We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 61 Kampala hotels

Lake Victoria Serena Resort

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lweza Kigo Road | Off Entebbe Road, Kampala 01000, Uganda
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Lake Victoria Serena Resort to your Saves list
Lake Victoria Serena Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
72%
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Kampala
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
Edith M Nairobi, Kenya
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    44
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
18
12
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We were at this beautiful resort for a wedding weekend. It is a great wedding venue, the architecture of the buildings and the way the buildings are spread out in the well maintained gardens, complete with the lake view make for an excellent venue. The rooms are clean, well decorated and bath robes too! Breakfast spread very good and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Lake Victoria Serena for 4 days because I was attending a conference. The service is wonderful and the rooms are lovely. The food is decent, though the desserts are strangely flavorless...stick to their wonderful fruit offerings. If you need to attend meetings in Kampala, this hotel is very far given traffic. With traffic, it can take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great Hotel, great view. Wonderful and friendly staff. Excellent venue for conferences - allows for concentration and relaxation at the same time. Going for the first time, you will think you have missed the way - dirt road to such an amazing facility!!! Highly recommended for a cozy romantic hideaway holiday!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kampala
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went there with the kids for a swim on a Sunday afternoon, but it was far from the relaxing experience we expected. Loud music at the pool side, inflexible attendants in the spa and way overcharged. In addition, the food is average, at best. If you really want to stay in Serena, head to the one downtown.

Was this review helpful? Yes
SerenaHotels, Manager at Lake Victoria Serena Resort, responded to this review

I have noted of your disappointment with some of our services and charges and sincerely taken the consideration to revise the charges favorably and, as well make better our menu s and service. You will be able to enjoy our new menus and take pleasure in our sparkling swimming pool. Quality and true value is our utmost standard and we... More

Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in both for ambience and quality of service. The only problem is getting in and out on a horrendous dirt track of 5kms. There are a number of in house facilities including spa, health club, tennis courts and golf course. A veritable oasis

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the Lake Victoria Serena Resort for a business conference. The property is absolutely stunning. It sits right on Lake Victoria in a quiet patch of land about 1 hour outside of Maputo. The property is new, and they were still doing a lot of work to it, but it is extremely well maintained with breathtaking views of Lake... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A group of us(12) stayed there and where pleasantly surprised. It is a 5 mile drive over a dirt road that has potholes in potholes, to get there. All of a sudden this majestic hotel appears. It was surreal. Staff, food, service was perfect. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here on business and was double charged for my stay (once at internet booking and again at checkout). I brought this to management attention and they acknowledged mistake, but never credited card. After numerous calls and emails (which I have), managers kept saying refund on its way but it never came. Months and months have passed, no refund.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SerenaHotels, Manager at Lake Victoria Serena Resort, responded to this review

We regret for the excessive delays in processing the refund and crediting of your account. Management has taken this up and we would like to assure you that a full refund has already been initiated and direct credit will be done. Lake Victoria Serena upholds integrity and responsibility at all time and appreciates feedback from our most valued guests. We... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just had a working retreat in a big group for three days and i was amazed at how the staff at Serena attended to all of us timely. Most commendable was the hygiene, the rooms are quiet even when they is an event outside, the rooms are sound proof, thus your serenity is guaranteed. The ambiance speaks for itself.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We recently spent just one night in Lake Victoria Serena, following a week back-packing on Kilimanjaro. The hotel and rooms were beautiful, clean and modern. The grounds and views of Lake Victoria were lovely. We made good use of the included steam showers, sauna and pool. A breakfast buffet was included and excellent. Dinner buffet was extra but also excellent.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Lake Victoria Serena Resort?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Lake Victoria Serena Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Victoria Serena Resort

Address: Lweza Kigo Road | Off Entebbe Road, Kampala 01000, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lake Victoria Serena Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lake Victoria Serena Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Victoria Serena Hotel Kampala

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
2:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Lake Victoria Serena Resort

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby