We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 60 Kampala hotels

Hotel Ruch

Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ruch to your Saves list
Hotel Ruch
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
51%
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Kampala
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014
smwatts Auckland Region, New Zealand
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
8
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Good bits - Very large rooms with comfortable beds. Internet works quite well in certain areas around the hotel (for Ugandan standards). 15 minute walk to mall with a cafe that offers exceptional coffee and the best hot chips - Cafe Pap. The pizza served at the in-house restaurant was really really good, especially the spinach one. We had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Voronezh, Russia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The maint thing about it is location. Just behind Sheraton. Serena is close. It looks kinda old outside, but the rooms are in very good condition. Garden City Center, Bubbles, Mideterrano are 5-7 minutes driving.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Not worth the money! When we arrived at the hotel, we have booked a room without AC. We went up to our room, and we found a very mediocre, relatively clean and very simplistic room. The washroom looked old, the towels were old too, and there was absolutely no garbage can in the room. First disappointment: even though the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

You booked a simple Deluxe room without AC at $90 per night, and were given the option to view the room before checking in. On asking for a room with AC, your request was conveyed to the General Manager on whose instructions the reception upgraded you to a Super-Deluxe immediately at no extra cost. We find your claim of having... More

Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was living in that Hotel for nearly two months during my stay in Kampala. After a while I got very familiar with everything. The staff is very nice and helpful. If you have any questions or concern, they solve it and help you. Also if I asked for special things for breakfast I got it. Sometimes there were "loud"... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Ruch is a fairly priced hotel for a quick stopover in Kampala. The rooms are comfortable however the bathrooms are not clean. All tiles need thorough scrubbing, including the toilet. This may also mean some disinfection is needed as well. Wifi was available but really poor connectivity. Breakfast is very basic but suffices. The garden is beautiful with many fruit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback. We have passed on this to the Housekeeping Department who have taken the appropriate steps to remedy this. The Wi-Fi was a supplier issue which we have no control over, however this is up and running 100% now. The Breakfast we offer is varied, 4 fruits, 2 juices, sausages, omelettes, tomatoes, 3 cereals,... More

San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I booked a room here after a disappointing trip to Fort Portal and the chimpanzee trek (see my reviews of "Great Lakes Safaris," "Primate Lodge Kibale" and "Lake Nkuruba Nature Reserve" for more details.) We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The location is very central. We walked to the Shanghai Restaurant for dinner, which was delicious.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Ruch for three nights, while waiting to get a permanent accomodation in Kampala. The few advantages of this hotel are its position (very central) and the relatively new and comfy blankets. Other than that is an extremely depressing and crumbling hotel, with ultra basic rooms, no restaurant (arrived at 9 pm, found out I could not eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelRuch, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Please allow us to address your concerns. The area in which we are located is surrounded by 4 and 5* Hotels that charge in excess of $200 per night which many clients cannot afford. Our rates and rooms are designed to keep this in mind and we do clearly advertise our rooms as 'No frills'... More

London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here on business in February having stayed in some very disappointing hotels in Kampala for the 50 USD per night bracket. The rooms were clean and comfortable with a good wifi connection. Ensuite bathroom. The hotel is also conveniently located for other major hotels. It's next door to the Sheraton and the Serena which are both good options for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a two day stay at the Ruch, deciding to stay there after reading such positive reviews. I am afraid we cannot gush much however. Yes, it is clean and the staff is pleasant, but the overall feel of the place is a bit depressing. They knew they were checking in a couple, but there was only 1 towel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've stayed at Hotel Ruch off and on for the past three years. The staff are extremely friendly, make you feel at home, and the rooms are clean and quiet. The garden (currently undergoing renovations) in the back offers a quiet respite in the heart of Kampala. Location is great. The hotel used to have an Indian restaurant within the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Ruch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Ruch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ruch

Address: Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Ruch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ruch Hotel Kampala

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Kampala with
any amenities