We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Vaishali

P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vaishali
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Vaishali
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    73
    63
    32
    17
See reviews for
54
52
26
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (257)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rooms were clean and spacious, however, faced problems with the AC. Could not be rectified after complaints, since other rooms were not available, had to settle with extra fan. WIFI worked but only at the lobby. Food was good and restaurant service was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Hotel Vaishali , The place to be . Tha facilities you get in this price just excellent. I suggest you guys check this hotel once out. You'll love it.you will be welcomed in heart of capital by friendly staffs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Bad experience with this hotel. If you get a room towards the back of Hotel Vaishali then be prepared to hear the doof doof base music coming from a local nightclub. You will not get any sleep. The bathroom was fine by Nepal standards. The A/C did not work in that room and it was quite dirty (A/C needed a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vaishali Hotel during your extended stay in Kathmandu. I am saddened to learn that you had a less than satisfactory service experience with us on more than one occasion. The unsatisfactory service which you have recieved was due to the aftermath of earthquake shocks which are still ocuuring in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The AC in our room did not work for the entire 3 day stay of ours. The staff doesn't listen to you. The lift was out of service half of the time and extension didn't work too. They claim to be a 5 star property but service aren't worth it. The only advantage is that it has good access to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vaishali Hotel during your extended stay in Kathmandu. I am saddened to learn that you had a less than satisfactory service experience with us on more than one occasion. The unsatisfactory service which you have recieved was due to the aftermath of earthquake shocks which are still ocuuring in... More 

County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying in a nearby hotel when the earthquake struck on the 25th of May,the staff suggested we run to the courtyard of the Vaishali hotel nearby as it had some open space and would be safer. Over the next 48 hours the management and staff of the Vaishali took very good care of myself and my wife,not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you have great memories of the time spent with us and found it to be a good value. Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles. The team at Vaishali Hotel are glad to hear that you were... More 

Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband Subodh K. Jain and I arrived at the hotel about an hour after the earthquake hit on Saturday by car from Chitwan. We sat outside for a few hours before we were allowed to check in. I don't have enough words to describe how incredible the owner and the key staff (Vineet, Arun Purie, Mukti, Rana etc.) at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you have great memories of the time spent with us and found it to be a good value. Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles. The team at Vaishali Hotel are glad to hear that you were... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed 3 nights here in April 2015. Whilst the bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom was appalling, with the worst plumbing work I have ever experienced. Basically nothing worked. We had room service each night and the food was excellent (as was the service). Breakfast was included and the venue for which was the surrounds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Vaishali Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide. Naturally, I am extremely disappointed and apologetic for the... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to Hotel Vaishali on 26 of April, the afternoon after the second earthquake, we were 4 people, the hotel did not give us a paid room, they free of cost welcomed us and took care of us and everyone in need of a safe place during this awful time in Nepal. I will never be able to thank... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you have great memories of the time spent with us and found it to be a good value. Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles. The team at Vaishali Hotel are glad to hear that you were... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My mom Veena Raj Goel checked in on the Friday a day before the earthquake . She told us how you and your staff took care of not only ur guest but everyone who came to your hotel during earthquake . You make me believe in humanity again .Will stay with you when I visit Nepal

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you have great memories of the time spent with us and found it to be a good value. Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles. The team at Vaishali Hotel are glad to hear that you were... More 

Italian Riviera, Italy
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights . The service was excellent within the hotel and the restaurant. The breakfast and evening meal was excellent and good value for money, especially in pool side . The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. It is also an ideal location. I have stayed at quite a few different hotels in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you have great memories of the time spent with us and found it to be a good value. Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles. The team at Vaishali Hotel are glad to hear that you were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay