We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 134 Kathmandu hotels

Hotel Vaishali

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Save Saved
You added Hotel Vaishali to your Saves list
Hotel Vaishali
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
62%
Ranked #88 of 134 hotels in Kathmandu
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
mkmurali Chennai (Madras), India
  • Reviews (204)
  • Photos (36)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (43)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

204 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    56
    43
    28
    15
See reviews for
41
44
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days on the way to kailash tour in june month....Its an AC room, but only a average cooling..we cannot adjust it,,,This property is old so the toilet is also little older,, The buffet breakfast was an average, being a vegetarian I found hard to eat in the first day, because they are mixing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location with lot of shopping option around. Staff were courteous. Manager was helpful. Rooms were OK, AC not cool enough whatever adjustment you make and keep, the rooms remained warm only not comfortable at all. Hot water flow and cold water flow in bath room were very limited and low.so only bucket and mug could be used and not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We take all our guest reviews very seriously as we value our guests opinions and feedback in order to better our services. We would like to apologize for all the unfortunate incidents you experienced during your stay with us and can guarantee that the service you received is not what... More

Hyesan, North Korea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we walked in to the hotel, to the moment we left we had an amazing experience... Our room was clean, comfortable and the service was amazing. From the ladies at the front desk, to the housekeepers and the rest of the hotel staff; they were always very courteous and friendly. The warm cookies, free coffee bar nd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for your very thorough recount of your experience at the Hotel Vaishali . I’m thrilled our team was able to surpass your expectations and you were pleased with your guest room. It is your recognition & appreciation of our team that drives us to continue to deliver exceptional customer service. We would love to welcome you and your... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice location in the heart of Thamel. Really nice staff. But poorly managed. Real maintenance and upkeep issues. Our tub was grotty - imagine the least qualified maintenance person in all of Nepal, give him a broken stick and a tube of counterfeit toothpaste. Now set him loose on caulking the tub in 3106. Imagine an inch and a half... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay here with us at the Hotel Vaishali Kathmandu. I am saddened to learn that you had a less than satisfactory service experience with us on more than one occasion. you were clearly disappointing by breakfast, place mats in our restaurants and bath tubs.it is our... More

melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have stayed in the Hotel Vaishali on both of our previous trips to Nepal before we went trekking and we have booked it again for our third trip coming up at the end of this year. That says it all really. It's location is fantastic. The rooms were clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Huge buffet breakfast. Give it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

thank you for your kind words, but most of all thank you for your loyalty!! It is because of guests like you that we love what we do. We couldn't be happier that we continue to exceed your expectations and look forward to welcome you again.Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles. All of us here are thrilled... More

Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed 4 days in Vaishali hotel. Unfortunately on the first day of check in, I had to carry my luggage bags up to the 4th floor! The elevator was under repair on the first day of our arrival. The elevator was fixed and back to normal on the second day onwards. Breakfast is served every morning. A waitor named,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Vaishali during your extended stay in Thamel. I am saddened to learn that you had a less than satisfactory service experience with us on more than one occasion. I assure you that this is not representative of the level of service we are known for, of which I... More

San Luis Obispo, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is relatively classy accommodation but of high quality with welcoming and helpful staff. On entering the reception area we were greeted by an extremely helpful doorman who went out of her way to be polite, honest and greeted us by saying namaste "! A couple of minutes walking distance from bars ,restaurants and pubs and shopping, and maybe 15... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am glad that your stay turned out to be such a positive surprise - exactly what we expect all our visitors to experience! Hopefully we are now your favourite hotel in kathmandu, we shall look forward to your future visits : Yours sincerely, More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Hotel Vaishali is in the middle of the market area. and island of a hotel. Food was very good. Service needs improvement - especially in the rooms. Else the stay was very pleasant. It looked like they are doing the renovation - Probably the reason for just satisfactory room service. I would suggest them to allow the guests to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay at our property. We are always looking to improve upon our guests' experiences and take your comments to heart. Please know that we have shared your kind words with our entire staff. We truly believe that the little things mean everything and are happy to know that you enjoyed our... More

Stuttgart, Germany
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is our 8th stay at Vaishali Hotel and during this past two years, we can truly say that it is the best place to stay in Thamel Kathmandu. The rooms are impeccable, reservations were done quickly and well, the management are personable and inviting for a good vacation, the hotel is in a wonderful location, quiet and spotless so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you, thank you, thank you!! Thank you for the glowing review, thank you for your kind words, but most of all thank you for your loyalty!! It is because of guests like you that we love what we do. We couldn't be happier that we continue to exceed your expectations and look forward "WOWing" you every time you come... More

Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

stayed in Vaishali hotel in Thamel for 5 days, because of my traveler agency's contract with them. otherwise i would get out the first day. the pictures of the rooms are nothing close to what they actually are. old uncleaned with air conditioning not working more than half the time. very rude and inconsiderate stuff especially the front desk employees.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, General Manager at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vaishali Hotel during your extended stay in kathmandu. I am saddened to learn that you had a less than satisfactory service experience with us on more than one occasion. I assure you that this is not representative of the level of service we are known for, of which I... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Vaishali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Vaishali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vaishali

Address: P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Phone Number:
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vaishali 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Vaishali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vaishali Hotel Kathmandu

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kathmandu with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
95

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Vaishali staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer