We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Vaishali

P.O. Box: 206, Thamel, Kathmandu, Nepal
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vaishali
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Vaishali
Add Photo Write a Review

262 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    74
    75
    64
    32
    17
See reviews for
54
53
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (262)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (74)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Roorkee, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel Vaishali is good hotel with one of the best location in Thamel, Kathmandu. Most important for me that Hotel is still safe after so many earthquake in Nepal. Hotel staff are friendly and Hotel is clean. But buffet breakfast is not good at all. Hotel needs to improve in this section. rest all are good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Vaishali is great hotel with one of the best location in Thamel, Kathmandu. Hotel staff are friendly with great hospitality. If you would like to go for shopping before you go for trekking, you just can go 2 minutes out and you will find shops around. With all those good reason i had chosen this hotel for my clients.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed here for two nights in connection with a meeting . The hotel is on the middle of thamel and is very convenient. There are quite a few restaurants and bars and shopping nearby. The Japanese restaurant across the hotel is quite good. This hotel was getting a bit rundown over the last few years. It has been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for a conference in hotel. The bell man Arjun made the stay for me.He was helpful on chick in and check out and arrange an impeccable car service for my return trip to the airport that even saved me money over the cab.He even suggested some good local restaurants.I can not speak so highly for the rest of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015 via mobile

The vaishali is situated in thamel and right in the middle of everything that tourists wants.Rooms are extremely nice and staffs are very friendly.all you except from a beautiful property and within a staggering distance of the local nightlife and bars and restaurants.sometimes it is harder to get rooms here as very popular among trekking people and only hotel with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Rooms were clean and spacious, however, faced problems with the AC. Could not be rectified after complaints, since other rooms were not available, had to settle with extra fan. WIFI worked but only at the lobby. Food was good and restaurant service was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

Hotel Vaishali , The place to be . Tha facilities you get in this price just excellent. I suggest you guys check this hotel once out. You'll love it.you will be welcomed in heart of capital by friendly staffs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Bad experience with this hotel. If you get a room towards the back of Hotel Vaishali then be prepared to hear the doof doof base music coming from a local nightclub. You will not get any sleep. The bathroom was fine by Nepal standards. The A/C did not work in that room and it was quite dirty (A/C needed a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vaishali Hotel during your extended stay in Kathmandu. I am saddened to learn that you had a less than satisfactory service experience with us on more than one occasion. The unsatisfactory service which you have recieved was due to the aftermath of earthquake shocks which are still ocuuring in... More 

Travelers are raving about these Kathmandu hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

The AC in our room did not work for the entire 3 day stay of ours. The staff doesn't listen to you. The lift was out of service half of the time and extension didn't work too. They claim to be a 5 star property but service aren't worth it. The only advantage is that it has good access to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Vaishali Hotel during your extended stay in Kathmandu. I am saddened to learn that you had a less than satisfactory service experience with us on more than one occasion. The unsatisfactory service which you have recieved was due to the aftermath of earthquake shocks which are still ocuuring in... More 

County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

We were staying in a nearby hotel when the earthquake struck on the 25th of May,the staff suggested we run to the courtyard of the Vaishali hotel nearby as it had some open space and would be safer. Over the next 48 hours the management and staff of the Vaishali took very good care of myself and my wife,not to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kumar v, vice president at Hotel Vaishali, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and you have great memories of the time spent with us and found it to be a good value. Your inspiring words are sure to take us miles. The team at Vaishali Hotel are glad to hear that you were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (67)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay