We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ruch

Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Hotel Ruch
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of the worst hotel i have ever experienced. No service, no facilities against the tariff they are charging. Free breakfast is not at all up to the mark. Rooms are not so good. Lights in and out the rooms are very very poor. Room services is zero. Over all environment of the hotel is worst. The only... More 

Helpful?
Thank pranav1971
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

To start with room wasn't cleaned. Used condom wrappers in bedside drawers. Blanket smaller than bed. Only 1 bedsheet no fitted sheet.1 pillow. Fan was same PowerPoint as tv, so you had to choose which one. We could have lived with all these issues as room was cleaned and adapter supplied after complaining. Butfor the Indian owner who played loud... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank rugbfn01

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Hotel staff is pleasant and it is going an extra mile to fulfill your wishes. However, the building and its state is not up to high standards. Definitely needs some improvements, and especially making the "cold" environment more "warm" and attractive. Breakfast is self service without much of variety. So, just basic to keep you going through few hours. Unfortunately,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dragan D
perth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

The room was very nice and clean but I think a little over priced as it had no toiletries not even a small soap which was a little disappointing considering the price the room we had was 221.The breakfast was sparse and the service not very good or friendly.

Helpful?
Thank PerthJill
staines
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

The rooms look nice on the website but when you get there, the towels are dirty the bathroom in 207 wasn't very clean, very few sockets, terrible service. The rooms are spacious as shown on the website. It's too expensive for such sub standard services. We pay extra 10$ for breakfast that is stale

Helpful?
Thank julietStaines
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015 via mobile

Budget hotel that reflects service, comfort and cleanliness in price. No desk in room, bathroom needs a good scrub, looks like an old run down hotel. Not the cleanest place. My last stay here for sure. Breakfast poor.

Helpful?
Thank JOers0n
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

You chose the most basic and cheapest room (with minimum amenities) at our Hotel and were shown this room before occupation. In fact, you insisted on the cheapest $50 room the moment you stepped into the Hotel. You demanded for a desk on the next day and were politely offered the option to upgrade to a room with a desk... More 

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

It's a nice hotel in the heart of Kampala close to the Intercontinental. I was staying there for a couple of nights prior to my volunteering project. The staff is delightful and always trying to do the best for you. There's also a small restaurant where you can order pizza or other dishes, not so expensive and good food. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hfinke
Level Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

When in Kampala, the Hotel Ruch is a good place to stay when looking for affordable, safe, clean and reliable lodgings. For travelers who leave early in the mornings and don't need breakfast and airconditioning, the hotel offers clean and comfortable basic rooms with en-suite functional toilets/shower at $50 per night. For those who spend more time outside the hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Luc V
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

This is a great central location near to Hotel Serena and the Imperial Hotel. It is a safe area and is also walking distance to 2 or 3 malls. The hotel is basic. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean but the sheets looked liked they'd had better days. So too did the curtains. But as I say it... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Davidgirlinguk
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Clean hotel, good staff but pretty basic hotel with a high price tag for its amenities. Restaurant did not offer much, but mainly Indian food. Rooms were smaller and very basic but very clean. Hotel has good gardens for relaxing and is in a quiet and serene location. Good for a short stopover or just hiding and relaxing.

Helpful?
Thank Peter L
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review ; I believe you stayed in our standard rooms. These are rooms for single persons with double beds, and are our best value for money at only $65 per night keeping in mind the location and the surrounding security. We have a range of different rooms to suit different budgets, from $65 to $110... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
2.5 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#13 of 81 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mosa Court Suites
Mosa Court Suites
#34 of 81 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#7 of 81 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Mackinnon Suites
The Mackinnon Suites
#39 of 81 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
9.2 mi away
Malakai Eco Lodge
Malakai Eco Lodge
#3 of 81 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Global Hotel
Grand Global Hotel
#45 of 81 in Kampala
3.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay