We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Raniban Retreat

3.0 of 5 nr. Peace Pagoda | South Side of Fewa Lake, Pokhara, Nepal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raniban Retreat
Professional photos View all
Raniban Retreat
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
25
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

AWESOME! Yea peace of heaven is found here. It is worth the 500 steps to climb up to the top. I want to go back soon! We found the staff and food to be really great. You never want to go down into town. Only the birds and the hang gliders are around here, no taxi noise or anything to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adohsey2014, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your visit to Raniban and such wonderful review.We are glad that you had pleasant experience at Raniban Retreat.We would love to host you again.Please do come with your family and friends. Rgds, Vijay Shrestha More 

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

If you are fit and healthy and love to trek.. Then go for RANIBAN RETREAT!! You will be offered the best view of the majestic Annapurna Ranges/ the Machupuchare Peak and the Dhaulagiri Range. To reach this place, the only effort you have to give is to climb up 500 steps. (there is no alternative to this). But it is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
adohsey2014, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind stay at Raniban Retreat. I appreciate your review of Retreat and comments.As Raniban is an eco-friendly property,we are looking at possible alternative eco-friendly heating systems. Raniban is a great choice for lovers of peace, tranquility and great views and we believe you enjoyed it fully during your stay with us.We will keep on improving all... More 

Kathmandu, Nepal
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Wonderfull view of Annapurna himalayas range. We shaw 3 mountains ( mt. Annapurna, mt manashlu and mt. Dhavalagiri )which are 8000+ meter height. And other mountans including mt. Machhapuchchhre ( fishtail ) increadible view of fewa lake, sarangkot, harpan stream, forests and pokhara city. Its nearby world peace stupa. 4minuts step up wakling is good excercise. We had private garden... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adohsey2014, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Badrikumar, We are greatly thankful for your staying in Raniban Retreat. I appreciate your review of Retreat and comments. Raniban is an eco-friendly property and we are looking at possible alternative eco-friendly heating systems. Regarding food, we are already working on improving menu. We assure you of a more delightful stay in your next visit. Rgds, Vijay Shrestha More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Beautiful place, wonderful people, delicious food, world class hotel and stunning views. One of the best sunshine and sunset I have ever seen. It is a must visit place if you are in pokhara. Absolutely amazing. Will definitely visit again when I am in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
adohsey2014, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Saurav ji,Thank you so much for your visit to Raniban and such wonderful review.We are glad that you had pleasant experience at Raniban Retreat.We would love to host you again in future.Please do come with your family and friends. Regards, Vijay Shrestha More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Spendig your hollyday at Raniban is an atventure. It is not luxery, but is charmeing and is an experience you never forget. The hotel is on the top of the mountain, that you only reach by walking the 522 steps, We spendt four wonderful days at Raniban Retreat, witch really has the best view, of the mountains and Pokhara. It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adohsey2014, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Anders, Thank you for choosing Raniban for your Pokhara visit.Raniban is for nature lovers and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will keep on improving all aspects of our services to make sure that your future stay in Raniban will be more exhilarating.Looking forward to host you again. Regards, Vijay Shrestha More 

Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

It was a great experience staying in Raniban for me and three of my friends from 9 to 10 December. I arranged for a pickup service from the Lakeside bus station, and the manager, Ganga, came all the way down to assist us. Ganga made it a point to explain to us the mission of Raniban and how it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adohsey2014, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Vekven, thank you for your visit to Raniban and for the recommendations.We are happy that you had a pleasant experience at Raniban Retreat.We aim at continually improving the property and upgrading our services.We will keep on working hard for making Raniban a better place for your future stay.Please do come with your family and friends.Thank you. Rgds, Vijay Shrestha More 

singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014 via mobile

Simply overpriced. No hot shower during our stay, no toilet amenities, no wardrobe, no kettle and no view in December. Was told by staff that the sky will clear up in the morning, but it didnt. Avoid in December. Booked the lodge with 'private garden', but everyone came into the garden in the morning, making lots of noise. Its open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
adohsey2014, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Fumo, While I would like to sincerely thank you for your kind visit to Raniban Retreat, I am extremely sorry for your bad experience during your stay. I am thankful to you for your comments on our services. This is our eye-opener. As a matter of fact, it’s shockingly surprising for me that you had such an experience in... More 

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

Grossly overpriced for what it is in Pokhara. Half of its current charges would be more reasonable. Bear in mind that you have to pay additional minimum 2000 rp for the transfers. Room is very basic and sparse. We booked the mountain view lodge with 'private garden', which is actually shared by all three lodges. And anyone could walk into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
adohsey2014, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Weiyang, Thank you for your kind stay in Raniban Retreat and comments. We have conceptualized the Retreat with a few things in mind: 1) it’s secluded hill-top property providing great peace and tranquility within 7 km. nearness from the airport, 2) it’s the best view place in Pokhara because of its southern situation thus giving a one-go view of... More 

Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Well, this review is a little late but I did want to write our experience at this venue. The wife and I stayed here during our Nepal trip in April, 2014. I found this little place on WikiTravel.Org and took the chance based on the reviews and location. After spending a few days in Katmandu, we headed out to Pokhara... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
adohsey2014, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Sam Perera, We are greatly thankful for your choosing Raniban Retreat for your Pokhara visit. I appreciate your review of Retreat and comments. As you have seen and as we have mentioned in our website the Retreat is a secluded Hilltop Property and, therefore, requires 500-our-own-built stone steps. We have chosen to make the Retreat the most peaceful place... More 

Shah Alam, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

it was our second time in Raniban, since two years ago. yep, the price-range has increased (from only USD50nett to USD115nett, for a Deluxe Room aka Mountain View Room now). however, indeed a lot of improvements are there i.e. rooms are better decorated and facilities being added, wifi are available for free and faster, customer services are warm as always.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adohsey2014, Owner at Raniban Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Alam, It’s indeed great pleasure for us to host you the second time. You have found Raniban Retreat a better, improved place to come and stay in. We would like to transform it further better. We have a clear purpose: to continually improving the property and services and also engaging in socialwelfare activities in neighborhood villages. We will keep... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Raniban Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raniban Retreat

Address: nr. Peace Pagoda | South Side of Fewa Lake, Pokhara, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Western Region > Gandaki Zone > Pokhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Raniban Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Raniban Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

152 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
View from room (37)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay