We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Moonlight

3.0 of 5 Paknajol, Thamel, Kathmandu 6667, Nepal
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Moonlight
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Moonlight
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    49
    36
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
36
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (155)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was clean and they provided two botol of mineral water which we really need it (I suggest you to do not use tap water even for brush your teeth! Don't ever drink tap water). If you want to exchange money, this hotel gave good rate. The food in the restaurant was good, but just to warn you that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We stayed here at the start and end of our trek. The first room we got was, ok not much more. But when we came back we got room no 409. It was much better! The location is good, in center of Thamel but quite quiet surroundings so you can sleep undisturbed. Breakfast is "standard" Kathmandu type... Wi-Fi as Ursula,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

This isn't the worst place to stay, and it's still popular among westerners and East Asians alike. But truth is, there is mould all over the bathroom, constantly awaken each morning by people visiting a shrine to ring a bell at 6am or earlier, and dogs barking all night long. Don't stay here and expect to get a good night... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We stayed here twice, right before and after our trek to Everest Base Camp. We found the place to be run down and dirty. The floors were dirty, the bathrooms moldy, and the toilet barely functioning. A bucket caught the dripping water from the sink plumbing. Prior to the trek I had accidentally spilled a small spot of makeup on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Abu Dhabi
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights, and found our room to be small, dirty and smelly with mold on the walls and painting falling of as well in the room as in the corridors. Food left outside another door on same floor was just sitting there for 2 days - discusting! AC worked the first night, but not the NeXT - we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Randburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for just one night on my way to Pokhara. It was recommended as a hotel with airport transfers, which was a great bonus. The room was decent, although the aircon did not work as well as I would have hoped and the bathroom was not great. The staff was friendly, food in the hotel restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Worst hotel staff i have ever seen and the terrible hotel location. Non-standerd for 3 star rating. AC, TV are not working, no response on complains. No higher management available to solve the complain and the behavior of person incharge at reception is rude and harsh

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
prakash110, Owner at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Amir K, Thank you very much for writing a review about your stay. It is our great motivation to get feedback from our valuable guest. But in this case, we can’t accept your review. There weren’t any problems and complain about our amenities. You had standard room booking and we don’t have A/C on standard room which was mention... More 

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Me (and 6 friends) stayed at this hotel for two nights. My overall experience was decent. The hotel is located at a 5 min walk form the main Thamel area. The view from the rooms is also decent. Rooms are clean, but the washrooms were not acceptable (The light was not working in one of them, and the shower was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
prakash110, Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Hasan, Thank you very much for writing a review about your stay. It’s our great motivation to get feed back from our valuable guest. We are extremely sorry to hear that you had a problem while you were here. We are renovating rooms and services. We hope that you will not have any problem from next time. However, We... More 

Cape Town
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

situated in a quite corner in the city five minutes from centre of Thamel. Friendly and helpful staff Wifi in the lobby but we had trouble connecting.Room was spacious with a balcony and view over the city. Huge Bathroom with adequate hot water & shower over the bath. Good breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
prakash110, Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for writing a review about your stay. It’s our great motivation to get feed back from our valuable guest. We are pleased to know that you are happy with our staffs, food, view from room's balcony and servies. We are trying to maintain service from our side all the time. We all are looking... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff here are very friendly and always have time for a smile and a hello. Any issues we had were dealt with promptly by security and service staff, who took our concerns seriously and ensured we continued to feel welcome in the city. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Thamel, the tourist district, and so is within... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
prakash110, Manager at Hotel Moonlight, responded to this review

Dear Erin, Thank you very much for writing a review about your stay. It’s our great motivation to get feed back from our valuable guest. We are pleased to know that you are happy with our staffs and services. We are trying to maintain service from our side all the time. We all are looking forward to serving you soon.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Moonlight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moonlight

Address: Paknajol, Thamel, Kathmandu 6667, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moonlight 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Moonlight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay