We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 134 Kathmandu hotels

Hotel Vaishali

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Save Saved
You added Hotel Vaishali to your Saves list
Hotel Vaishali
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
62%
Ranked #88 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Vladimir P melbourne
  • Overview
  • Reviews (200)
  • Photos (35)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (42)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    54
    42
    27
    15
See reviews for
41
43
18
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in the Hotel Vaishali on both of our previous trips to Nepal before we went trekking and we have booked it again for our third trip coming up at the end of this year. That says it all really. It's location is fantastic. The rooms were clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Huge buffet breakfast. Give it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

thank you for your kind words, but most of all thank you for your loyalty!! It is because of guests like you that we love what we do. We couldn't be happier that we continue to exceed your expectations and look forward to welcome you again.Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles. All of us here are thrilled... More

Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed 4 days in Vaishali hotel. Unfortunately on the first day of check in, I had to carry my luggage bags up to the 4th floor! The elevator was under repair on the first day of our arrival. The elevator was fixed and back to normal on the second day onwards. Breakfast is served every morning. A waitor named,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Vaishali during your extended stay in Thamel. I am saddened to learn that you had a less than satisfactory service experience with us on more than one occasion. I assure you that this is not representative of the level of service we are known for, of which I... More

San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is relatively classy accommodation but of high quality with welcoming and helpful staff. On entering the reception area we were greeted by an extremely helpful doorman who went out of her way to be polite, honest and greeted us by saying namaste "! A couple of minutes walking distance from bars ,restaurants and pubs and shopping, and maybe 15... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am glad that your stay turned out to be such a positive surprise - exactly what we expect all our visitors to experience! Hopefully we are now your favourite hotel in kathmandu, we shall look forward to your future visits : Yours sincerely, More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Hotel Vaishali is in the middle of the market area. and island of a hotel. Food was very good. Service needs improvement - especially in the rooms. Else the stay was very pleasant. It looked like they are doing the renovation - Probably the reason for just satisfactory room service. I would suggest them to allow the guests to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at our property. We are always looking to improve upon our guests' experiences and take your comments to heart. Please know that we have shared your kind words with our entire staff. We truly believe that the little things mean everything and are happy to know that you enjoyed our... More

Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is our 8th stay at Vaishali Hotel and during this past two years, we can truly say that it is the best place to stay in Thamel Kathmandu. The rooms are impeccable, reservations were done quickly and well, the management are personable and inviting for a good vacation, the hotel is in a wonderful location, quiet and spotless so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you, thank you!! Thank you for the glowing review, thank you for your kind words, but most of all thank you for your loyalty!! It is because of guests like you that we love what we do. We couldn't be happier that we continue to exceed your expectations and look forward "WOWing" you every time you come... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

stayed in Vaishali hotel in Thamel for 5 days, because of my traveler agency's contract with them. otherwise i would get out the first day. the pictures of the rooms are nothing close to what they actually are. old uncleaned with air conditioning not working more than half the time. very rude and inconsiderate stuff especially the front desk employees.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vaishali Hotel during your extended stay in kathmandu. I am saddened to learn that you had a less than satisfactory service experience with us on more than one occasion. I assure you that this is not representative of the level of service we are known for, of which I... More

Pennsville, New Jersey
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

i am staying in this hotel about 10-20 nights per year, because of the warm and dedicated people and the perfect location. Hotel Vaishali offers good value for money and if you need more restaurants, you can use those in thamel. All major shopping centers within 10 minutes walk. The rooms are big and clean. The hotel itself is filled... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for your very thorough recount of your experience at the Hotel Vaishali . I’m thrilled our team was able to surpass your expectations and you were pleased with your guest room. It is your recognition & appreciation of our team that drives us to continue to deliver exceptional customer service. We would love to welcome you and your... More

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Hotel location is very good Its in middle of thamel Receptionist (ranjita adhikari) help us lot To discove Kathmandu ...!!!!!!!!!!!! U must meet her....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! but wifi not work properly! !!😪

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Hotel Vaishali.. We appreciate you mentioning the hard work of Ranjita our Guest Relations Manager. Each works tirelessly to ensure you feel valued and respected. We are also centrally located within walking distance of museum, restaurants and pubs,shops being on our doorstep. I do hope that we will have... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Guys m suggesting don't choose hotel VAISHALI for your stay ...it has very bad hotel service .....they talk very sweetly but they cheat you in your bill ...n atlast if u don't agree on bill ...they fight also...so giving my best review to you is don't you ever choose this hotel ...the service they is a/c rooms but in that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at our property. We are always looking to improve upon our guests' experiences and take your comments to heart. I have already had a meeting with my managers and got a clear picture of exactly what went wrong.You were continuously followed up for payment by our manger and you were... More

Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

we had a real presentable stay here all the staffs are very friendly. The service we had received during our stay are excellent. Good food, very clean and neat place, housekeeping is excellent. we will definitly recomand our friends about the hotel, and will request them to choose hotel vaishalli if ever they are planning to visit Nepal

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Dear guest, It is truly our pleasure to have welcomed you to the Hotel vaishali as our valued guest. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and i am glad to read we contributed to your positive experience.I appreciate you mentioning that the hard work of our housekeeping team is visible as they work tirelessly to keep both guest rooms... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Vaishali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Vaishali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaishali

Address: P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vaishali 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Vaishali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaishali Hotel Kathmandu

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
95

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer