We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 69 Pokhara hotels

Hotel Tara

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shivalaya Marga, Lakeside - 6 | Gaurighat, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Hotel amenities
Hotel Tara
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tara to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Pokhara
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
John C
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    21
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
29
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An incredible.ataff.with very good breakfast and super clean rooms. Convenient to all the lakeside offering and restaurants. When it came time for the trek to begin, 4 of us and 4 porters, mr sam the manager provided the hotel van.to us at a good rate and it was waiting for us at the completion. These people are on the ball... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located at Lakeside, it is a convenient place if you want to shop and dine. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Staff is very polite and always ready to assist. However, the neighboring dogs can get quite crazy at night and bark non-stop, which may affect your sleep. Wifi is a bit spotty, but well, in nepal its a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked for one night and ended up staying 7! Pokhara was to be a holiday for us after almost 4 weeks in india, Hotel Tara was the perfect place to wind down. The staff were so pleasant and understood our need for some quiet time. They also booked a sunrise trip for us at a good price. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chestnut Ridge, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in three hotels in Pokhara. The first was inexpensive (about $30US/night) and nothing special - we left because of all the noise from local construction. The second was more luxury (about $115US/night) which we loved for 3 days and 2 nights. But we wanted to be back in the "action" of Pokhara so that we didn't need a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed staying here: a spacious room, very clean, lovely view, and very friendly staff. Breakfast was satisfactory; fairly basic but decently made, so no complaints. Would stay here again. Very close to the Thakali Kitchen, which is a great restaurant!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dilip Kumar G, General Manager at Hotel Tara, responded to this review

Hi Grace, Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. I am very glad that you had a lovely time here. You are very much correct about breakfast, as F&B is not our strong point. However, we are slowly trying to improve the dining experience for our guests. And yes, Thakali Kitchen is definitely a great restaurant. In... More 

Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean and tidy hotel rooms/toilet. The manager and reception staff are very pleasant and well mannered. We stayed two nights and are very pleased. When we are back in the evening on the 2nd day the manager offered to take our order for the breakfast tomorrow morning and had the staff prepared them on time the next day. overall, i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dilip Kumar G, General Manager at Hotel Tara, responded to this review

Dear Sweetish, Many thanks for posting your kind review and recommendation. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try everyday to provide that quality customer service that our guests expect and deserve. We hope you had an excellent stay! Regards shyam gurung General Manager More 

Lake District, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
69 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We just stayed here for 8 days and were delighted with the hotel. We booked early and got a good deal and this hotel exceeded our expectations. We'd come from a 4 star hotel in Kathmandu that was 3 x the price and we felt the hotel was cleaner and newer than that. Breakfast basic, toast, 2 eggs cooked to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dilip Kumar G, General Manager at Hotel Tara, responded to this review

Hi Mrs Pink, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay. We appreciate your kind words about room, cleanliness, location, views and services. I have passed along your praises to our receptionist and she says it was her absolute pleasure to make you happy. Everyone is so nice because we definitely have the best guests, who deserve a 5... More 

New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I was not expecting too much out of this hotel, as I had to book this hotel in a very short notice and the deal that i got was also quite tempting. The very entrance of the hotel was nice, and I kept on exploring further, I found this place to be very nice and professional. Food is not one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dilip Kumar G, General Manager at Hotel Tara, responded to this review

Namaste Mr Pratik, Thank you so much for your great review. I am happy to hear that you found us to be one of the good hotels in Pokhara. You are correct about F&B being our weakness, however, we are trying to sort this out slowly. I am glad that you felt welcomed and happy during your stay at our... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I was terrible sick during our stay! The boss driven me to the hospital during middle of the night and organised everything for me including pick me up from the hospital next day! Thank you so much! I am very sorry about my late review! The staffs were very kind and patient!, especially the receptionitist! The room was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this review

Hey Julia, Namaste from Hotel Tara I hope you are doing well now. It fills me up with grief seeing our guests facing the uncertain, while you should have been enjoying your travel. It was our pleasure to be able to be of your service. Thank you for your wishes and lovely review Julia. Stay safe and healthy. We would... More 

Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Tara for four nights on two different occasions and enjoyed it. It is an excellent value for a quite nice hotel. The staff is great, very friendly and helpful, and the location is ideal. It also has all the necessities of a good Nepal hotel: 1. Hot water all the time. (A surprisingly rare thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dilip Kumar G, Owner at Hotel Tara, responded to this review

Hello John, Namaste from Hotel Tara, Thank you so much for taking your time to write a detailed review on our services. It means a lot to us. Your comment about walking four floors is absolutely right on the point. As Pokhara is located at a hilly part of Nepal, most of the adventures here need people to walk up... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Tara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tara

Address: Shivalaya Marga, Lakeside - 6 | Gaurighat, Pokhara 33700, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tara 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay