We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Vaishali

3.5 of 5 P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vaishali
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Vaishali
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    65
    53
    30
    16
See reviews for
46
47
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed with a group of girls on a habitat for humanity mission. staffs were helpful in spite of our midnight check ins. Close by to shopping areas and good restaurant areas. breakfast was decent considering we were in nepal. Good hotel overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for your very thorough recount of your experience at the Hotel Vaishali . I’m thrilled our team was able to surpass your expectations and you were pleased with your guest room. It is your recognition & appreciation of our team that drives us to continue to deliver exceptional customer service. We would love to welcome you and your... More 

Mount Gambier, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here our last two nights in Kathmandu. It is a pleasant place to stay. The room was nice, if very western. The location was fantastic. The staff in the duning area to the left of the entrance were really lovely. We didn't even realise there was another dining room down stairs until the second day. It was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for your very thorough recount of your experience at the Hotel Vaishali . I’m thrilled our team was able to surpass your expectations and you were pleased with your guest room. It is your recognition & appreciation of our team that drives us to continue to deliver exceptional customer service. We would love to welcome you and your... More 

Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

stayed here on a 1 night break and enjoyed the stay. Room was nice and quiet and breakfast had good selection although bacon was poor. Great location for central kathmandu. and easy access,but we also found that you needed to book in advance as several restaurants we tried on spec were all booked up so plan ahead especially with the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing a review from your recent trek adventure.. We are thrilled to know that the Hotel Vaishali was convenient for your trekking needs, you enjoyed our close proximity to local restaurants, and your guest room was very clean. Please let me know when your travels bring you back to Kathmandu. It would be my pleasure to personally... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We a group of four couples stayed here for one night, to enjoy a full weekend in vaishali hotel kathmandu . We arrived too early to check in, but the concierge was happy to look after our bags until we returned later. The room was larger than we expected, and very quiet, and although we couldn't work out the controls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

hank you for sharing a review of your experience at the Vaishali Hotel . We are overjoyed to learn that your Thanksgiving travels ran smoothly due to your comfortable guest room and our excellent team members. It pleases us to know that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet options and our conveniently close proximity to the Strip. We eagerly await your... More 

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
45 hotel reviews
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'll start with the few good things: excellent location with security; abundant and tasty breakfast. The service staff is friendly--but totally incompetent. That's it. Bad: Old, tired rooms with bad fixtures, frequent power resets/failure, no water bottles, wifi is $3 per day and slow, bathrooms are dilapidated with broken items; towels are thin; it's noisy. Do NOT get a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Vaishali Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide. Naturally, I am extremely disappointed and apologetic for the... More 

Ocean City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Vaishali for a week in December. It was our first time in Kathmandu, so I cannot compare this hotel to any other hotels in the area, but here are my observations: Good: -great staff. Always polite, visible, and helpful, whether you need a map, taxi, or postage stamp. -good location. Walking distance to Monkey Temple (25 minutes,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Vaishali Hotel on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide. Naturally, I am extremely disappointed and apologetic for the... More 

Nolensville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A three stars hotel in the middle of Thamel area, not particularly memorable, but enough for a quick city stay. Service in uninspired and it struggles a bit with the frequent power cuts that are a rule in Nepal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for recently staying at the Hotel vaishali . I was disappointed to read, that you were not completely satisfied with your experience during your stay with us. Please note, that providing exceptional service to our guests is something which we strive for, therefore, I truly apologize, that you did not find this to be the case. Rest assured,... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went there to explore Nepal and then join a tour of kailash in Tibet. Spent 3 nights, and dont have any complaints. There was plenty of staff to look after, rooms we're specious and neat and enough options were given for breakfast. Wifi was provided too and concierge service was handy too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for your very thorough recount of your experience at the Hotel Vaishali . I’m thrilled our team was able to surpass your expectations and you were pleased with your guest room. It is your recognition & appreciation of our team that drives us to continue to deliver exceptional customer service. We would love to welcome you and your... More 

PUNE
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel after our trip to Muktinath shrine in Nepal. Hotel has very good location with all kinds of shops around. Ideal for tourists. It also offers free wifi in Lobby area allowing you to be in touch with friends. However the restaurant has very limited menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for your very thorough recount of your experience at the Hotel Vaishali . I’m thrilled our team was able to surpass your expectations and you were pleased with your guest room. It is your recognition & appreciation of our team that drives us to continue to deliver exceptional customer service. We would love to welcome you and your... More 

Ningbo, China
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here both before and after our trek. The staff is responsive and helpful and even though the hotel is possibly one of the better ones in Thamel, the rooms aren't above average. Cleanliness too is average as are the facilities. wifi did not work in the lobby area and that made me hesitate to buy a wifi card... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Hotel Vaishali. You indicated in your response that our wi fi service was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Vaishali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaishali

Address: P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vaishali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vaishali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaishali Hotel Kathmandu

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay