fan; we stayed here on 2 occasions and the larger room got much hotter at night, plus it was just above the kitchen. Staff don't speak much English, but they are attentive and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean, broadly good value (although they charge for drinking water) and safe place to stay: staff generally helpful but not much English spoken. Bedroom fairly basic (just a mattress on the floor), bathrooms were fine and breakfast very uninspiring (2 pieces of toast, fried egg and frankfurter). Public transport options are limited - your best bet by far in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had been to thailand in my trip to Southeast ASIA. Everyone there was so georgous. The foods and beverages were very reasonable price. Location is far enuf from the bustle city and you can reach to popular places by walking. feel safe to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this hostel is very near the Backpacker throbbed district! it is good value for money the rooms are basic and breakfast is included, it gets top marks for its quaint presentation but doesn't get anywhere for taste! the hostel has a nice lounge area and outdoor area. the room is basic but grand with two fans in the room. i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for one night here. I was warmly greeted and the woman was very helpful with organising my bus to the airport the next day -8am to get to don mueng airport for 150 baht. They contacted me before arriving to confirm my booking and to provide details of how to arrive The single room I booked was simple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Bangkok in month of July and stayed in this hotel 2 times. Its a simple hotel, nicely ventilated, very hygienic, the staff is very polite and cheerful. Healthy breakfast. KhaoSan road @walking distance. I would prefer to take AC rooms although the Non AC rooms are cool at night. If i ever come back here, will stay nowhere... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived late at night for 1 night and headed straight for Khoasan Road for a night then checked out early the next morning. The rooms were locked when we left and 3 out of 4 of us had money stolen. Over £350 in total. The money was hidden inside our rucksacks and one padlock had been broken into. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pppinky, Owner at Khaosan Baan Thai, responded to this review

Dear DatGuyKing, Impossible as your review. Absolutely No Thief here. We run our small business with high reputation 12 awards within 5 years from guests around the world. We had help lot of guests who were stolen or scam. There are CCTV record 24 HRS around the house. That s a shame you incriminate our hostel with no evidence. ....... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited Bangkok in October last year, and it was so wonderful staying at Khaosan Baan Thai! I really didn't expect much because of how cheap it was but the service was wonderful, the room was clean and the staff was so helpful and warm! As a solo traveller it was also good to be away from Khao San road... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tucked Away in a quiet area, we booked a double room. Mattresses on the floor and two fans, we are easy and laid back so we don't mind this. The staff are friendly and helpful and don't mind helping you out. The only downside is that in the room we were staying in, the walls are really thin and you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

219 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (113)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
Common Downstairs Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Common Upstairs Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Double AirCon Room (21)
Viewed
Double Fan Room (19)
Viewed
The Hotel (49)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
3.1 mi away
Bangkok Loft Inn
Bangkok Loft Inn
#53 of 778 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
5.6 mi away
MHC-Guesthouse
MHC-Guesthouse
#75 of 778 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
16.2 mi away
Airy Resort
Airy Resort
#233 of 778 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Smart Suites
Smart Suites
#83 of 778 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tara Place
Tara Place
#42 of 778 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Klassique Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay