We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

433 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    52
    167
    132
    59
    23
See reviews for
12
29
31
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (433)
  • Mar-May only
    (113)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (119)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was disappointed with this hotel that says it is a 5 star. The rooms are old and tired. The bathroom are very old with a hand held shower head! The price they charge is for a 5 star hotel, but you certainly don't get that. I will say that it is very safe - outstanding security. It's also in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel many times but this time it was different. Seven Seas Restaurant was advertized in the elevator with great pictures and my friend and I decided to go and have dinner there, for the first time ever. It was wonderful, the service was great, the new Chef from Serbia was amazing so was the food.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Sheraton brand is one that I have been familiar with for over two decades now, when Abuja the sprawling capital of Nigeria was being constructed in the early 90's, Sheraton was the place to be, indeed many families would take their children to walk the lobbies just to gaze and awe. That was in the 90s, in recent times,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Kampala is an excellent city to visit. My stay was great, however, there seemed to be a number of challenges with the reservations for others traveling with me. The rooms are great, especially if you get the right view. There is a hotel across the road (Speke) that has what seems like all night parties at times, so be wearying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are decent - we stayed in the exec rooms - and the staff are courteous and helpful. The buffet breakfast has to be the best in Kampala, on its day, with the widest range of choices I've seen in this city. Swimming pool is a good size and the location is perfect for town, though you can't hear any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Benoni, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been to the Hotel on three occasions. On all three occasions I have had a bad experience. However, the staff took care of the complaints immediately. The transfer from the airport to the Hotel and back was prompt. Kampala is one of the cleanest Afican cities I have visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we sincerely regret the instances where the service was not up to the expected levels however appreciate you noting the staff responsiveness to your complaint. Thank you for making Sheraton Kampala your hotel of choice and we hope to host you again on your next visit. Best regards, More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Can be better then what they serve. Personally i did not like the food so much. We told the waiter ti make the food medium spicy, as the food came it was very spicy that we could not eat. I told the waiter ti change the plate as it was their mistake. The waiter without even asking anyone told us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Telford UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A good hotel in good location in cbd of Kampala. Good variety of restaurants very helpful staff and good quality rooms. Traffic in Kampala is a real nightmare. Taxis art plentiful and cheaper than the hotel transport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your positive review and we are pleased to have been able to make your stay a pleasurable one. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit and hope to Kampala. Warm regards, More 

Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of the better hotels that I have stayed in in Kampala. A few excellent points: the grounds and the facilities (restaurants, gym) as well as the service of the reception staff is worth mentioning. One staff member went out of their way to assist me with an issue, which I very much appreciated. Tips for improvement: the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your for sharing your feedback with us regarding your stay at the Sheraton Kampala, the positive comments are greatly appreciated and your concerns have also been noted. Some rooms have a more classic design and a lot of the rooms are currently under a phased renovation plan to fix the various issues you have raised.... More 

Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pretty grounds, lovely staff and great food. Bar service very slow however (40 minutes to get a drink) and while the rooms are fairly comfortable (albeit in need of a revamp), the bathrooms not great - small and awkward. No hot water for first day of stay due to a technical problem. Appreciate the in-room free wifi although the minibar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We value and appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. The hot water situation has been rectified and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during the down time. Thank you for the positive comments regarding the food and the staff, though your experience was not to your expectation... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very good(8)
  • Room service(6)
  • Breakfast buffet(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.3 mi away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 75 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#9 of 75 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kabira Country Club
Kabira Country Club
#3 of 75 in Kampala
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#15 of 75 in Kampala
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Mackinnon Suites
The Mackinnon Suites
#54 of 75 in Kampala
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.6 mi away
Urban by CityBlue, Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay