We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Ruch

Plot 3 Kintu Road, Kampala 6219, Uganda
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ruch
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Ruch
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    6
    12
    8
    4
    8
See reviews for
Families
0
8
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (38)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
perth
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was very nice and clean but I think a little over priced as it had no toiletries not even a small soap which was a little disappointing considering the price the room we had was 221.The breakfast was sparse and the service not very good or friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
staines
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

The rooms look nice on the website but when you get there, the towels are dirty the bathroom in 207 wasn't very clean, very few sockets, terrible service. The rooms are spacious as shown on the website. It's too expensive for such sub standard services. We pay extra 10$ for breakfast that is stale

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Kampala hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

Budget hotel that reflects service, comfort and cleanliness in price. No desk in room, bathroom needs a good scrub, looks like an old run down hotel. Not the cleanest place. My last stay here for sure. Breakfast poor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

You chose the most basic and cheapest room (with minimum amenities) at our Hotel and were shown this room before occupation. In fact, you insisted on the cheapest $50 room the moment you stepped into the Hotel. You demanded for a desk on the next day and were politely offered the option to upgrade to a room with a desk... More 

Hamburg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

It's a nice hotel in the heart of Kampala close to the Intercontinental. I was staying there for a couple of nights prior to my volunteering project. The staff is delightful and always trying to do the best for you. There's also a small restaurant where you can order pizza or other dishes, not so expensive and good food. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
120 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

When in Kampala, the Hotel Ruch is a good place to stay when looking for affordable, safe, clean and reliable lodgings. For travelers who leave early in the mornings and don't need breakfast and airconditioning, the hotel offers clean and comfortable basic rooms with en-suite functional toilets/shower at $50 per night. For those who spend more time outside the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

This is a great central location near to Hotel Serena and the Imperial Hotel. It is a safe area and is also walking distance to 2 or 3 malls. The hotel is basic. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean but the sheets looked liked they'd had better days. So too did the curtains. But as I say it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Clean hotel, good staff but pretty basic hotel with a high price tag for its amenities. Restaurant did not offer much, but mainly Indian food. Rooms were smaller and very basic but very clean. Hotel has good gardens for relaxing and is in a quiet and serene location. Good for a short stopover or just hiding and relaxing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review ; I believe you stayed in our standard rooms. These are rooms for single persons with double beds, and are our best value for money at only $65 per night keeping in mind the location and the surrounding security. We have a range of different rooms to suit different budgets, from $65 to $110... More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Good bits - Very large rooms with comfortable beds. Internet works quite well in certain areas around the hotel (for Ugandan standards). 15 minute walk to mall with a cafe that offers exceptional coffee and the best hot chips - Cafe Pap. The pizza served at the in-house restaurant was really really good, especially the spinach one. We had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Voronezh, Russia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The maint thing about it is location. Just behind Sheraton. Serena is close. It looks kinda old outside, but the rooms are in very good condition. Garden City Center, Bubbles, Mideterrano are 5-7 minutes driving.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Not worth the money! When we arrived at the hotel, we have booked a room without AC. We went up to our room, and we found a very mediocre, relatively clean and very simplistic room. The washroom looked old, the towels were old too, and there was absolutely no garbage can in the room. First disappointment: even though the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelsinKampala, Manager at Hotel Ruch, responded to this review

You booked a simple Deluxe room without AC at $90 per night, and were given the option to view the room before checking in. On asking for a room with AC, your request was conveyed to the General Manager on whose instructions the reception upgraded you to a Super-Deluxe immediately at no extra cost. We find your claim of having... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.6 mi away
Tourist Hotel
Tourist Hotel
#36 of 75 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
2.5 mi away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#12 of 75 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 75 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sojovalo
Hotel Sojovalo
#17 of 75 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#10 of 75 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#20 of 75 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay