We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

4.5 of 5 Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    112
    62
    22
    9
See reviews for
46
71
38
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (251)
  • Mar-May only
    (72)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Jaipur, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited this hotel in June 2014 with family and was extremely disappointed with the hospitality. Even the ambiance of the hotel was a turn-off. Definitely not a value for money. Even the location of the hotel isn't great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your feedback on your stay. As regards your comments I would like to inform you that we have upgraded our facilities like Rooms, Lobby,... More 

Qatar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was very disappointed with the whole experience , simply ,staff were never trained , they just don't have what it takes to be in hospitality field , Am really sorry , such place cant be called Shangrila , rooms were terrible , staff are completely in the wrong type of job , they just cant be in hospitality field... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Ahmed, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your feedback on your stay. As regards your comment on WiFi, we provide free WiFi in Lobby, Lost Horizon Cafe, Shambala Garden and in... More 

Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights prior to our Peregrine tour, and to be honest, we were bitterly disappointed. The hotel itself is quite run down. The room we stayed in was small and dirty and the bathroom left much to be desired. The food was more than ordinary - so much so that after dining at the hotel for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your constructive feedback on your recent stay. We would firstly like to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences and disappointment you had... More 

Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
48 hotel reviews
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A decent 3-start hotel with a recently refurbished lobby, the Shangrila’s a rooms are a bit aged but clean and adequate for a brief stay. We had some nibbles in the James Hilton bar that sufficed for a quick lunch, and we sampled some local beer (Everest and Nepal Ice). The breakfast buffet was ok with eggs and such.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Brian, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! We are very grateful for your recognition towards our effort in providing quality service and facility. Your comments will be shared with our entire team which will encourage them to further strive towards achieving... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here at the beginning and at the end of a recent Peregrine trip. Our first room, which we had for two nights was extremely ordinary. The bathroom door was hand marked and filthy and the bathroom fittings did not work. The room needed a jolly good clean. The second room was Room 302 which was at the other... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your feedback on your stay. We have noted your comments which has been seriously addressed to the concerned departments. This is just for... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

we stopped here one night before travelling on to bhutan which it was absolutely fine for. Decent restaurant and bar with nice but quite small garden. Although on a busy street (but which one in Kathmandu isn't) the hotel was peaceful. Nice little boutique store at front for souvenirs. Would use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Mr. David, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal and taking the time to share the review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team efforts.... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a great experience staying at this hotel, was there for 5 days. Nice rooms with all facilities, specially wi-fi internet. Room service, doorman and all other staff are very helpful. breakfast free included in the stay package. Everything went very well

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal and taking the time to share the review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team efforts. We... More 

Moorpark, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
74 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When you step into the hotel, you really do leave chaotic Kathmandu behind. The lobby is spacious and as everyone agrees the garden, outdoor bar, and restaurant are very pleasant. I stayed here twice, once at the beginning and once at the end of a broader Nepal trip. Most guests are doing the same. The rooms are unremarkable, but perfectly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! It was pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your feedback on your stay. We would firstly like to extend our sincere apologies if you experience inconsistent service which has been seriously... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Returning from a cultural cycling tour in Bhutan I had been booked into this pleasant 4 star hotel, not too far from the airport and relatively quiet at night, if not during the day. The hotel has recently been upgraded in its common parts, lobby, bar, restaurants and garden and it shows. The rooms could now do with an upgrade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! It was pleasure to have you as our guest and it is so inspiring to learn that you had enjoyed such a memorable stay with us. We are very grateful for your recognition towards our... More 

Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here on 3 separate occasions passing through Kathmandu during a 3 week holiday in Nepal. Staff very friendly; excellent food and a lovely garden for dinner on the lawn with a brazier to keep the chill off. Also a very refreshing pool and decent gym. Yes, the rooms are maybe a little tired but perfectly comfortable. A 15... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kishor T, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Robert, Greetings from Shangrila~La Hotel, Kathmandu! Thank you for choosing to stay at The Shangri~La Hotel during your recent visit to Kathmandu, Nepal ! We appreciate you for taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your stay. This certainly encourages our team to further strive towards achieving excellence. Our team of staff is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu

Address: Lazimpat, Kathmandu, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Kathmandu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Kathmandu
Shangri La Hotel Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Kathmandu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kathmandu
#17 Spa Hotel in Kathmandu

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay