We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kampala Sheraton Hotel

Ternan Avenue | P. O. Box 7041, Kampala, Uganda
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kampala Sheraton Hotel
Share an Experience

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    154
    121
    55
    21
See reviews for
9
29
31
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (400)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (99)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (102)
All months
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was my second stay at this hotel. Given that it had been about a year and "new management" had just taken over around my first stay, I thought I'd give it a shot again. Not much has changed. Rooms are still tired, bathrooms still old, and I had a welcome party in form of a baby cockroach in my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and self stayed here for 3 nights this month. When we arrived at the hotel, there was no porter or bell boy to help us with our luggage. No welcome drink was offered. When we commented on the same, it was sent to our room. We had requested for hard pillows at the time of booking, but these... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has recently changed the management and from the place you stay at just because your company booked you there, it has turned into an attractive experience with great service, nice staff and exquisite food offer. Among other improvements they have refurbished all public area toilets, which is one of important pieces of puzzle. Previous management team was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glion, Switzerland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Since my last visit in 2001 I could see that the rooms have improved a lot - still small and with antiquated plumbing, but getting there. Breakfast felt chaotic and messy and certainly could be improved on. Traditionally it was one of the the few places in town where one could stay - I am not sure whether there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here in March 2015 for 2 nights/3 days for a work visit. Staff couldn't be more helpful, breakfast is awesome, restaurants, bar and in-room dining all very good. Swimming pool area and gym are also ideal. Men's and Ladies gym, fitness centre etc. Close to business district. Will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed in the Sheraton Hotel in Kampala a few times before, but not for a couple of years. It is a typical Sheraton: large hotel, good facilities, and so on. The rooms are spacious and clean, with a/c, TV, wifi, etc. There are various shops and restaurants, as well as business and leisure facilities. All in all, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your great recommendation of the Sheraton Kampala. You did mention a couple of issues that were not to your satisfaction and we apologize for that, we have had a few challenges with the A/C systems recently however our technicians have been working to resolve the problem. Internet connectivity used to be a major challenge... More 

United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I moved into the Sheraton after being robbed at the Golf Course Hotel. The Sheraton is within the same price range as the Golf Course Hotel, but definitely in a completely different league. The Sheraton has good security and I felt very safe. The rooms are comfortable. The service was good. The food was good. The Sheraton Hotel will be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review of the Sheraton Kampala. We are please your had a pleasurable experience after the unfortunate incident at another property. Guest security is very important to us and that is why we have safes installed in each room. Thank you once again for sharing your experience and we look forward... More 

New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well, I've heard that Serena is the best hotel in Kampala but I would not rate Sheraton low. I haven't stayed in Serena but my stay in Sheraton was good. The staff was very friendly, good hospitality, good food in the restaurants and comfortable stay. No complaints! Buffet breakfast in Victoria restaurant was really good. In the evening you can... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your great experience at Sheraton Kampala. We recently introduced a new Executive Chef to the Management team and this among many other changes is part of the reason the food at the hotel as improved tremendously. We now have arguably the best breakfast in town! Thank you once again... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel ran out of paper on their fax machine and I had to waste hours checking out because the payment details hadn't gone through and they hadn't bothered to put in a new roll. At the reception desk I was treated like a bill dodger by the smirking, unhelpful concierge who treated the whole experience as if it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We wish to express our sincere apologies for the situation that unfolded and it is quite regrettable. A continued emphasis on training will help all our staff deliver on the service that is expected of us to prevent the recurrence of a similar situation. With regards, More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

This hotel is looking a little tired now and the common areas and rooms need a refresh. The staff are super friendly. However, there are a few negatives, food is average at best, the bar stays open late and can be noisy if you are on the wrong side of the hotel - I asked to move after the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tendo L, Public Relations Manager at Kampala Sheraton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for your belated review, however some of the issues mentioned have been rectified. With a host of internationally trained chef's the Sheraton Kampala now has one of the most talked about breakfasts in town as well as dinner buffets with a selection of various cuisines from around the world. We sincerely hope you will stay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question