We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ruch

Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ruch
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Ruch
Share an Experience

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
8
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (34)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

When in Kampala, the Hotel Ruch is a good place to stay when looking for affordable, safe, clean and reliable lodgings. For travelers who leave early in the mornings and don't need breakfast and airconditioning, the hotel offers clean and comfortable basic rooms with en-suite functional toilets/shower at $50 per night. For those who spend more time outside the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

This is a great central location near to Hotel Serena and the Imperial Hotel. It is a safe area and is also walking distance to 2 or 3 malls. The hotel is basic. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean but the sheets looked liked they'd had better days. So too did the curtains. But as I say it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Clean hotel, good staff but pretty basic hotel with a high price tag for its amenities. Restaurant did not offer much, but mainly Indian food. Rooms were smaller and very basic but very clean. Hotel has good gardens for relaxing and is in a quiet and serene location. Good for a short stopover or just hiding and relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review ; I believe you stayed in our standard rooms. These are rooms for single persons with double beds, and are our best value for money at only $65 per night keeping in mind the location and the surrounding security. We have a range of different rooms to suit different budgets, from $65 to $110... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Good bits - Very large rooms with comfortable beds. Internet works quite well in certain areas around the hotel (for Ugandan standards). 15 minute walk to mall with a cafe that offers exceptional coffee and the best hot chips - Cafe Pap. The pizza served at the in-house restaurant was really really good, especially the spinach one. We had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Voronezh, Russia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The maint thing about it is location. Just behind Sheraton. Serena is close. It looks kinda old outside, but the rooms are in very good condition. Garden City Center, Bubbles, Mideterrano are 5-7 minutes driving.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Not worth the money! When we arrived at the hotel, we have booked a room without AC. We went up to our room, and we found a very mediocre, relatively clean and very simplistic room. The washroom looked old, the towels were old too, and there was absolutely no garbage can in the room. First disappointment: even though the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

You booked a simple Deluxe room without AC at $90 per night, and were given the option to view the room before checking in. On asking for a room with AC, your request was conveyed to the General Manager on whose instructions the reception upgraded you to a Super-Deluxe immediately at no extra cost. We find your claim of having... More 

Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was living in that Hotel for nearly two months during my stay in Kampala. After a while I got very familiar with everything. The staff is very nice and helpful. If you have any questions or concern, they solve it and help you. Also if I asked for special things for breakfast I got it. Sometimes there were "loud"... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Ruch is a fairly priced hotel for a quick stopover in Kampala. The rooms are comfortable however the bathrooms are not clean. All tiles need thorough scrubbing, including the toilet. This may also mean some disinfection is needed as well. Wifi was available but really poor connectivity. Breakfast is very basic but suffices. The garden is beautiful with many fruit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback. We have passed on this to the Housekeeping Department who have taken the appropriate steps to remedy this. The Wi-Fi was a supplier issue which we have no control over, however this is up and running 100% now. The Breakfast we offer is varied, 4 fruits, 2 juices, sausages, omelettes, tomatoes, 3 cereals,... More 

San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I booked a room here after a disappointing trip to Fort Portal and the chimpanzee trek (see my reviews of "Great Lakes Safaris," "Primate Lodge Kibale" and "Lake Nkuruba Nature Reserve" for more details.) We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The location is very central. We walked to the Shanghai Restaurant for dinner, which was delicious.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Ruch for three nights, while waiting to get a permanent accomodation in Kampala. The few advantages of this hotel are its position (very central) and the relatively new and comfy blankets. Other than that is an extremely depressing and crumbling hotel, with ultra basic rooms, no restaurant (arrived at 9 pm, found out I could not eat... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelRuch, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Please allow us to address your concerns. The area in which we are located is surrounded by 4 and 5* Hotels that charge in excess of $200 per night which many clients cannot afford. Our rates and rooms are designed to keep this in mind and we do clearly advertise our rooms as 'No frills'... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question