We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Blue Horizon

Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Blue Horizon
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    131
    112
    66
    26
    25
See reviews for
62
81
84
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (360)
  • Mar-May only
    (98)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (86)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (106)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Motel has great food , good selection for breakfast and lunch from a menu , rooms are outdated , my room had a bucket in the shower and mold, power goes out numerous times a day and trouble with hot water as expected .. Can be dark walking in alley at night , staff are lovely ,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in G5 first then G2 on our second run through Kathmandu. Both rooms were comfortable and spacious. Room service was quick and the staff were very friendly. Talk to Mr. Ram if you want to have a Nepal trip planned out for you, he is very helpful. Will definitely come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is awsome to be here always.Rooms are big and beds are comfortable,they are neat and clean.. staffs are friendly nd helpful.They serve good foods in the open Garden restyrant which is really nice..i will definitely come back here time and again in every visit to Kathmandu.. thank every one..😊😊😊

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I have stayed in this hotel on variuos occassions. Every time I come here I feel like I'm in my own home. Now I have known almost every staffs here. They are very caring, friendly and helpful. Perfect location ! If you are looking for a peaceful stay near city, you are welcome. Reasonable price ! Rooms are large and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

I stayed in Kathmandu in June this year. This hotel is just twenty five minutes drive from Airport. It is situated in Thamel area, which is a prime tourist hub in the city. The Hotel is nicely located & slight offway from Main road. So there is enough tranquility. Friendly Hotel Staffs and convinient location makes it one of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

I left this hotel after 1 night. the room was dirty and through my window I could only see a stone wall. the Wifi was not available in my room. the staff seems nice but they are always trying to sell sth (e.g. trekking). the garden is nice though and the price was 15$. But all in all I had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rockville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Looking over all the reviews I am surprized to see so many positive comments. I arrived in Kathmandu in early May to stay one night before heading to the epicenter of the quake to help out with shelter and blankets for the many people who lost their homes and all they owned in the quake. One night was more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wagledevendra, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Blue Horizon, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We are in a shocking state when we read your reviews. We are so sorry. You have full right to claim the change of room or either call the manager to take care of. We deeply apologize for an unpleasant stay at our Hotel. Please provide us the full details of the room that you have stayed in.... More 

Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

I stayed here after my long flight from NYC to Nepal two months ago and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was. I was expecting the place to be a hostel but it was actually a wonderful hotel with a beautiful courtyard. They serve breakfast down in the garden and while my friend and I were up in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Stayed at this hotel from 25 April (day of earthquake). We took refugee here and was offered a room on arrival. We were provided with daily hot meals. The staff are great and always ensured that you are ok. The hotel has a lovely garden where you could chat to other travellers. Lovely hotel in a good location

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

a good place for use as a base camp to explore the old city and the surroundings. reliable left luggage and errand services, good breakfast on the terrace or in room. I hope you're not too badly impacted by this terrible earthquake.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (114)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Aryatara Kathmandu Hotel
#29 of 150 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#16 of 150 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#17 of 150 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Encounter Nepal
Hotel Encounter Nepal
#15 of 150 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kathmandu Home Hotel
Kathmandu Home Hotel
#54 of 150 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#124 of 150 in Kathmandu
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay